Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambs

No way a 4* hotel! Shabby dated staff don't care!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything - staff attitude, comfort,decor
Location: need a taxi or car journey to get into Chester which has everything you need
Very dated hotel and never a 4* beds were very worn and springs coming through and pillows like lead an inch thick! We were moved to another room on our second night which was slightly better regarding the beds and pillows but the bathroom was tiny with mould on the walls and the light didn't work. We only had breakfast the first morning and had to wait ten minutes to be seated and then had to wait for buffet items to be replenished. No lifts so we had to carry our cases down 3 flights of stairs as no staff on hand to assist! Staff were not interested in our feedback/complaint and no apology was forthcoming! It was £200 for our 2nd night we checked out before our 3rd night and into a Travelodge for £52 as that's all that was available but was 100 times better than the Millington Banastre. Would avoid the hotel at all costs! Never again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fawlty Towers is our nickname for this hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Some staff members,wajtjng and bar staff trying their best.
Cons: The wholeplace,needs complete rennnovation.The advertising needs to more accurately reflect, the state of the hotel. Star rating should be reviewed.
Location: Chester is a great location
You know its going to be bad when the man managing reception on arrival has the hospitality skills of a prison warder.The reception and dining area looked dated,and the decor deteriorated as we walked down the 1970 style corridors,complete with threadbare carpets in some places,and several changes of pattern in random places.The carpet edge sticking up in one area presenting a trip hazard.The walls stained and dirty.Arriving at our rooms,the general decor bore no resemblance to the photographs posted on the expedia website..Dated with damaged furniture,and lacking in any charm.A trouser press had been removed and the remaning cable painted white to disguise exposed wiring.T he beds were hard and uncomfortable.The room was baking hot ,one solace was that you could open the single glazed window,to let out some of the heat.The towel rail was on full blast and the raegulator had been removed so could not be turned down.A poor nights s!eep on a hard bed followed.Nexf morning breakfast was ok and we felt sorry for the pleasant overworked waiter who had been left on his own to ssrve breakfast.Next mornings breakfast was a different story,pre cooked and on the servery,the bacon was slimy,barely shown to the pan,appeared virtualy raw.Then the last day we stayed,all change again,thjs time a freshly cooked breakfast with a double serving of eggs and bacon! Was this an attempt at making amends? We advised the reception of our concerns,regarding health and safety hazards and left
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay here for my husbands 40th birthday lovely staff, very clean, great food. If i had any critism it would be that it could be more inviting on the outside but other than than a great stay.xxxx
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected

Posted Nov 13, 2016
The bed needed a new mattress as it was extremely uncomfortable, very lumpy. It wasn't clean as we found a build up of dust by the bed. The shower didn't work properly, with hardly any water coming out of it. The staff knocked on our door at 8am and again 10.50 asking to clean, we were not given a hanger to put on the door to say no. Surely they knew we were still in our rooms as we hadn't checked out? The staff were talking outside our room at around 8am very loudly which once again woke us up. Awful night sleep and by far the worst experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LEEDS

MIXED EXPERIENCE

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness/ Good dinner/ Buffet breakfast/ Peaceful/ Nice staff.
Cons: See report above
Location: City of Chester. Chester Zoo. ( FANTASTIC ) North Wales not far. Wirral peninsular.
The hotel could do with some TLC. It has an air of being a bit beyond its sell by date. We were initially given a room with such limited lighting it was difficult to read. One of the lights didn't work at all, and the toilet wouldn't flush. We complained, and were offered another room by the man on reception, who seemed surprised that we needed both light and a flushing toilet!! I got the impression that no maintenance staff were available, and also that complaints were common and were perhaps treated as something to be " got round " rather than solved. On the up side the hotel was very clean. Our evening meal was fine, and beautifully served by a delightful husband and wife team from Rumania. The buffet breakfast had lots of choice, our only complaint was that the coffee was pretty awful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Tired, could do with an update but the room was clean, staff were friendly 4
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Professional Attentive Attractive Relaxing

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Chester has everything you could want. History, shops, health and beauty. Dining and the amazing cathedral. So much to see and much more to do.
I found this hotel so Professional, the staff are extremely attentive with you. I needed that as I was staying alone with my daughter of 10yrs. You are made to feel special and the staff helped to make me and my daughter fit in with anything they had to offer via the pool and spa. My daughter used the pool even after we had checked out. My luggage was taken to the car for me. As a woman I was made to feel very special and it's certainly a place I will remember and always want to return back to. We both just didn't want to leave so our return will be booked shortly. The dinner was also beautiful and again the staff wee warming and helpful. The whole stay was a success from start to finish and the staff really care and are very genuine. There is never any time wasted too as service is so quick for anything at all you require from dinner to coffee with your breakfast. The reason I went away was certainly fulfilled and I'm just st thrilled we have found this perfect place. Thank you to All The Staff and really looks my forwards to our next stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty!!!!

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointed dirty run down hotel with poor management.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice food but shabby hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Had to ask for a room change as room 32 was not good bathroom door too big for frame so wouldn't close
5 out of 5
by Shaun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels