Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
We came for a wedding and the manager seemed completely overwhelmed, there were insufficient staff to serve customers, half the beer was unavailable and no ushers to show us to our seats. He was rude, unhelpful and really in the wrong job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire

Lovely hotel 45 min walk from Chester.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
I stayed in a twin room which was comfortable. It had everything that you need for an overnight stay. I cannot comment on the bars or restaurants because I did not use them however, I did use the swimming pool, jacuzzi and the sauna. The changing rooms were pretty basic; a few shower cubicles, toilets and benches or cubicles to change in but you needed a padlock (which I didn't have) for the lockers. The jacuzzi had sand in the bottom but it was awkward with the botton on the wall to start it. The sauna was very small, holds 4 or 5 people at a push but the steam room was out of order. It was handy for me to be able to leave my luggage there for the day once I had booked out of my room so that I could walk to the nearby university which was a 30 minute walk. I would recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay again. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Zoo visit

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Kids loved the pool. A shame the steam room wasn't working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from notts/Derby

Location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Nicely situated hotel within easy reach of Chester and motorway but in the country. Staff helpful and friendly and nice breakfast 😀
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, UK

Great Location For Chester

Posted Feb 18, 2017
I was a little anxious about staying here given all the negative reviews, but in fact I thought this hotel was great. The family rooms are of a very decent size and ours was tucked away at th back of the hotel. My two kids (6 and 8) absolutely loved it and the breakfast was good value too. We also found the staff to be very friendly - at check in - at breakfast - and in the spa. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend it to other families. The swimming pool has three sections to it - so perfectly fine for kids of all ages - and the pool is accessible to children from 7am through til early evening. The hotel is minutes from city centre parking and minutes from the zoo The only negative is that the decor is a little tired - but to be honest I can stay in a Hilton if I want fancy decor - and there the rooms will be half the size.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Helens Merseyside

great stay

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
great hotel great spa... lovely location... rooms slightly outdated... but would expect that with the town it is in... all in all nice stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Bed was very firm and the pillows were very flat. Also the duvet was too small for the size of the bed. The bed valance was very grubby round the bottom. The service and food was excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambs

No way a 4* hotel! Shabby dated staff don't care!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything - staff attitude, comfort,decor
Location: need a taxi or car journey to get into Chester which has everything you need
Very dated hotel and never a 4* beds were very worn and springs coming through and pillows like lead an inch thick! We were moved to another room on our second night which was slightly better regarding the beds and pillows but the bathroom was tiny with mould on the walls and the light didn't work. We only had breakfast the first morning and had to wait ten minutes to be seated and then had to wait for buffet items to be replenished. No lifts so we had to carry our cases down 3 flights of stairs as no staff on hand to assist! Staff were not interested in our feedback/complaint and no apology was forthcoming! It was £200 for our 2nd night we checked out before our 3rd night and into a Travelodge for £52 as that's all that was available but was 100 times better than the Millington Banastre. Would avoid the hotel at all costs! Never again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fawlty Towers is our nickname for this hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Some staff members,wajtjng and bar staff trying their best.
Cons: The wholeplace,needs complete rennnovation.The advertising needs to more accurately reflect, the state of the hotel. Star rating should be reviewed.
Location: Chester is a great location
You know its going to be bad when the man managing reception on arrival has the hospitality skills of a prison warder.The reception and dining area looked dated,and the decor deteriorated as we walked down the 1970 style corridors,complete with threadbare carpets in some places,and several changes of pattern in random places.The carpet edge sticking up in one area presenting a trip hazard.The walls stained and dirty.Arriving at our rooms,the general decor bore no resemblance to the photographs posted on the expedia website..Dated with damaged furniture,and lacking in any charm.A trouser press had been removed and the remaning cable painted white to disguise exposed wiring.T he beds were hard and uncomfortable.The room was baking hot ,one solace was that you could open the single glazed window,to let out some of the heat.The towel rail was on full blast and the raegulator had been removed so could not be turned down.A poor nights s!eep on a hard bed followed.Nexf morning breakfast was ok and we felt sorry for the pleasant overworked waiter who had been left on his own to ssrve breakfast.Next mornings breakfast was a different story,pre cooked and on the servery,the bacon was slimy,barely shown to the pan,appeared virtualy raw.Then the last day we stayed,all change again,thjs time a freshly cooked breakfast with a double serving of eggs and bacon! Was this an attempt at making amends? We advised the reception of our concerns,regarding health and safety hazards and left