Ratings based on 699 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful historic hotel.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: It is really beautiful.
Cons: The bathroom doors are these awful sliding things that don't close all the way nor do they afford much privacy.
Location: Lots of food, the magnificent mile, shopping, Grant Park, public transportation, museums...
Hotel is lavish and historic. The lobby is beautiful. The staff are very friendly. We were invited to visit the art hall. We sneaked in to see the beautiful ballroom made famous in the movie "The Untouchables".
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberbeen Scotland

Overall ok, but felt nickel and dimed.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Room was generally what I expected.
Cons: Here's the point that got under my skin. They charge $14.95 + $2.09 tax for internet service. At best I could download at 2.5 Mb/s and mostly less.
Location: Great location
Great location for the south loop area and the universities in the area. The additional internet charges for very slow, almost non-usable service really got under my skin. I did complain to the manage and she reluctantly removed two days of charges. Internet in this type of hotel should be free. Plain and simple. The manager did say they had a "higher speed" service for an additional $3/day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Close to the Field Museum

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Great service with extremely nice employees with great food advice for the city. Very close to the Field Museum, which was great to walk there for research. In a interesting and vibrant part of the city with a lot to see and do. Food in the hotel is very expensive, may be better to eat other places; there is a Starbucks in the basement, which may help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Meh

Posted Aug 8, 2016
No microwaves in rooms. $200 per night- no microwave. Torn furniture. Parking is $67.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.

Quality Disappointing

Posted Aug 7, 2016
My husband and I celebrated our anniversary this year in Chicago. We are Mariott rewards members and stay at the Blackstone anytime we visit Chicago. We were Very disappointed this time with our stay and will be considering other options in the future when visiting Chicago. The first room they put us in wasn't clean. There was some type of hair product or jell on the built in desk and coffee stains. The bed look like it hasn't been made and definitely the sheets were not cleaned. We requested a room change but the second room wasn't much better. The sheets were cleaned but the furniture was in total disarray. The leather chair was cracked and peeling, the furniture was scratched up, the safe didn't work. For the prices the Blackstone charges are expectations were definitely not meet and we will in the future find another place to enjoy our visits to Chicago.
4 out of 5
by Eileen

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast only covers continental and wifi cost extra money other than the lobby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Comfortable, clean room with an upscale feel. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

I expected more for the money!

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: I liked the Mercat which is the restaurant. Good food, although our Sunday brunch order got totally mixed up.
Cons: Honoring the right to have peace and quiet. Cut the noise level. Don't have loud wedding receptions where the noise level affects other people.
Location: Great location.
I was told I would be given a quiet room. Not so. I was put on the Balboa Street side of the building. There was noisy traffic most of the time with sirens and frequent honking. What surprised me the most was the quality of bedding. The fitted sheets had holes in them. And I paid $284 a night to stay there. It was supposed to be a deluxe room! What a joke! Also, I had to prepay which I would never do again. And I would not go through Expedia again for this reason. I also could not understand very well the woman from Expedia in charge of the booking. Her accent was strong and it was difficult to understand her. She said there were only 3 deluxe king sized beds left! I don't think so! I was a fool to believe her! What country was she from? And I was not given an AARP rate. On Sat. night there was a wedding reception held in the hotel on the 4th floor. I was told the music, which was very loud would stop around 11:00 p.m. It went on until 1 in the morning! I felt that my right to have a decent night's rest was totally disrespected! The next time, if I ever stayed there again, which I probably won't, I will deal directly with the hotel or try a different hotel altogether. Not worth the money! I was very disappointed!
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Tempe, AZ

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was great, great area and was able to get anywhere we wanted in a quick manner. Only frustration was not able to get a working iron.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cliffside Park, NJ

A hotel with a history overlooking Grant Park

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Very quaint hotel in a nice area.
Cons: Wi fi in the rooms did not work all of the time.
Location: The Art Institute of Chicago is only about 3 blocks away. The Field Museum, Planetarium, & Shedd Aquarium is just across Grant Park.
We enjoyed our stay at the Blackstone. It is an older hotel, built in the 1920s and it has a lot of history behind it. It is on Michigan Avenue, directly across from Grant Park and close to all of the museums. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are decorated nicely. The only problem is that there is only one restaurant in the lobby, Mercat, a Spanish restaurant. However, the Hilton is just across the street and we were easily able to go to one of their restaurants for breakfast. Also the famous Eleven City diner is only 4 blocks away which serves breakfast all day and fantastic deli sandwiches and soda fountain deserts. We took the Hop on Hop off bus and trolley all over the city. We had a great time in Chicago.