Ratings based on 715 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheboygan, WI

Close to museum campus

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Hotel still has new renovation feel. Very nice lobby, room and bathroom. Daily parking cost is a premium.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

No Free Wi-Fi & Too Few Towels

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Clean, neat and close to several attractions.
Cons: If a staff member says something will be taken care of, it should be taken care of.
Location: The duration of our stay was such that we were not able to do a lot. This is no fault of the hotel.
Everything was more or less fine but there was a charge of about $15.00 per day for wi-fi. That seems a bit harsh. Also, a request at the front desk for two more bath towels ("No problem, we're on it.") was not honored.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
The staff was very helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. It is a beautiful hotel. It was walking distance from everywhere we wanted to go.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice but not worth the price

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The front desk staff were all very friendly and efficient. Very clean.
Cons: My sheets were not changed during the 3 nights I was there. And I know this since there was a tear in the sheet that was in the same place each night. The mattress was too soft for both of us. The chairs in the room were tattered.
Location: Good location if you want to be a little farther away from the bustle of Michigan Ave.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great location!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Internet was not included in my reservation.
Hotel has great amenities and great location. It is not fancy but have a good service and the decoration in the rooms and common area are good enough.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful historic hotel.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: It is really beautiful.
Cons: The bathroom doors are these awful sliding things that don't close all the way nor do they afford much privacy.
Location: Lots of food, the magnificent mile, shopping, Grant Park, public transportation, museums...
Hotel is lavish and historic. The lobby is beautiful. The staff are very friendly. We were invited to visit the art hall. We sneaked in to see the beautiful ballroom made famous in the movie "The Untouchables".
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberbeen Scotland

Overall ok, but felt nickel and dimed.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Room was generally what I expected.
Cons: Here's the point that got under my skin. They charge $14.95 + $2.09 tax for internet service. At best I could download at 2.5 Mb/s and mostly less.
Location: Great location
Great location for the south loop area and the universities in the area. The additional internet charges for very slow, almost non-usable service really got under my skin. I did complain to the manage and she reluctantly removed two days of charges. Internet in this type of hotel should be free. Plain and simple. The manager did say they had a "higher speed" service for an additional $3/day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Unbelievable to pay for wi fi.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Convenient Location

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great location with easy walk to Art Institute and Downtown
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Close to the Field Museum

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Great service with extremely nice employees with great food advice for the city. Very close to the Field Museum, which was great to walk there for research. In a interesting and vibrant part of the city with a lot to see and do. Food in the hotel is very expensive, may be better to eat other places; there is a Starbucks in the basement, which may help.