Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Nick from Vancouver, WA

Amazing staff! Possibly our favorite stay in Peru

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay at Killawasi Lodge. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a great one. They even do a daily guided hike through the canyon from the hotel. We decided to go on an earlier hike by ourselves because of the weather so they drew us a map showing all the places we wanted to go. The restaurants in town are very limited but the hotel's restaurant provides a nice selection of Peruvian foods. I personally really enjoyed the Chupa de Quinoa. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Colca Canyon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ching-Hsin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Debra from Raleigh, NC

Absolutely wonderful base for Colca Canyon!

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
The owner, Guillermo, empowers his staff to exceed expectations -- they are extremely responsive, friendly, and accommodating, prepared to adapt to unforeseen issues to solve them quickly and wonderfully. They have excellent English and respond to email and phone inquiries promptly and fully. They arranged our tour from Puno to their lodge, into Colca Canyon and onto Arequipa, making it very easy for us to stay at Killawasi for two days and two nights, to enjoy hikes in the surrounding hills and terraces, views of the snow capped active volcanos, the charming small town of Yanque, relaxing in the hammocks, thermal baths nearby, and a horseback riding tour they arranged for us (be sure to confirm that the guide speaks English). From all information we gathered, this is the best place to stay in the Chivay/Yanque area. The rooms are large, with private balconies and modern bathrooms with plentiful hot water. The hotel's restaurant is a bit upscale without being prohibitive, well exectuted, and you can feel comfortable eating the salads.. what more could one want?
5 out of 5
by Michael from London, UK

A great stay

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
A great hotel in a wonderful location. Food in the restaurant was also excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Nice small hotel.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, and service.
Cons: No complaints about anything here.
Location: In a small village near a well known tourist site (Colca Valley).
All went well here and this is a very nice place. We were the only ones in the hotel, but the manager and the cook made us welcome and service excellent food.
5 out of 5
by Shyaam from Houston

pretty good

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
Room was spacious, comfy. Breakfast was good. The view from our room and the balcony was great with the smoking volcano and the other volcanoes towering around. The whole area is well landscaped and has its own resident mocking bird. Their free guided hike to the ruins is good. Owner speaks fluent English and arranged Mirador del Condor trip each with Agotur Colca.We caught our own taxi from Chivay to Yanque where our 4M express bus dropped us off from Puno. After the condor trip, we walked to the plaza , caught a taxi and drove to Cabanaconde and hiked a couple of kilometers on the trail to Tapay oasis. Great views and we had a nice time for the 150soles we had paid the driver. We engaged the same driver for 15 soles for the next day drop to Chivay to catch our bus to Arequipa. People stay for just one night in Yanque but we stayed for 2 nights and liked it
4 out of 5
by Ling Yan from Hong Kong

A nice place to stay when going to Colca Canyon

Posted Dec 6, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed in their new deluxe double room which was clean, spacious and lovely. Shower water was hot and the wifi signal was strong. Each deluxe room has its own front yard with two chairs overlooking mountains. Breakfast and dinner were good.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth from New Orleans

Can't wait to go back

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights and wished we could've stayed longer. We were pleasantly surprised by every element of the lodge. The room was beautiful, and immaculate. The view was absolutely incredible. You look right over fields, with wandering llamas and sheep into the Colca Valley. The manager (owner?) was really helpful and booked us cabs, trekking, trips to the hot springs, and to Cruz el Condor, all on short notice. The guides for trekking and the condor trip were both great. Everything we had at the restaurant was delicious, we ate dinner there both nights, and the included breakfast spread starts at 6 am, so you can eat before heading out. It's a bit secluded, Yanque is really small, but we liked that, and were glad we stayed there rather than in the larger Chivay.