Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Anders from Oslo

A place to sleep

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Polite and friendly night watch man. No wifi in the room, but this could be because we got the the room furtest down the hall. Generally a really worn down place without any investments for renewal. Refrigerator was broken.
2 out of 5
by Slawomir from London

overpriced

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
The room did not look like rooms presented on advertised pictures at all and did not have all facilities specified in the booking (apparently I was charged for more expensive room than I got). On the positive note, the location is very convenient for a tourist and the hotel staff is really nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location and awesome staff!

Posted Jan 8, 2015
First, let me cover the pros of the hotel - Location, location, location! It is located within walking distance of both Copacabana and Ipanema beaches, great nightlife, easy access to public transportation (bus and metro nearby). Though there is a favela a couple meters behind the hotel, everything in front of the hotel is relatively safe. The next best thing about the hotel is the staff. I didn't get to interact much with the morning staff, but Joao Paul and Caio were excellent! Full of tips, suggestions, able to converse in English - They pretty much helped in planning my commute and trip around Rio, and even suggested places known to the locals, which are out of the normal tourist circuit. It was great interacting with them! Aside from the above, this is actually a hostel and hotel. So the rooms are pretty tiny. Also, since I had stayed there over the New Year period, the prices were on the higher side. But guess that is a new year phenomenon, and prices should be pretty reasonable other times of the year. Another minor gripe was that the lifts in the hotel were malfunctioning frequently. So that involved climbing up the stairs quite often. But these things aside, if I were to get a good deal, I wouldn't have second thoughts about returning back to the hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walking Rio

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
Great location. Walking distance to both main beaches of Copa, Ipanema and to the center of nightlife in Ipanema. Very basic room. Good TV choices and good WiFi connection.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location, that's about it

Posted Dec 8, 2014
I stayed at this hotel for a week. On arrival the sheets were already stained, which made it easy to tell they were not washed for 5 days into our stay. Towels were not delivered to your room. And had To be picked up, which we were not informed of until 3 days into our stay. The worst part of all was that our toilet did not flush. When 'maintenance' came to fix it, it took just one day to break again. No toilet in the lobby and breakfast buffet was interesting... Windows were left open and flies covered the fruit, whilst the milk heated up. Overall, locations was ideal, but that is about all. Staff were okay but there are noticeable needs for improvement.
3 out of 5
by CHIAPENG

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Book this and you'll only end up disappointed...

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: N/A
Cons: Shower to have hot water
Location: Location has a favela at the end of the street which had the local taxi driver a little worried so you do really need to mind yourself.
The taxi driver doing a 10 point turn to turn around instead as there was a favela at the end of the street was the first sign I should have stayed somewhere else. Whilst appreciating my stay was during the world cup and expecting to pay a premium this hotel went way beyond what was acceptable. This hotel is poorly located in a dodgy part of Rio, the shower was a shoddy unit on the wall which didn't release hot water and the room itself must have once been a storage cupboard of some description as the layout could not have possibly been previously a room. All this while fireworks where lit every night from midnight until around 2am on and around the street of the hotel and it well and truly becomes a hotel you want to stay away from. Needless to say I cut short my stay which was supposed to be 4 nights and left for another hotel I found online where a decent bed and a hot shower was possible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

B&B for the price of Four Seasons

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Excellent
During the World Cup I Paid almost $2,000 for 4 nights in this B&B... The A/C terrible, the toillet don't flush normally.. Please, don't pay more than $50 per night. Please, change the name, use the correct.. Bed and Breakfast...
4 out of 5
by Brian from California, USA

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was a few minute walk from Ipanema beach, and very close to one of the metro stops. The hotel is right next to a hospital, which made it easy to find when we were lost (lots of signs to the hospital). Its proximity to the metro stop made visiting the stadium simple, as well as heading up to Copacabana beach. The breakfast at the hotel was about average, which I see as a good thing - nothing special, but solid. We didn't have Wi-Fi in our room, so we had to go to the lobby to use it. The hotel room was a little bit small (no table/desk or chairs), but it was nice having a balcony that we could go out on. The building overall felt rather old, but the room was clean and felt like it was maintained pretty well, given its age. The elevator could only take 2-3 people at a time and felt questionable, so we ended up using the stairs most of the time. The staff was able to answer the few questions we had pretty well, mostly about sightseeing (beaches, stadium, hang gliding, etc), and helped us arrange taxis to the airport when we left. This was the least nice hotel we ended up staying in on our trip, but it was plenty functional and served its purpose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rio Colinas Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel rooms need updating. Beds were uncomfortable. No hairdryer. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beautiful view of the beach but very far from airport and city.