Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Beautiful resort in a secluded location

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The sprawling resort grounds overlooking the ocean - truly a marvelous setting.
Cons: Preventative maintenance.
Location: Beaches, snorkeling, and shore diving.
This resort is at the extreme northwest end of the island, somewhat isolated, separated, and distant from the bustle and activity on other parts of the island. The setting is beautiful but the place is in need of some serious maintenance attention. Resort staff members were always ready to solve the problems that arose with our unit; however, these problems would not exist if a planned preventative maintenance program were in place. The resort consists of multiple buildings spread out over a spacious oceanfront site. Many rooms, including ours, have an incredible view. A casual bar and restaurant overlook the ocean, and a beautiful beach is located at the bottom of the cliff (accessed via 30 or so steps down from the resort). Adjacent to the beach is a beach bar and dive center. Our favorite part of our experience at the resort was snorkeling right off the beach. Fantastic! There are numerous other beaches within a short drive along the leeward coast, all of which have fantastic snorkeling. Otherwise, the resort feels isolated and there are not many restaurants nor any markets (nor anything else) nearby. The drive to the main city on the island is about an hour and the "village" of Westpunt really has nothing other than houses. Though we enjoyed our week, we would probably elect to stay elsewhere (i.e., closer to the city) on our next trip to Curacao.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel with unfriendly and lazy staff

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff was extremely lazy and unfriendly. Hotel is not in a good condition, wouldn't go there anymore!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Beautiful hotel off the beaten path

Posted Mar 29, 2016
My husband, myself and 2 small kids stayed at the Kura Hulanda for 5 nights. The hotel was beautiful and so much nicer than we expected. We stayed in the ocean view terrace suite, which was amazing. My favorite part of the trip was havin breakfast w my family out on the terrace. We loved that the hotel was quiet and off the beaten path. The pool and beach were wonderful. We only ate at te hotel twice. The food was good, but very typical American and overpriced. I highly recommend Jaanchiees located very close to the hotel as well as Trio Penotti across the street from the Christoffel National Park.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middletown, NJ

Relaxing stay in a small corner of Paradise

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Location. Setting. Room (beautiful suite, with veranda overlooking ocean). Nice beach, nice pool. Quiet. Good food, but limited menus. Pleasant staff.
Cons: Limited menus in the restaurant(s). Slow service at times. Some wait staff spoke neither English nor Spanish. Some items in serious need of repair.
Location: Remote location; need rental car if you want to explore, shop, etc. A dive shop is next door if you want to scuba or snorkel.
We stayed at the Kura Hulanda Lodge and Beach Club 4 days and 3 nights. It was a wonderfully peaceful and relaxing experience. The facility is beautifully located in a park-like setting, with great ocean views. The location on the very north-western tip of the island is quite isolated, which is either an advantage or disadvantage, depending on what you are looking for. We wanted peace and quiet and relaxation, so it was just right. If you want to explore, shop, visit museums, etc., you need a car and drive. We spent most of our days just relaxing on our veranda, swimming in the ocean (nice beach) or in the pool, watching birds and iguanas, eating, and relaxing some more. Perfect!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Large rooms, good snorkeling and diving, nice pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mainz

Entspannung in der Natur

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Sehr schöne u grosse Gartenanlage mit flachen Gebäuden. Zwei Pools mit ausreichend Schattenplätzen. Tolle Unterwasserwelt zu erschnorcheln. Ruhe pur!
Cons: Die Restaurantpreise sind für das Mittagessen noch ganz ok aber für das Frühstück und den Abend sehr überzogen.
Location: Liegt bekanntlich sehr abgelegen. Keine Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Laufnähe. Taxi zum/vom Flughafen: 70 Dollar
Wir wurden sehr freundlich empfangen u haben zu unserer Überraschung anstatt dem gebuchten Gardeview- ein Poolview-Zimmer bekommen. Super! Sehr geräumiges 2-Zimmer-Apartement mit einem grossen Pool keine 15 Meter vor der Terrasse. Dieser Teil der Anlage wird wohl noch nicht viel genutzt u somit hatten wir diesen Pool ganz oft für uns alleine. Für einen morgendlichen Kaffee oder Tee sollte man sich aber selbst etwas mitbringen. Im Zimmer ist nur der Wasserkocher vorhanden. Die Ruhe in der Anlage ist traumhaft. Für die Begegnungen der besonderen Art u reichlich Fotomotive sorgen die vielen Leguane und Vögel. Der kleine Strand mit Liegen u Schirmen ist über eine Treppe erreichbar und in der benachbarten Tauchschule kann man sich eine Schnorchelausrüstung für 11 Dollar am Tag ausleihen. Lohnt sich! Schon 3 Meter vom Strand entfernt sind u.a. grosse Papageienfische zu sehen. Aufgrund der grossen u kleinen Korallenstücke ist der "Ein- und Ausstieg" ohne Wasserschuhe etwas mühselig u wackelig. Wir hatten uns einige Verpflegung (Wein, Bier, Milch, Käse, Obst und Gemüse) aus dem Supermarkt schon mitgebracht und konnte daher auf das Hotelfrühstück u das überteuerte Abendessen verzichten. Das BBQ am Strand bestand auch nur aus einem Tellergericht ohne eine wirkliche Auswahl an Beilagen. Es war dennoch ein sehr schöner Aufenthalt u wir würden wiederkommen!!!
4 out of 5
by Jaqueline from Rio de Janeiro

bom hotel, praia otima para snorkel

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Os quartos ficam m chalés distribuídos pela ampla área do hotel. Quarto e banheiro sao compactos, e so tem frigobar. Nem uma cafeteirazinha. Faz falta para um lanche a noite ou mesmo café da manha no quarto, porque a alimentação la e cara e nao tem muitas opcoes por perto. A pe mesmo nao tem nada. Tinha uma varandinha e improvisamos algo. Mas tivemos que ir ate o restaurante dohotel e pedir emprestado copos um prato e uma faca. Perto das melhores praias mas longe de restaurantes e comercio. Wi fi no quarto precario.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Overprice reataurant, nasty staff.

Posted Mar 7, 2016
The only good thing about he hotel is the beautiful beach, but you can find a hotel near by for $50. The reataurant doesnt have variarity and very expensive, $35 for a not good at all steak and a little salad. On top of that the staff in the restaurant are nasty, i felt like i was begging for free food. The spa, well its not a spa because it doesnt exist. They advertize it but the is not a spa. Last there was a small cockroach in the bathroom. Bellow is the picture of the very expencive restaurant, And thats the only option. There is nothing close to go eat outside the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA USA

Great views, needs updating

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: The beach area
Cons: Updating of facility.
Location: Remote, but so beautiful.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The scenery was beautiful and the location was remote, which we love. The staff was very professional. However, I feel they need to update their furniture and repaint the doors and hallways of their entire facility. While it was very clean, the lack of fresh paint gives the appearance that it is not clean, even though it is very clean. Overall, I enjoyed my time at the hotel. The grounds are very nice!