Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

lovely traditional hotel with all its advantages a

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: old style which is what we wanted:
Cons: plumbing needs to be better maintained and service can be slow but do not modernise the of out of existence
Location: very many things to do, but be careful of taking advice outside the hotel
room had magnificent view over valley. The afternoon tea service could be improved, but this is at least existent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to the main attractions

Posted Jan 12, 2016
We had a great time there. Staff were very polite. Food could have been a little better. Piano player at the dinner was very good. There were no any facilities for the infant children. They couldn't provide baby cot and a high chair at dinning for my 13 months old child which was very disappointing. They should be prepared for all type of guest not only adults. The lounge was amazingly beautiful and aspisious. Overall a very good experience but for the above reasons I didn't feel it was worth a money which is sad to say because we really liked the hotel otherwise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mera bharat mahan

Opposite experience from elgin norkhill

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Hotel is great but staff brought down our experience. After an amazing experience at norkhill branch, we expected similar service. Went down for a drink at 9.30, the bar was supposed to be open till 10, but the manager said there was hardly anyone around therefore the bar was closed. Next night, I asked for dinner in the room but got an answer that there were too many guests so please come down for buffet, no room service. But the bar was open for one foreigner. Ditto for breakfast next morning. I had asked for a car to go to airport, but it did not show up for almost 45 mins. When I asked to call again, The frontdesk guy became loud and started cutting my sentences off. I walked out to get a taxi from the nearby taxi stand. I have a feeling that foreigners will get a different experience. The power of colonial spirit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new paltz, ny

Great heritage hotel close to chowrasta

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Rooms, manager and staffs helpfulness and service
Cons: Can't really think of anything
Location: Conveniently located next to the Mall (chowrasta) for walking, taking in the views and shopping. We were also able to walk to the toy train station
Great hotel with lots of old school charm. The first day we had a beautiful room but not much of a view. As soon as we asked the manager, he promised to move us to a room with a view the next day (after some rooms became available). The room change happened while we were in one of the comfortable lounges looking outside and having Darjeeling tea and biscuits. The staff was incredibly helpful with everything and the food was excellent (we had breakfast and dinner included). There was even a small spa with a talented masseuse who helped us de stress at the end of the day. I recommend this highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely Heritage Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: The heritage aspect and friendly staff.
Cons: The meals were good, but, for long term visitors perhaps more variety would be better.
Location: Lovely views, close to Chowrastra shopping.
Friendly caring staff, accommodating special meals for vegetarians and those with gluten intolerance. Lovely garden and comfortable bar and lounges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect Darjeeling getaway

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: The staff, location and the old world charm of the hotel.
Cons: Perhaps more in room heaters could be improved, and the set menu could be varied more - although the amount of food provided is very generous.
Location: The mall is a very short walk away and even elderly or less mobile people are able to make the walk if they take it slowly.
Charming hotel with excellent and attentive staff, situated within a stones throw from Darjeeling's mall. Rooms are well equipped and even during the bitter winter, they are kept comfortable by providing in room heaters and hot water bottles arrive along with the turn down service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arun from New York, NY, USA

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2013
Pros: location ,cleanliness, food.
Cons: wi fi
Location: great
Great Location in Crowded Darjeeling , great staff very attentive, Clean rooms . Food is great, go for the American plan, Well maintained gardens, Would go again.I highly reccomend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hilliard,Ohio USA

Not truthful about full board, no heat in hotel, mildew and moldy smell

Posted Feb 24, 2011
Hotel is not heated. No hot water 3 of 5 days, 2-3 extended power outages per day. Elgin NEVER served a meal in the freezing dining room. Tea time doesn't exist. Rooms freezing because of holes in window frames you could put a finger through(I have pics). Broken windows fixed with duct tape.Tiny Kleenex box heater only worked when power was on. ALL stores closed due to civil unrest. Management no help. Dogs jump on you and ruin clothes. Smells of mold mildew and just plain old. All towels and linens old and stained. Staff friendly except front desk. Had to beg for Kleenex and face towel. Be ready to tip for no service. Horrible stay. Bride crying in freezing room....another power outage. Neighborhood not safe. Feces all over grounds. Don't waste you money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by surya from 日本, 山口市

イギリス風ホテル

Posted Mar 5, 2013
Pros: ヨーロッパ調の家具や建物
Cons: 部屋からの眺望
Location: 駅からは少し歩きますが、中心地にも近いです。街中だと車の音がうるさそうですが、ここは静かでした。
ホテルの建物は古いヨーロッパ風の建物です。私たちは5階の部屋でしたが、エレベーターがなく階段で上り下りしていました。荷物はボーイさんが運んでくれます。部屋は広く、ヨーロッパ調の家具で暖炉もあり、湯たんぽも毎晩置いてくれた(2月末だったので寒い時期でした)ので寒くはなかったのですが、景色は良くありません。景色の良い部屋もありますが、暖炉はなく、広さも狭かったです。 ベッド周りのシーツなどは清潔でしたが、備品のヘアドライアーはいったいいつの?というくらい古く、汚かったです。お風呂は一人がお湯を浴びると次の人はお湯が溜まるまでしばらく待たないといけません。(30分以上)ダージリンはあまりお湯事情が良くないようです。  食事は朝、昼、晩と3食ついています。朝はバイキングでインド料理と洋風。オムレツは各自に作ってくれます。お昼は中華料理のバイキングで自分で取りに行くのではなく、お皿にサーブしてくれます。味はいまいちだったので、お昼は外でチベット料理などを食べに行ってもよいかも・・。デザートのケーキは美味しかったです。夕食はインド料理でした。  サービスはタクシーの手配をしてくれたり、まあまあ良いですが、チェックインの時に食事について何も言われなかったので夕食を外に食べに行ってしまいました。  場所も街から近く、ダージリンのホテルの中では快適に過ごせるホテルで、ヨーロッパ調の建物が好きな方には良いと思います。