Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good alternative to a hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: needed repairs to cabins and the driveway
Location: It is just 5 miles from Sequoia National Park, and the cabins are next to a river
The Sequoia Riverfront cabins are a good alternative to a hotel if you prefer something out of the ordinary. The cabins are located steps from the river and each unit has a good view of the river. The cabins are older and in need of repair, but I felt it was a good value for what I paid.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Not exactly waterfront cabins

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Was waterfront but definitely not a cabin. The description is very misleading. The grounds are a mess with disused golf cart, broken outdoor furniture and disgusting outdoor grills. It was the worse place I have stayed at in my entire life. Thankfully it was only for two nights. One would have been more than enough. Do not waste your money people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burbank

Terrible

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: The river was pretty
Cons: Everything
Bad. Broken tv, space heater, toilet. Bed was dirty. Water smelled. Broken pipes strewn on property. Left a night early, lost money, couldn't stand it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay was not up to par. Our housekeepers usually do a divine job when cleaning. They check the appliances as well. As for the pipes, we've recently encountered various harsh storms that washed away all of the sand that would regularly cover those pipes. Again, we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. I wish these issues could have been addressed to us prior to your check out and we would have gladly upgraded you. We would love to change your mind about us if you are in the area again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful little minimalist cabin

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This was one of my favorite places I've been to. It is very quiet, small, quaint, and secluded. The cabin itself is the bedroom (with a bed, fridge & microwave) and a small bathroom (with a shower). Yes, of course the water smells a bit like sulfur - that's normal in the mountains; it's completely safe, and they even give you free water to drink, which is very kind of them. The room had a little porch facing the gorgeous river, which was simple but sweet. At first I was a bit confused when the GPS took me to a little store front location where I saw no hotel, but the person at the front desk was expecting us, gave us our key, and was very friendly and clear in his instructions to drive down the road to our own cabin. This place was such a pleasant surprise, and I would love to come back again. If you appreciate a great deal, privacy, and a simple place to stay, I definitely recommend this place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Shianne, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for your detailed review. We hope you choose to come stay with us again in the future. Thanks, ~Shianne
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, CA

Nice cabin next to a beautiful river

Posted Feb 22, 2017
For the price, the cabin well exceeded my expectations. It is peaceful and you get to be right next to a river. Other amenities such as wifi and tv come in handy after a long day of hiking and/or driving. I would definitely stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Shianne, Hotel Management
Thank you so much! We are glad to know you had a great experience. We hope to have you again sometime soon. ~Shianne
4 out of 5
by Hanna

Great stay!

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
After reading a ton of negative reviews, we decided to chance it and stay here. Needless to say, we were very pleasantly surprised. The property is right on the river with a gorgeous view and Scott, the owner was incredibly friendly and nice. Even more so it's only about 15 minutes outside of sequoia! The only cons were that only two of the outlets worked (but that was easy to work around) and we couldn't stay longer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Great weather , views, people and vibe. The stay was good not great. Small but cozy. No coffee maker but had coffee making supplies. Sheets seemed not clean. Quite a few bugs in room. The back view was amaing and was 50 yards away. Made up for some of the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: National parks
The room wasn't very clean and there was trash everywhere outside. The bed was very uncomfortable. I would never stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A room to sleep

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
It was a decent room if you just wanted a place to sleep... The checks-in was confusing since you checked in at a different place then you we're staying my at. The room didn't have a phone and had no phone reception there either. They said the water my have a little smell to it... Well it was very bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Book Early... Somewhere else

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The kitchen was manageable and the DirectTV service was good. It was also nice to wake up to clean air and natural light from the riverfront.
Cons: Really uncomfortably dirty.
Location: Sequoia National Park is nearby. Lots of great things hikes there.
These small cabin style lodges are very poorly maintained. There is one person who is the designated housekeeper, but they make it clear that they do not have an actual "housekeeping service." Stayed in a Family sized room and requested a Queen bed. The room came with a Full. Walked into a bathroom with no toilet paper and towels which were not replenished. I can only think that the bed sheets were not cleaned before our visits either if the bathroom was full of dirty wet towels. I called to get the towels replenished and was given stained towels. I could even here the "front desk person" (local general store worker) saying that they were grungy while he tried to find some clean towels for me. To top it off, the water had a very repulsive smell. I would not recommend this place to anybody who is looking for comfort when traveling to the area. Book lodging early so that you have much cleanlier options. Trust me, having a kitchen was not worth the discomfort and fear of becoming ill in this dirty space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Shianne, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay. It is no excuse on our behalf, but we had hired a new housekeeper and she was not up to par. She is now terminated and we have hired a new housekeeper. We are genuinely sorry that this has affected your stay with us. ~Shianne