Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: National parks
The room wasn't very clean and there was trash everywhere outside. The bed was very uncomfortable. I would never stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Book Early... Somewhere else

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The kitchen was manageable and the DirectTV service was good. It was also nice to wake up to clean air and natural light from the riverfront.
Cons: Really uncomfortably dirty.
Location: Sequoia National Park is nearby. Lots of great things hikes there.
These small cabin style lodges are very poorly maintained. There is one person who is the designated housekeeper, but they make it clear that they do not have an actual "housekeeping service." Stayed in a Family sized room and requested a Queen bed. The room came with a Full. Walked into a bathroom with no toilet paper and towels which were not replenished. I can only think that the bed sheets were not cleaned before our visits either if the bathroom was full of dirty wet towels. I called to get the towels replenished and was given stained towels. I could even here the "front desk person" (local general store worker) saying that they were grungy while he tried to find some clean towels for me. To top it off, the water had a very repulsive smell. I would not recommend this place to anybody who is looking for comfort when traveling to the area. Book lodging early so that you have much cleanlier options. Trust me, having a kitchen was not worth the discomfort and fear of becoming ill in this dirty space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Shianne, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay. It is no excuse on our behalf, but we had hired a new housekeeper and she was not up to par. She is now terminated and we have hired a new housekeeper. We are genuinely sorry that this has affected your stay with us. ~Shianne
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rivas

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Very nice place. It had what we need, space, beds, my kids loved it. But not clean, I wanted use the coffee maker but was dirty, the bbq dirty, the kitchen sink was licking under neath, floor so dusty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Cons: cleanliness, amenities, phone service, reservation change policy....everything
Very disappointing in all aspects. Description, pictures and info deceiving.....then couldn't make changes when it wqas seen and found to be unsuitable. Had to leave 1 day early and forfeit $150+. Ripoff
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by Shianne (Management), Hotel Management
Hello, I'm sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. It is with great pleasure to inform you that we are now officially under new management. We have also hired a new housekeeper. In addressing the phone service issue, in the city Three Rivers, the only carrier that works correctly is AT&T. We plan on putting in a landline in for guests in the next few months to solve that issue. Again, I am truly sorry that you had an unpleasant experience here at our cabins. I assure that proper changes are in the works. We hope to have you back so we can change your mind about our establishment. Thank you for your feedback. Best wishes! Shianne
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Rustic units near river

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Rustic, private, quiet, out of the ordinary.
Cons: Needed dusting, vacuuming, towel bars, hangars; general cleaning, although bathroom, towels and bedding were fine.
Location: About 25 miles to the entrance of Sequoia National Park.
Secluded hotel with not really much nearby, it was easy to drive right past without noticing. The "office" was in a store about a mile away. This place was probably pretty nice at one time, but needs maintaining. It was not convenient to restaurants or other amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Shianne (Management), Hotel Management
Hi there Steph, thank you for your feedback! It is with pleasure that I can inform you, we are officially under new management. We also hired a new housekeeper who is trained to take care of the detailed things you stated in your review. We are aware of the slight inconvenience it may to have our check-in office off site. So in retrospect to that, we are beginning to build an office on site. There are many changes coming in the next few months. I would also like to add that we do have 2 great eateries within walking distance from our establishment. There is Anne Langs maybe 50 yards from us and Sierra Subs(my personal favorite) about another 50 yards from Anne Langs. I'm sorry your stay wasn't excellent, but we hope to see you again after all of our improvements. Thanks again for your feedback. Best wishes! Shianne
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

avoid

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
no phone or cell service. bad water. no cups for coffee. poorly kept grounds. left a day early----no refund. no view. not by visable riverfront
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont drink the water

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Checking out
Cons: grounds, drinkable water
Couldn't drink the water out of faucet. well problems . WAY WAY overpriced
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Photos are very different from reality

Posted Aug 14, 2016
There is no plan accommodation. The second floor was dusty. Shower worked poorly. On the patio of cigarette butts. Price too high for such a poor service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stinky water!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The hotel was ok - few bugs, a bit run-down but ok - until we turned on the water to take a shower. The smell was worse than just sulphur...so bad you could taste it. Then it stayed with you (in your hair and on your skin) for days. Ick!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach CA.

Disappointing

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Store personnel Close to park Beds were ok Did not see any bugs.
Cons: Cleaning would be great inside and out. Fresh towels daily would be nice Maid onsite does not responsed to guests even when she is there.
Location: Location to the Kings Canyon Park is great.
I booked last minute and paid for it. This place was more expesive than places in the Park (Lodges if booked early). Planning ahead is very important to get a good place to stay. This place could be very nice if the owners would take care of it. Could be cleaner but was not horrible. Was not a 1st class experiance but we did enjoy the park and this place did provide a place to stay close to the park. General store personnel were friendly but the store is not clean either. Owners should understand that a clean place is importance to most people. Did not think the second story was fire safe as the windows were too small and high to get out in case of fire. Owners may want to think on that. I hope they take the time to clean up the place and the riverfront area, river is very beautiful but you can't see it because of the lack of care to the landscape.