Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

2.0 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Smith Center, KS

Fearful to stay again

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Location was great, just off the highway. TV was an up to date model and seemed to work well.
Cons: Probably everything. Many places in the room were just not repaired or updated. i.e. 1 light bulb in the lamp for 2. No bedside lamp at all. Phones
Location: Location on the highway and only a few blocks from a city park, and next door to a convenience store/gas station but it is not 24 hour.
At 12:51 the Hasting Police were banging on the door to my room. I was sound asleep. I went to the door to find an officer who was looking for someone, "joe Phillips" or something like that. They were told room 116. I immediately asked who told them that--he replied the office. The person at check in knew that I arrived in my car by myself and went directly to the room. This morning the person in the office did not understand English very well but denied talking to the police. After the policeman left I tried to call the office on the room phone and the motel number on my cell phone but there was NO answer. needless to say I was unable to sleep the remainder of the night. Breakfast: at check in was told no breakfast--waffle maker broken but they had only coffee and cold cereal. Room was not clean--baseboards were dirty, walls needed paint, floor carpeting had snags in several places. At 3:30 AM a person was outside the rooms going along the wall hitting the AC/heating units with some kind of stick (just to make noise?) This happened at least 2 times on the side of the motel where my room was located. there was no light switch to turn off the light over the fridge/microwave so it remained on all night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
From the registration forms to the shadeless lamps and dual televisions-of course one did not work to the bugs in the room this was the worst.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by sam, Hotel Management
we are budget friendly and inexpensive. We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

So bad we didn't even stay!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
No mention of a pet deposit on Expedia. They charge $10 per pet. Door to room was rotted and the gap between it and door jam was enough to see sunlight through. The carpet was dirty. Room was full of flies. Air conditioning would not cool properly. We refused to shower or sleep there. Just used the room to get ready for our event and left.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remodeling, no trash cans, wash rags, or coffee

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Remodeling. Bed very uncomfortable. No wash rags, no coffee maker, no trash cans. No WiFi access. Overall rating: very uncomfortable. People that worked there there very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by mike, Hotel Management
Thanks and see you soon !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Muskegon, Mi

Quiet out of the way motel.

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Shower is clean and hot.
Cons: Little upgrade, modernization might be nice.
Location: Off the path 15 miles and there are a few restaurants and stops. Farm country.
If Grand Island, NE is packed this a quiet, older style motel approximately 15 miles off I80 expressway. Rooms are clean with fridge and microwave. Staff is pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2016 by mikr, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, our customers comfort is most important to us. We hope you visit us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

0 stars Unlivable!! Gross! Never again!

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: NOTHING!!!
Cons: To Improve this motel it needs to be razed and plowed up.
I arrived with my family at 3:30 pm for a week-end stay on Fri. Oct 2. Had prepaid through Expedia so expected a place that would be acceptable. The motel itself is located in what I would call "the seamy side" of Hastings near the fairgrounds and is not clean looking. When we opened the door to the room that was assigned we were struck with a very strong and unpleasant odor which smelled of insecticide of some sort. We found a cricket on its back with its feet in the air still kicking its life away from the insecticide and a fly crawling on the carpet as if it were so tired it couldn't fly. Room was musty and unpleasant. Since we had an appointment with family on the other side of town we left our luggage in the room and went to the family get-to-gether. We returned at 9:30 pm with the intention of asking the front desk for a refund back to Expedia but no one was on duty. Called the number taped to the front door of the office in case no one was there and was told to come down the street to another motel. Went down there to inform them we could not stay in the room and turned in our keys. Summary: room unfit for occupancy even by the insects, service availability and response non-existent, advertised amenities, did not experience or observe but am highly skeptical they are legitimate. Have looked at the manager's response to previous poor ratings. He is not believable. Go ahead and stay here at your own risk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are sorry for the experience and your feedback provided to HK and Staff. Thanks and have a great day !!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is an older motel but very dirty.

Posted Oct 5, 2015
This motel room was dirty the bathtub and toilet were not clean. The sheets and bed spread were messy the room had a foul odor. I would not recommend this to anyone. Plus the tv was older even though they had a newer flat screen mounted above that did not work
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Very affordable.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Location and price.
Location: Food was nearby, a park and fuel.
The staff was pleasant and helpful. The price was very affordable. They were doing some remodeling, installing flat screen tvs in all rooms. Plenty of parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2015 by Mike, Hotel Management
Wonderful Guest ...We appreciate your stay !!! Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate your understanding and hope that if you participate in future events you will come back to see more changes. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts! We certainly appreciate any a
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nebraska

Horrible stay NO SLEEP!

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: service, enough accommodations for guests, and fix air conditioner, crack down on noisy guests before 6AM.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and I am sorry I chose it. 2 star ratings should have been a clue. It's not worth 1 star. Not enough accommodations for us to sleep even, noise at 4AM and horrible air conditioner noise. Sorry we stayed in the first place,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hays, Kansas

Worst motel ever.

Posted Sep 14, 2015
I'm sorry Expedia, but I don't know if I will ever use your service again after my stay at the Hastings Express inn in Hastings, NE. The room was filthy and full of bugs and spiders. Must have been 2 dozen flies in there, moths everywhere and spiders. The TV only got one channel, the bed wasn't a king size like advertised, but a regular, the room had one small light, the bathtub was filthy. There were black grime stains on the wall and doors. The smell was awful. When I checked out in the morning I found a used needle next to my van. I am so disappointed. I thought your company checked out these motels better.