Ratings based on 369 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Altstadtnähe

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Das Hotel hat ein aufmerksames Servicepersonal, das Frühstücksbüffet ist vielseitig, wenn man von den jüdischen Feiertagen absieht.
Cons: Wir vermissten im Hotel einen genaueren Stadtplan, Infos zu Anfahrt und Lage der wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten. Der Park in der Nähe war geschlossen.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in Nähe der Altstadt, an einer stark befahrenen, bergig ansteigenden Hauptstraße zur Altstadt.
Wir besuchten die Sehenswürdigkeiten der Altstadt und wählten ein Hotel in deren Nähe. Die Fahrten mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln, mit Ausnahme der Straßenbahn, erwiesen sich als schwierig, weil es keine Buskarten, Abfahrtszeiten etc, gibt. In den Bussen selbst wird man von den Busfahrern aber an der gewünschten Haltestelle abgesetzt, wenn man es vorher ansagt. Entgegen den Informationen im Netz kann man nur mit Shekel zahlen. Vorteilhaft sind die Sheruts, insbesondere zur An- und Abfahrt nach Tel Aviv. Die Altstadt war fußläufig nur schwierig zu erreichen, da man die stark befahrene Straße, bergig ansteigend, nehmen musste. Kein Vergnügen!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london england

Picturesque atmospheric centrally Located

Posted Nov 22, 2016
An atmospheric hotel with real character very centrally located With history . 150 rooms /suites Spacious and clean with proper large sheet towels The staff couldn't be more helpful particularly Elliot Shein on the front desk who couldn't do enough for us. Both the Lobby food and the spa were top quality .highly reccomended
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Beautiful historic building with fantastic view! Super staff!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and a very nice hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2016
The hotel was in a fantastic location. Several gates to the old city were only 10-15 minutes walk. Many of Jerusalem's sites and attractions were within walking distance. Bus stations were plentiful around the hotel which were met by many buses ready to take you almost anywhere in both Israel and Palestine. Our room was basic but very clean and adequate as we were out all the time. Breakfasts were amazing and the waiters very kind. There were a range of pastries, coffees salads, cheeses and fruits (however a bit expensive if you don't have it included $24). The gym was basic but had enough equipment for a workout. The only negative I can take away from the experience was one waiter who kept on offering us his mates tours or taxi rides which we refused constantly...but that's all. Overall I would highly recommend Mount Zion Hotel as it was very clean and looked elegant both on the inside and outside, staff were great and you are walking distance from the old city. For buses I would recommend downloading the app moovit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton, alberta, canada

Lived up to the ratings

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Great location. Breakfasts were excellent quality, staff friendly and helpful. Short walk to Jaffa Gate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel in pretty surroundings

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Rooms, communal areas, surroundings, staff, breakfast
Cons: Beds could be more comfortable but this did not affect our sleep.
Location: 15 minutes' walk from Jaffa Gate, near restaurants at First Station and Cinematique, a cinema with a nice restaurant is 2 minutes' walk away.
We stayed here for three nights in September. Both superior rooms were spacious, clean and very nice, not "tired" as some reviewers have described, with decent view of hotel gardens, which are very pretty with lots of foliage and flowers. Staff are very friendly and helpful, lobby area great for a drink with stunning views of the old city and lots of nice seating options. Breakfast was excellent, in lovely, spacious restaurant. We didn't use the spa but the pool area is, again, lovely, with lounger and sofa options. Pool is largely in shade by about 5pm in September, but that was fine. The hotel is an oasis after a busy time sightseeing. Due to an injury we didn't walk to the old city but would estimate it taking 15 minutes on foot to Jaffa Gate. We ordered taxis at reception which turned up in just a few minutes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lyon

Hotel bien situé avec une jolie vue

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Cons: la serrure de la porte ( carte ) qui ne fonctionne pas tout le temps !
Location: La vieille ville,le mont Zion?
Hotel proche de la vieille ville, en face du Mont Zion, très agréable avec une terrasse et une piscine agréable, personnel avenant et facilitant Petit déjeuner excellent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Pleasant hotel close to Old City.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: View, location.
Cons: Breakfast offer. Swimming pool opening times.
Location: Short walk to Old City, and - in the other direction - to the old railway station, where there were a number of bars and restaurants.
Spent three nights at the hotel with my son. Room was clean and comfortable, with a good view over part of the Old City. I would have liked to have used the swimming pool, but by the time I returned from touring the city it was in shade and so not an attractive proposition - and my attempt to have a swim before breakfast was thwarted by the fact that it was locked. (I could have checked what time it opened subsequently, but wanted to get into the city). The most disappointing thing was breakfast. This was billed as "full", but unsurprisingly was kosher so no bacon, sausage, etc: fair enough. I wouldn't have minded if there had been decent alternatives, but there was e.g. next to no cereal, and the cooked food looked inedible to me (I assume it appealed to locals). I have travelled extensively, but rarely been so disappointed by the breakfast at a decent hotel like this. At least they agreed to waive the exorbitant charge ($33 per head).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Fab hotel. Great position lovely pool area

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Jines on the reception such a great guy with always a smile on his face. Most of the staff excellent and so helpful. Will definitely be back and staying hear again. Thank you for a great stay. Excellent breakfast it was superb. Such a clean and lovely hotel. In a fab setting. Thanks for a memorable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

super place to stay; relaxing

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: delightful
very relaxing; stylish; well positioned; super staff