Featured Image

Reviews of Shamai Suites

Shamai SuitesBen Hillel 15, Jerusalem

4.3/5 Excellent

351351 verified reviews
Cleanliness
4.3/5
Cleanliness 86%
Staff & service
4.3/5
Staff & service 86%
Amenities
4.1/5
Amenities 82%
Property conditions & facilities
4.2/5
Property conditions & facilities 84%

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, room comfort

Stayed 1 night in Jun 2020
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2020
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Great location in Jerusalem

Very nice and clean room in Jerusalem new city, about a 15 minute walk from Jaffa Gate (the main entrance to the old city.) The room that I had is similar to a junior suite. There is a living room and a kitchen but the kitchen just has a sink, fridge and microwave -- no stove. The room was cleaned daily. There is a coffee shop right in front of a hotel and a mini market right next to it. It is located on one of the main pedestrian shopping streets with lots of different stores. Across the street there is a club with an outdoor terrace that is used as a dance floor on certain nights. Depending on which way your room is facing, this could be noisy, but my room was facing the back, fortunately. The one bad thing was that the reception was unmanned at 7:30 PM when I was trying to check-in. I had to make a phone call to get someone to come. Another evening the front door was locked and I did not have the code. Had to make another call to resolve it.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2020
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Executive

Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Wonderful

Amazing
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

One of the best stay values we've had.

We absolutely loved this place. Everything was perfect. Great location, clean, spacious, cozy bed, friendly staff. We arrived before check-in, left our bags for the day, and when we returned in the evening, bags had been taken to our room for us, which was fantastic. Thank you!
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2019
0

3/5 Okay

Happy face iconLiked: Staff & service
Sad face IconDisliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities

It worth the price

Really good location. Friendly stuff at check-in. However, room is outdated (paint is coming of the walls), marks on the walls, couches in the living room look old and not clean. The biggest disappointment was that there was hair on the sheets and dust near the bad as well as feathers (from pigeons?) on the balcony. I didn't feel comfortable in the room as felt it was not properly clean.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019
0
Dima
We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our housekeeping staff cleaned the room and replaced all the sheets again after you mentioned that in your opinion they were not clean, and therefore it is a pity that you still write about lack of cleanliness in the room. You are more than welcome to come again for an improved experience. Best regards, Hotel Management

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

The hotel is in an amazing location, the staff is very helpful and our suite was very big and clean. Definitely recommend!
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities

The apartment was HUGE. A big bedroom with full-sized bathroom, tv, and air conditioner; a smaller bedroom with two twin beds and air conditioner; a big living room with tv, air conditioner, a fold-out couch, another chair, a table; a full-sized kitchen with regular refrigerator, one burner, plates, silverware, pots and pans, counter to sit at. A balcony. Room cleaned every day, including on Friday and Saturday; towels changed. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant so there is no buffet Israeli breakfast but it is centrally located in a fun district with lots of restaurants and stores. I'd return.
Stayed 9 nights in Oct 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

This is a very good place to stay

We enjoyed our stay at Shamai Suites very much. Our stay was for four nights. The value was excellent: very comfortable and clean comfortable bedding, nice washroom, kitchenette and sitting area too. We found the staff to be helpful and polite. BTW, you cannot ask for a better location in a very vibrant part of Jerusalem. I suppose that like any other accommodations, if you look long and hard enough, you’ll find imperfections. This place is no different. But for whatever blemishes there might be, we highly recommend this hotel/suites for your stay in fascinating Jerusalem.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities

Friendly staff, very tight lobby but rooms are spacious and had a very quiet rest. Fair pricing given the proximity to the New Gate.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Very nice place in a great location! Would stay again!
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Simply recommend

Simple. Cozy. Convinient. What else do you need?
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Excellent location, easy check in, comfortable bed, helpful staff
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Nice hotel on an excellent location. Friendly staff.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Very good place for visiting Jerusalem

The location is great, not far from the Old City, with a very lively neighbourhood with many restaurants, cafes, shops etc. The rooms are nice and comfortable. Please note, that outside there are restaurants and a hostel with an external cinema, so it can be loud until late night hours. If you're a light sleeper maybe find another place, but if you sleep easily after a whole day of walking around Jerusalem - this is a great choice.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2019
0

4/5 Good

Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Staff & service, room comfort
Sad face IconDisliked: Cleanliness

Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Sad face IconDisliked: Amenities

Stayed 13 nights in Aug 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities

Helpful staff. Clean well equipped room. Very satisfactory given price. Location excellent. Rather noisy outside in the evening. Would stay again
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Sad face IconDisliked: Staff & service

Service was horrible, but location is great.

Service was horrible, but location is great.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Nice room

Enjoyed a very comfortable, nice room!
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Great location

Hotel location was great, we were upgraded to a larger room (thanks Dima and thanks for your help), the bathroom could use a little work though. We really enjoyed our first time to Jerusalem and this was a perfect walking sport.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities

The location is amazing; the apartment is clean and comfortable. Super recommended!!!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 1 night in Jul 2019
0

3/5 Okay

Sad face IconDisliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities

Location is great but property is outdated

The location of the property is convenient as its close to Jaffa Road, lots of shops and restaurants around. The property is big enough to accommodate 2 people. The shower room needs updating, dirty and needs a thorough cleaning. We decided not to turn the lights on whenever we use the bathroom to avoid seeing the moulds.
Stayed 9 nights in Jun 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Jul 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Excellent and would encourage others to do the same
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Highly Recommend

Excellent
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Location! Right in the heart of Ben Yehuda St which has plenty of shops, cafes, restaurants, and entertainment.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Excellent location, good value, near Ben Yehuda

Stayed 1 night in Jul 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Fantastic

We were in contact with the hotel a couple of days before checking in as we needed help arranging a shared taxi to the airport on our departure from Shamai and they couldn’t be more helpful. We were staying in a nearby hotel which was part of the tour we were on and the move to Shamai was as different as night to day. Shaman upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite, with the lovely main bedroom having an en-suite. There were top quality amenities and a fully equipped kitchen. Loved the roomy bathroom and big shower. Good area for shopping and restaurants. We left some items behind and Shamai are posting them on for us. Wonderful staff, wonderful service. Can’t rate them highly enough.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

There was no storage space in 2nd bedroom. And only small wardrobe in main bedroom so if 4 people stayed there they would need to live out of their suitcase. In the main bathroom there were no hooks for towels. We were put in a two bedroom suite which was very clean and spacious and I would definitely stay again with the above additions. The staff on reception were very helpful. On the 2nd night there was water leaking from the ceiling into the bathroom and we were told the water was being turned off and we were NOT to use the water. I called Expedia yesterday (morning of check out) and the person I spoke to was incredibly unsympathetic and offered a voucher for 25%. The manger/owner of the hotel was a lot more understanding (we checked out early as we couldn’t shower in the room) and advised he’s extending a 50% refund on the 2nd night accommodation by way of an apology for the inconvenience. Please advise receipt and arrange refund asap.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2019
0

3/5 Okay

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Sad face IconDisliked: Staff & service

bad reception

exapt of bad atitud of the woman in reception to us when we just arived at almost midnight the room was clean an ok. also not even apologhy from them . also insist to take from us 17% tax altough i showed her i already got confirmation i paid all and know one at hotels told me to pay again. its not ok and i told its beter to wait for morning. and she say that she cancel my room if i not pay immediatly. very recepionist and bad attiude to customer. i will not forget.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Good location near good food and shopping. Friendly staff and helpful. Clean and quiet.
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Good and Bad Location

We had a deluxe suite that was large with a good kitchen area. The location was good and bad: good since it was close to the Old City and many restaurants and markets near the Old City, but bad in that it was next to a nightclub and on a pedestrian mall that was noisy.
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2019
0

3/5 Okay

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness
Sad face IconDisliked: Property conditions & facilities

The building inside not taking care of, need painting. The entrance little hall is not good decorated like nobody cares. Very small and old lift The room was clean, have a microwave, a kettle . The bathroom is big with everything I needed , The day I arrived no body was at the front desk I was very tired and i needed to wait more than 15 min, until a kind a hippy woman arrived, the desk was dirty even she had a roll of toilet paper on it , she was not very nice, didn't care about anything, not a small smile. Next day was different, when I came down was a young man with a uniforme, he was very nice,I ask him about an address and he explained me how to arrive at. In the afternoon was other young woman very kind, she order for me a taxi, She was very nice. I'was happy I din^t see anymore the first lady when I arrived, really not nice person.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Jun 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 9 nights in May 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 1 night in Apr 2019
0

5/5 Excellent

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

This hotel is located within steps of the best nightlife and shopping areas of downtown Jerusalem. We were very happy with it.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019
0

3/5 Okay

Happy face iconLiked: Staff & service

This property was brilliantly located and the staff were great. I rate our room 3-star. It had a grotty bathroom. The bathrooms our friends had were refurbished and ours wasn't. We unwittingly sacrificed the refurbished room for a bathroom with walk-in shower, rather than shower over bath. The lift in this building was a joke, only fitted 2 or 3 people, or one person with suitcase. The deck off our room was filthy, and looked out over backs of buildings and you wouldn't have wanted to use it. Opened it occasionally for some fresh air. The property was redeemed by the helpful staff, and great location. The photos on the website look better than the actuality.
Stayed 6 nights in Apr 2019
0
Dima
Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations about the room. Unfortunately, since you left your comment as an anonymous user, we are unable to check the room you stayed and check the exact things that you mentioned. Anyway, cleanliness is one of our major priorities and we will put maximum effort to improve that. You are more than welcome to come back for an upgraded experience. Hotel Management

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2019
0

4/5 Good

Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Suited to our expectations
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2019
0