Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Not central to town and dated

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Access to the beach
Cons: Rooms need money spent on them to modernise (bathrooms etc)
Location: Supermarket is nearby but limited eating places.
This is located quite a way from the centre on town (whale watch, railway station and cafes). The buildings are old and dated. Beside railway line.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

the best of the mountains and the sea together

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
I think this is the best overall place we've stayed in New Zealand. Very well equipped kitchen, spacious bedroom area and good bed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tim from Curlewis-Victoria-Australia

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Great spot to stay for short break. Did washing, its dated but good, nice and roomy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frederik from København

God beliggenhed - dog koldt værelse.

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Rigtig god beliggenhed i forhold til at tage på Hval-safari. Værelset var helt fint, dog ret koldt, og med en lille varmeblæser som ikke kunne holde det ordenligt varmt. Ejerne var rigtig søde.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Clean and friendly

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
All good but the shower was difficult.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from England

Good value

Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed a few nights with our backpacks. Very basic rooms. Nice staff. A 10/15 min walk to town. Basics are provided, nothing flash and good value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julie from York

Lovely place to stay

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Loved this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nice stop over

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
decent stop over.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kritravee from Thailand

Hot water is not enough!

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
We did not meet the owner on first day. We booked 2 rooms but the lady we met gave us 1 room. We absolutely forgot how many room we booked. Later we went to lady and told her we need anoter room, luckily that they had the room. We checked in our booking when we can connect to network and found that we originally booked for 2 rooms. So we met the oweners in the morning to inform them the story as just afraid that we will be charged for 3 but they understood and accepted the mistake. The hot water is not enough, I was the last one to take a bath and I need to go with Cold water!
4 out of 5
by Debbie from New Zealand - Bay of Plenty

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Great unit, clean and well equipped. Good value for money
Cons: Dryer in laundry waiting to be repaired
Within walking distance to supermarket and shopping centre