Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Masterton

Nice hotel close to beach and town

Posted May 7, 2016
Very friendly customer service.. nice, quite and tidy place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Dark and depressing

Posted Apr 29, 2016
My room was dark, with poor lighting, the wifi didn't work inside and the TV reception was terrible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Lovely place close to town.

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Plenty of space, really clean and close to beach and town
Location: Whale watching and dolphin swimming is just minutes down the road from this place. There's great spots to eat and drink just minutes away.
Three of us had a lovely stay at the Alpine View, which is just a few minutes drive from town. The owners are hilarious with their cheeky banter back and forth and they keep the rooms impeccably clean. This is a great budget priced venue that far exceeded our expectations. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Close to beach

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Well maintained older hotel very clean and spacious
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and food

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
This motel is located about a 15-minute walk from the Whaleway Station (train station/Whale Watch Kaikoura base). If you contact the owners beforehand, they might be able to give you a lift from town to the motel. If you walk, instead of walking along the road, there is a pleasant path just back from the beach that leads almost directly there, or you can walk along the beach. The motel is located about a block away from a large supermarket and only a 1-minute walk from the beach. The owners were very friendly and kept the motel area quite tidy. Each room had its own little table, chairs and umbrella outside, and the kitchen was really good. The decor is perhaps slightly dated, but everything was clean and tidy. The motel is near the train tracks, but so are many places in Kaikoura, and few trains pass by. Although it takes a few minutes to walk into town, the proximity to the beach and supermarket and the facilities themselves mean I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Malcolm from Sutton Coldfiel

Kaikoura

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice motel, car essential, lovely area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

Windy evening in a comfortable room.

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Wotif
The office lady was pleasant, the motel room was clean and comfortable. We were happy with it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Right on the back off Kaikoura South beach

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Nice to have a separate bedroom, cable TV for movies and a couch.
Cons: Better stocking of soaps, towels, toilet paper, tea towels, tea etc.
Location: It's not in the main part of town - must drive to main area. Do not eat at The Whaler Bar and Restaurant - we waited 90+ mins for Fish&chips.
We stayed just one night, and found it reasonably comfortable. We were nice and warm with the heating and blankets, though the furnishings are quite old and a bit run down. Good curtains if you want a good sleep in without the sun. The proprietors are friendly and encourage patrons to try the crayfish at a particular place ( we didn't because of the price - $45 each ) we later found out that's what Kaikoura means: kai is food and koura is crayfish. There is a beach behind the last row of cabins, entry via a little gate and over the train tracks. It was one of the most beautiful spots we saw on our entire tour of South Island - the mountains in the distance, the grey sand and black and white rocks, deep blue waves with white washed creases rolling in. Just breathtaking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blackburn Victoria Australia

Nice hotel good value for money

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Very comfortable accommodation - has disabled access bathroom if required.
Cons: Air conditioning installed.
Location: Good pubs and cafes, seal watching and lots of bird life.
Very neat and clean room with good kitchen facilities, very comfy bed and easy access to town, beach and seal watching.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Not central to town and dated

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Access to the beach
Cons: Rooms need money spent on them to modernise (bathrooms etc)
Location: Supermarket is nearby but limited eating places.
This is located quite a way from the centre on town (whale watch, railway station and cafes). The buildings are old and dated. Beside railway line.