Ratings based on 2,177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Location, location

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Location and confort
Location: Lake, shopping, great restaurants
Friendly staff, great restaurant - The Boat House, and located near all
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sac

Very disappointed

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Very disappointed this is not a good Resort I will not recommend it. Beach was full of Algiers and dirt which we couldn't go swiming. Small pool with cold water. Pictures online shows great beach resort but you will be dissapointed once you see it in person. air conditioning wasn't working in the room and it was very uncomfortable sheets on the bed was so hard that you could break it in half don't go to this Resort
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Great Hotel!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The rooms, staff, lake and location
Cons: Would be great if they had microwaves in thier rooms
Location: Alot of water activites, hocking, gambling. Family friendly
The Beach Retreat is a great hotel, the lake view is worth the price we paid which was 200 a night. All of the rooms has balconies, the decor of the room is great and the rooms was very spacious. We will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento, CA

Loved being close to the beach!

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: View and beach!
Cons: Air conditioner and bath area needs remodel.
Location: Outstanding!
Overall, it was a nice stay. I was a little disappointed at the bathroom. Definitely, needs a remodel. Also, air conditioner needs to be updated. Loved going to the beach and the view was outstanding at sunset!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Rooms are small we felt cramped. Only positive thing was the lake near by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The hotel was decent and on the beach. A big plus for us. The only thing I didn't like was the bathroom had very little privacy. There was a window with a shade that you can see through from the outside when you turn on the light. If you close the bathroom window then the shade is not a problem but since our bathroom had a musky smell I had to keep the window open. Plus the little bathroom did not have good ventilation so would get stuffy when taking a shower so opening the window to air it out was necessary. Another plus for me was the screen door leading to the balcony. Very few hotels offer this. It's great for cooling the room and saving energy at night. I love having fresh air rather the stale air from the air conditioner. Would have preferred to get the top floor as I initially requested. The people above us kept me up all night with their noisy stomping. Love the music on the beach. That's a fun touch.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valley Springs CA.

Wonderful So. Tahoe Beach location.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Location and complete facility. Close to everything.
Cons: Bed linens
The facility is clean and well kept up. Staff is plentiful and attentive. The Beachfront is not as nice as much of Tahoe as the water is very shallow.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roseville Ca and our New York family

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The restaurant
Cons: Update the decor of the rooms Clean the bathrooms better Enlarge and clean the beach hut bar
Location: We enjoyed the summertime activities at Heavenly and The dinner cruise on MS Dixie
The staff was friendly but didn't know the area well enough to give accurate information regarding locations to local sites. The rooms (we booked four rooms to accommodate our family) were terribly small with outdated decor. The walk in showers had old tiles on the surround and floor that appeared to have mold growing in the corners. The beach hut bar was small and dirty (bar top and stools looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while). It was best to take your drink and go sit on the ground but posted signs said no alcoholic beverages allowed outside of the bar area. The restaurant inside the hotel was very nice, breakfast was excellent, as was the service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Great location right on the water

Posted Aug 9, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay! The rooms were cute and cozy and had all of the amenities that we need. The beach is extremely close and most rooms have a view. Get a room other than the ground floor if you can. The only downside was the beach is super shallow (knee/waist deep) for almost a mile out. This made the water extremely warm and created an algae bloom that much of south shore is experiencing. Eat at Sprouts for breakfast down the street, and at the Boathouse for dinner. Both were excellent. $10 uber ride to the casinos.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Nice hotel walking distance to the sandy beach

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Nice hotel, we enjoyed eating at the Boathouse on the Pier which is walking distance from the hotel. Great location close to emerald bay and zephyr cove as well as heavenly resort and town area