Ratings based on 1,573 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dated public spaces, lovely room

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Location: the location is a bit out of the prime tourist areas but right in the theater district and near lots of nice restaurants and covent garden. it is al
we upgraded to an executive king room which was lovely and gave us access to the executive lounge. the bathroom was updated and well appointed. which offers breakfast and 'high tea' so we always had place to get a snack. the food there was plentiful if not inspired, but well presented. the room as all the public spaces in the hotel felt quite dated and rather drab. the staff was friendly and helpful at all times. a nice place to stay but not a "wow"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Fumbling at check-in, it was really busy so somebody took us upstairs to check in at the executive suite, only to discover when we got there, the queue was worse, so we lumbered our suitcases back downstairs again. Not the most efficient! Best to check the queue before taking guests upstairs. After the silly start, things did get better. Our room was ok and the bed comfy. We got a knock at 12:01pm for check out which I've not had an a hotel before, luckily we were done by 12:04 or so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the heart of theatre land.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Nice, clean hotel. Knowledgeable and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Great hotel!!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
All staff is amazing but Fellipe is the greatest! I highly recommend this hotel. The location is full of theatres and restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Old Dame Down at the Heel.

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Every floor board creaks. You twist yourself into a Lego to balance in the shower. The lifts do little to inspire confidence. I walked up six flights rather than chance it. When you get to yr room, be prepared for the proportions of a Holiday Inn . Every room seems a puzzle wrapped around a post. . Staff for the most part very well trained and obliging. Wonderful location. Public rooms cramped. No grandeur left if ever it was. Do not delude yrself that Diamond Hilton status will earn you an upgrade. DENIED. Or that you will be granted late checkout? DENIED. When I asked the night before at eleven pm, the clerk and her manager said they wouldnt be able to entertain the request until the next morning. The hotel was self evidently quite unoccupied. No point checking in the morning, because without the assurance that night, I had already needed to be packed and ready to go The other Hilton properties in London are a better bet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Location: Walking distance to theatres, Covent Garden, British Museum.
I chose this hotel because I could walk to the Royal Opera from there. Also, breakfast was included in the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: make sure that all rooms are serviced during the day.
Location: Theatres, west end and river and Westminster all within walking distance
Really enjoyed our stay and was allocated lovely quiet room on 7th floor. Only disappointment was on returning on our 2nd day to find that our room had not been serviced. Contacted reception and they did arrange for housekeeping to come and clean our room but it did delay us in getting ready to go to the theatre in stead of just having a relaxing time in our room. Fantastic location for the theatres and sightseeing. Staff were all very helpful and would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Staff couldn't do enough for you.
Cons: Get the basics right; warm the plates at breakfast
Location: Very well located
When you pay a premium, you expect the basics to be taken as read. Sadly, that was not the case. Shower with limited pressure, inadequate shower screen which flooded the bathroom floor, one bottle of still / sparkling water per room, tv not tuned in, heated towel rail not working, bath dirty under the rim. Everything else - especially the staff, was great, but the experience was tarnished by the above.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

SCREW UPS

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: What do you think?
Cons: How does one improve on something that its management thinks as perfection?
Location: Was not bothered about things to do nearby.
My granddaughter was married at this hotel with the ceremony at 3.15pm. Many of the family booked rooms and stayed overnight after the celebrations were finished. Sasha married Josh but on entering the hotel, there was a notice "Sasha and Luke's Wedding". In another place was a notice reading "Sasha Herst's Reception". The hotel wedding coordinator was supposed to coordinate but obviously failed to link that check in time is 3.00pm so that if you ever had a room allocated, there was just 15 minutes to get ready and get downstairs. Our room was not ready. Never saw that coordinator at the reception and ceremony and reception staff were just arrogant. Getting back to the room at midnight, there was no power to the central heating wall thermostat to turn on the heat so we both froze all night even under the thin duvet. The freezing charge was around 300 quid for the night. The 22 quid breakfast was poor. The scrambled egg tasted like reconstituted powder and I had the overwhelming feeling to get the hell outa there and outa the hotel into an Uber and home. As usual, large organisations cannot take criticism and always point to the customer saying that the customer should have done this or said that, so any comments back by the Waldorf will point entirely to my failings. I do know this. Whatever my family arranged (ceremony, caterer, caterer's staff, food, drinks, show band, etc) was magnificent. Whatever the hotel arranged was a screw up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Astor Suite Anniversary Stay

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: the room was very comfortable and the staff were fantastic, very polite and friendly.
Location: the location is obviously perfect for any of the shows, of which there are many nearby. equally there are a number of excellent restaurants.
We stayed in the Astor suite to celebrate our anniversary. the staff were incredibly welcoming and checkout was very quick. The room was ready even though we were there a little early and we were able to go up and get comfortable. the room was well presented, clean and had all the amenities you would expect and several you don't, after getting unpacked, we went and had afternoon tea in the exec lounge which was well serviced with sandwiches and scones with cream and jam. after returning to the room we started getting ready for our evening. the bath was lovely and you're able tor relax with a bit of TV whilst you're there. equally, the monsoon shower was fantastic and suitably hot (more of an issue than you'd think in some hotels these days), there is also a good selection of shower products provided. We chose to eat at the hotel restaurant before heading to our show which was excellent. the food was beautifully done and the surroundings were very relaxing. Again the staff here were fantastic and asked us if we were attending a show when they seated us and timings etc. from this they ensured that all the timings for the meal were perfect to allow us to not be rushed but also be finished and paid with time to walk to the venue with a bit of time left over, this was a very nice personal touch and much appreciated because it meant we could really relax. the bed for the night was very comfortable and the curtains blocked out nearly all light, giving a very good nights sleep.