Featured Image

Reviews of Quality Inn Lone Pine Near Mount Whitney

2.5 out of 5
Quality Inn Lone Pine Near Mount Whitney
1920 South Main Street, Lone Pine, CA

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

4.1

Very Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 267 out of 864 reviews
5 - Excellent 31%
Rating 4 - Good. 413 out of 864 reviews
4 - Good 48%
Rating 3 - Okay. 155 out of 864 reviews
3 - Okay 18%
Rating 2 - Poor. 23 out of 864 reviews
2 - Poor 3%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 6 out of 864 reviews
1 - Terrible 1%

4.2/5

Cleanliness

4.2/5

Staff & service

4.0/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A Comfortable Surprise
Not our first choice in Lone Pine, but our usual hotel was full, no doubt because of the film festival. However we were very agreeably surprised as we had had bad experiences of the Comfort/Quality Inn hotels in the past. However, this changed the record and we may use it again should we need to stay in Lone Pine in the future.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Mt Whitney Hike
The room was clean and comfortable. AC worked well on a very hot day. We were allowed to check in early, and the front desk was friendly.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A good experience. Beds very comfortable. B'fast OK.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Lone Pine vacation
My wife and I needed somewhere to stay after leaving Mammoth. We went to the film museum (highly recommend). The staff were very friendly and the free breakfast was wonderful: eggs, sausage, yogurt, waffles, fruit, coffee. Highly recommend this motel if you need a place to stay in Lone Pine. Clean, comfortable, and quiet. They set their TVs to a certain volume level so as not to disturb guest in next room. The breakfast lady was like a professional waitress.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
pet-friendly, clean, all the conveniences
One of the nicest Comfort Inns I've ever stayed in. They cater to the Mt. Whitney hikers, so there's a fridge and microwave in each room. We had a pet-friendly room, so there was a heavier scent of deodorizer than the normal rooms probably have, but hey, that's what you expect in a pet room. The nice thing is that each pet room has a back door that opens up onto a patio and grassy area. Friendly staff--Owens Valley was in the middle of a 10 year-beetle infestation, so there were hundreds of tiny dead bugs everywhere, but the staff did a good job of keeping up with cleaning them. Decent complimentary breakfast, the usual--waffle maker, toast, yogurt--but also sausage and egg patties. It's on the outskirts of town, but right across from the National Park Visitors Center. And only a 2-minute drive into town anyway.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
great pool, good breakfast, very helpful staff.

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Bugs Everywhere
Total bug infestation made for a terrible night. Staff sympathetic but unable to deal with bugs. And lots of hair left on shower wall from a previous guest made the bathroom, along with the many bugs, especially nasty.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Ok as a stopover
We stayed for one night whilst driving from Las Vegas to Yosemite as its about half way and after Death Valley. The rooms are pretty standard with a noisy air conditioning unit which seems common in hotels of this type. Otherwise, all was good with a friendly staff.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
1 night stop en route to Sierras.
Door did not fit frame. Security lock did not secure. Scum on washbowl. Bed of modest quality. Front office staff friendly but somewhat 'cowboy'. No food on site. Breakfast reference to local diner, where we found good food and service. Lone Pine does not appear to have a quality hotel yet is 1/4 mile from the bust Yosemite Park's eastern entrance point.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Friendly staff, easy place to stay. Great views of Whitney.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel
Beautiful location overlooking mountains. Outskirts of town so peaceful. Room very comfortable and spacious. Great for a one night stay travelling from San Diego to Mammoth Lakes.
Response from Cianni on Jul 25, 2015
Thank you so much for your recent stay! We are glad you were pleased with our property!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Staff was professional and friendly. Room was clean and beds were comfortable.
Response from Cianni on Jul 18, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We greatly appreciate it!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Great basic stopover after Death Valley.
Very helpful front desk, nice pool area - good selection of local restaurants 5 minute drive away.
Response from Cianni on Jul 15, 2015
Thank you so much for your recent stay! We are glad to know you enjoyed your time at our property!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Everything was wonderful!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great place to stay
We were there to climb Mt. Whitney in a day. We needed to be able to have comfort before & after the climb. They allowed us to check in early & get some sleep so we could get ready to climb @ 2AM. Arrived back after the climb @ 9 pm & even though the day was over 100 degrees, the air-conditioning had the room perfectly cool. Room had a frig & microwave so that really helped with the drink & food storage. Staff VERY friendly & efficient.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Everything was done right.
Response from Cianni on Jun 30, 2015
Thank you so much for the review!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, room comfort

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good staff and a very clean and well kept establishment. I would certainly stay here again.
Response from Cianni on Jun 22, 2015
Thank you very much!!!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Excellent staff
Checked in late, but the staff still brought in the Requested crib in 5 minutes. Forgot my laptop in room when left. But the staff called me in 5 minutes. If later, I may need to drive back from LA...
Response from Cianni on Jun 22, 2015
We try to do our best for our guests and I am so happy we did that for you! Thank you!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very nice stay
Looking at the small town of Lone Pine, this is the newest hotel in the town. Very nice condition, rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. Free breakfast. Great views of the mountain range leading to Mt Whitney.
Response from Cianni on Jun 22, 2015
Incredible review to receive! Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such an amazing compliment!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice place
The lobby had free tea/coffee/hot chocolate which was GREAT! Nicely decorated lobby by the way and lots of pictures from old western movies along the hallways. For breakfast you can eat inside or outside on the deck which has a great western view of the mountains. Fantastic!
Response from Cianni on Jun 17, 2015
We are so happy you were pleased with us! Thank you so much! Please come visit again!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Not bad service but old country inn
As you expected this is a typical model in remote area. Hotel service was good but the smell and condition of the room was not there. We had a woman's underwear on the floor at the bathroom, which created a bad feeling about the place.
Response from Cianni on Jun 16, 2015
Hello thank you for your stay! I am very surprised at what was found in the bathroom! All of our rooms are inspected prior to check in of guests. Our team will continue to work hard to meet our guests expectations. I am very sorry for this inconvenience!

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Good base for hiking Whitney
Adequate hotel, primarily useful as overnight for hiking Mt Whitney. It's about 25 minute drive up to Whitney portal zone.
Response from Cianni on Jun 11, 2015
Thank you very much for your review! Have a great day!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Rabbit view comfort inn lone pine
The room was just a little tired. The bathroom could have been cleaner, the shower head and rail were dirty. Breakfast was great and the staff very friendly. Plenty of rabbits in the grounds.
Response from Cianni on Jun 11, 2015
I am sorry for the cleanliness issue you encountered! That is not common for us, and we will work harder to make sure we stay on top of that! I am glad you enjoyed Breakfast and our staff! Have a great day!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel near Death Valley entrance.
Hotel was for a quick overnight stay before driving through Death Valley area. It suited our needs fine.
Response from Cianni on Jun 11, 2015
Thank you so much! Glad to know we met your needs!

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
clean and friendly
room clean..hotel clean..pool and spa clean...friendly and helpful staff..
Response from Cianni on Jun 1, 2015
Thank you so much! We truly appreciate the wonderful review!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
lone pine great little place
I love this place
Response from Cianni on Jun 1, 2015
We are so happy that you love our great property! Thank you!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
pleasant place at other side of Death Valley
very friendly and helpful staff
Response from Cianni on May 19, 2015
Thank you so much! Hope to see you again!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Nice place to stay and visit
It was a fair hotel and we don't mind go back again. The front desk staff was very helpful, breakfast was good. We had a good stay there. Lone Pine is a lovely place we would like to retire there.
Response from Cianni on May 18, 2015
Thank you so much for your review! So happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our property! Sounds like we may be seeing you again!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice stay, especially the pool
We usually have two vehicles and we appreciate being able to park where we can see the utility trailer that has 2 kayaks and other accessible items and feel they will be there in the morning.
Response from Cianni on May 16, 2015
Thank you for your stay! We are so happy to hear our parking accommodated your needs! We hope to see you again!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Death valley
Nice clean hotel. The only complaint we have is wilt the front deck lady at check in. There was a couple waiting sitting in the reception area when we arrived at 3.15 PM and we went to check in and were told there were no rooms ready and to come back at 4.00PM.The couple sitting waiting had been told the same thing. When we returned we were told that check in was 4. 00Pm . We replied that it was in fact 3.00PM and our room was then amazingly ready. This reception at check in was rude and put us off the hotel.
Response from Cianni on May 16, 2015
Hello there! Thank you for your recent stay! As the manager of the hotel, I extend an apology for any inconvenience that was caused during your stay! Our normal procedure is that if our housekeepers are still servicing beyond our 3pm check in time, we will do our best to find a room that is ready so that our guests do not have to wait. I apologize again and hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back in the future!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
What a view.
Great place to stay. The view was amazing. Nice little restaurants in the town as well.
Response from Cianni on May 18, 2015
Thank you so much! Happy Spring to you!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Stopover before Death Valley
Basic motel with excellent facilities (laundry, swimming pool,internet, cooked breakfast all in the room price) Excellent stopover beteween Yosemite and Death Valley on the road to Vegas.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
a good night sleep.
nice clean place. Helpful front desk.
Response from Cianni on May 4, 2015
Thank you so much! Hope to see you again!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Good spot to break up highway 395 drive
Good stopping over point for us. No elevator for 2 nd floor rooms. Our air conditioner did not work too well a must in summer. Good breakfast. Location was about a mile+ out of town
Response from Cianni on May 4, 2015
Thank you for your recent stay! Please accept our apologies for the A/C not properly working! Should you stay with us again, please bring any issues to our attention so that we can handle them for you! But we are glad you enjoyed everything else we had to offer!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel across from golf course
One night stay-pleasant, helpful staff. Room clean and comfortable. Free breakfast leaves much to be desired.
Response from Cianni on May 6, 2015
Thank you for your recent stay! I am sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast however! Please accept our apologies for that!

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
SHABBY
Wallpaper was coming off the wall. Upholstery was torn. Breakfast was disappointing
Response from Cianni on Apr 14, 2015
I am sorry your stay was not more enjoyable with us! We truly hope to welcome you back to give you a more positive outlook on our property!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great Place!
Stayed one night whilst touring. Really nice hotel, just outside of Lone Pine. Rooms, service and hotel all great. Downside was that the pool was closed when we stayed. Drove down to town for a good Chinese meal at The Merry Go Round and drinks at Jakes (Wife driving!). Next day was a fantastic drive across Death Valley to Vegas.
Response from Cianni on Apr 10, 2015
Thank you so much for your recent visit to our property! We are happy you enjoyed your time with us! We will be opening our pool very soon, but I am sorry that was not something we were able to offer during your stay! We hope you will return to us in the future!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
What a great view!
We stayed here for three nights, and were very pleased with the hotel. We plan to stay again, next time we're in the area.
Response from Cianni on Apr 7, 2015
Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
"This IS the Comfort Inn!"
We had trouble finding it in the dark and called for directions. The staffer was helpful and friendly and got us there right away. She was a delight during the check-in process and was the same in the morning when she was back on duty again. Her lively and fun personality set the tone for our stay. The hotel was great: no pool or other resort touches but spacious room, comfortable bed, etc. Everything was clean and upscale, right down to the power outlets and USB charging sockets on top of the nightstand. The continental breakfast was everything you could want, with even a waffle maker. We had stayed the previous night in a historic inn, which was fun, but the contrast in comfort and conveniences was welcome.
Response from Cianni on Apr 5, 2015
Thank you so much for your previous stay! It makes our day to know that everything that you encountered during your stay here was to your satisfaction! Happy Spring to you and we hope to welcome you back again! Our pool and jacuzzi will reopen soon, and you can enjoy that too!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good place to stay
Great stay while traveling through and great breakfast
Response from Cianni on Apr 3, 2015
Thank you so much for your recent stay! We truly appreciate the time you took to review our property!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Gateway to Death Valley
Right on the edge of the north approach to Death Valley. Staff at breakfast area are very helpful and friendly. Views of the Eastern Sierras can't be beat. No elevator though.
Response from Cianni on Mar 31, 2015
Thank you for your stay!

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Staff & service
lone pine comfort inn
Room was fine for one night. Breakfast was adequate too. No elevator or first floor rooms available so we had to carry all bags up stairs. Would stay again for a short stay
Response from Cianni on Mar 24, 2015
Hello there! Thank you for your recent stay! Please accept my apologies for not having any 1st floor rooms available for you! Should you stay with us again, please give us a call, and we will assign you a 1st floor prior to arrival! Thank you!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Perfect
Lovely hotel,friendly staff, beautiful place....and the most comfortable bed in the USA!
Response from Cianni on Mar 23, 2015
What an incredible review to receive! Thank you so very much and we look forward to providing you with the most comfortable bed once again!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Comfortable hotel in a good location
Hotel is in a perfect location for visits to death Valley National Park (maybe 1.5 hour away). People in the hotel are friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Hotel provides complimentary breakfast and WiFi. Overall a very pleasant stay at a very reasonable price.
Response from Cianni on Mar 23, 2015
Thank you for your stay! We truly appreciate your review!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort