Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mpls, MN

Beautiful Jungle Resort near Altun Ha

Posted May 31, 2015
We stayed a week at Maruba and absolutely loved everything (except the doctor flies, but they couldn't control that). The staff was very attentive, food was amazing, and the owners wet hands-on the entire visit. They made you feel like you were there visiting old friends. We'll definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Charles, La

Landscaped Oasis in Belize

Posted Mar 14, 2015
I went to Maruba for some R&R after a surprising end to a marriage engagement. It's beauty and amazing creativity drew me in, and I was not let down when I arrived! To leave the airport and drive down a blown out paved/dirt/Rock road for an hour, seeing dirt poor people along the way, then pull into this oasis, is kind of shocking in a way. But Melanie, the host, welcomed me likd a family member, handed me a rum punch and walked me around. I felt welcome. The resort is secluded, small, and perfect for those wanting privacy. It's landscaping is just gorgeous, and I spent a lot of time walking around or laying by the pool in a private canopy, listening to the birds and wind in the palms, reading in peace and swimming. The food is very good, and my last night there I had the best pasta dish with fish, shrimp and octopus I've ever had! Good, strong black coffee in the morning. The room...it was unique and beautiful. The only issue I had was a TV that had no reception and the pillows were quite hard. But nice massage is just the thing to work the kinks out! Their spa is magnificent ❤️ And finally the excursions...there are many options. I went snorkeling. The boat ride was exhausting 1.5hrs, but worth it for the beauty we saw underwater in San Pedro. But they leave you in town for 3 hours buy lunch and shop, and it was very uncomfortable to me. Suggesting they all eat together might be at least a better option! Overall it was a great experience!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego Ca

It's a jungle out there

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: It feels like you really are in the heart of the jungle, food is great. Staff makes you feel at home
Cons: The mattress needs a little TLC that's really the only thing
Location: It's located in Maskall near Altun Ha which is an archeological site with pyramids, also to subterranean caves that you can explore.
My husband and I were very happy to have picked this hotel, we have traveled a lot and the friendliness of the staff at Maruba is unsurpassed..Melonie is the best at making sure you get the best activities planned for you, Gloria and Janeele were our waitresses and were very attentive and friendly. The tour guides were helpful and knowledgeable. I truly recommend the mud massage for couples, it's something you'll never forget!,, the chef Orlando makes the best of the natural resources available and creates exotic foods. We recommend you try the heart of Palm salad .... yummy,,, I would definitely be back to Maruba Spa and Resort Nick and Noemi from San Diego Ca
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Busy business owner from Detroit

THE place to unplug

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The perfect blend of relaxation and retreat.
Cons: The roads, but that's for the government to do.
Location: We went on the Med. Plant walk, day trip 25 miles upriver to the Lamanai ruins, trip to Altun Ha ruins, zip lining and cave tubing. All were fantastic
This is not a "resort" type experience. This is more a natural luxury. The staff is wonderful, the food fantastic, the activities refreshing. Try the Medicinal Plant walk, ask for Amilcar (ahhhmeelcaar) and we also highly recommend the trip to Lamanai. The only issues one might have would be the roads. An hour plus in and out and to anywhere over pot hole filled roads that put those in Metro Detroit to shame. I have a bad neck and was able to withstand them but someone with a serious back or neck issue may want to choose another adventure. Let's hope the government gets busy and repairs them because everyone should try this place at least once! Cell service is only from 6-8 am by the mineral bath, but no worries the staff has local service for emergencies. Internet works in the restaurant area. No cable or phones in the rooms. If you truly want to unplug, safely lol, this is the place. I had caught a cold that hit me pretty hard on the third day. Amilcar made me a couple of teas from plants and barks that we had seen on the walk that fixed me right up!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nancy from New Jersey

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels
The resort is designed NOT to be close to anything, which is why it is so wonderful. Remote is GOOD in this case. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We LOVED IT!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Trish

Jungle Paradise

Posted Mar 9, 2013 on Hotels
If you want tranquility and total relaxation, this is the resort to experience. The spa is unique and I highly recommend the mud massage. Elizabeth gives one of the best treatments I've ever had! All of the rooms are beautifully decorated although the 'gym' needs new weights and equipment. The meals are delicious and plentiful. I would tip everyone in cash as the house takes 10% which is not uncommon practice. The owners treat their guests like family, and offer wonderful tours and advice.The bugs are well controlled and there was no need for spray. I plan to return but will bring a few gift items for the hardworking staff and their children. Trish
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels
THe resort was absolutely amazing. I have never stayed anywhere like it. I would lov eto go back for a much longer time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

MARUBA RESORT

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is far from the city of Belize or the beautiful keys , the road to arrived is not paved but the experience of staying in a jungle is unique specially the massages where after the treatment the person is painted with a three colors mud for pictures like a jaguar. Very good food .We were upgraded a a beatiful suite,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stellablue

fun and relaxing

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels
Beautiful grounds, nice people and fun activities. Gotta do the mud massage.