Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dream Vacation

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Location: There was nothing near us, it was great for unplugging.
Its was great trip. 7 days and 6 nights stay that was a trip of a life time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2016 by Maruba-Belize, Hotel Management
Thank You for visiting us & taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. Melanie & Nicky
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet Jungle Stay

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great decor, great breakfast. Friendly staff and service. Isolated, so you don't have options for dinner or entertainment. No wifi in the room. Two large pools and lots of secluded nooks. Great spa on site. Good base to explore Belize district including Altun Ha.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderfully quirky jungle lodge with great food

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderfully quirky decorating of rooms at this jungle surrounded lodge. Two pools, really good food - a little on the spendy side. Great location from which to see Altun Ha and Lamanai - the lodge can make arrangements for transportation and a very good guide.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great mainland retreat

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
I had a one day stay after 3 days of ruins and this was just the spot. Great pool. The beds were feather mattresses. The food was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
This place was a complete let down. It is in the middle of nowhere and there is nothing to do nearby, not even a town for restaurants, so you are resigned to eating the terrible and overpriced food at the resort. Service also takes forever and it took us nearly an hour to get our meals each time. Also our bed was a feather bed that had been slept in too many times with imprints where people have slept, so there was no back support, making for uncomfortable nights. They need to replace their mattresses for the price they are charging.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mpls, MN

Beautiful Jungle Resort near Altun Ha

Posted May 31, 2015
We stayed a week at Maruba and absolutely loved everything (except the doctor flies, but they couldn't control that). The staff was very attentive, food was amazing, and the owners wet hands-on the entire visit. They made you feel like you were there visiting old friends. We'll definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Melanie & Nicky, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying @ Maruba, Belize We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you on your return trip to Belize! Wishing You An Awesome Day!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Charles, La

Landscaped Oasis in Belize

Posted Mar 14, 2015
I went to Maruba for some R&R after a surprising end to a marriage engagement. It's beauty and amazing creativity drew me in, and I was not let down when I arrived! To leave the airport and drive down a blown out paved/dirt/Rock road for an hour, seeing dirt poor people along the way, then pull into this oasis, is kind of shocking in a way. But Melanie, the host, welcomed me likd a family member, handed me a rum punch and walked me around. I felt welcome. The resort is secluded, small, and perfect for those wanting privacy. It's landscaping is just gorgeous, and I spent a lot of time walking around or laying by the pool in a private canopy, listening to the birds and wind in the palms, reading in peace and swimming. The food is very good, and my last night there I had the best pasta dish with fish, shrimp and octopus I've ever had! Good, strong black coffee in the morning. The room...it was unique and beautiful. The only issue I had was a TV that had no reception and the pillows were quite hard. But nice massage is just the thing to work the kinks out! Their spa is magnificent ❤️ And finally the excursions...there are many options. I went snorkeling. The boat ride was exhausting 1.5hrs, but worth it for the beauty we saw underwater in San Pedro. But they leave you in town for 3 hours buy lunch and shop, and it was very uncomfortable to me. Suggesting they all eat together might be at least a better option! Overall it was a great experience!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego Ca

It's a jungle out there

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: It feels like you really are in the heart of the jungle, food is great. Staff makes you feel at home
Cons: The mattress needs a little TLC that's really the only thing
Location: It's located in Maskall near Altun Ha which is an archeological site with pyramids, also to subterranean caves that you can explore.
My husband and I were very happy to have picked this hotel, we have traveled a lot and the friendliness of the staff at Maruba is unsurpassed..Melonie is the best at making sure you get the best activities planned for you, Gloria and Janeele were our waitresses and were very attentive and friendly. The tour guides were helpful and knowledgeable. I truly recommend the mud massage for couples, it's something you'll never forget!,, the chef Orlando makes the best of the natural resources available and creates exotic foods. We recommend you try the heart of Palm salad .... yummy,,, I would definitely be back to Maruba Spa and Resort Nick and Noemi from San Diego Ca
4 out of 5
by Tree Huggin Bunny Lover

Unique getaway from the fast-paced world.

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Orbitz
Very accommodating staff that seem genuinely happy. Open property layout allows for privacy. Excellent spa services. Amalcar is a great guide-in van or via horseback excursion. Lamani trip was worth the climb. Shark alley/Ho Chan snorkeling was epic! Attentive, on-site management. I will return!