Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Very disappointing

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The staff (Candice, Debbie, and housekeeper) were very nice and tried their best to be accommodating.
Cons: Drapes on the windows; decent shower head in room 6. Don't rent "Courtyard 1" during the warm months. It would be fine in the winter, I guess.
Location: The location isn't bad. The neighborhood is undergoing renovation. Near to St. Charles Ave and trolley car stops.Not far from Magazine St.
To begin, the "Mansion" itself is in a fairly good location. The outside and first floor are beautifully renovated and elegant. I didn't see any of the guest rooms on the first floor, so I can't speak for their condition or comfort. But the two rooms I experienced were, to say the least, not worth the money. Our first room was Courtyard 1. The room itself wasn't bad..not special, but spacious, and the bathroom w/ hand-held shower head was good. The problem was that the room temperature was just short of hellish. The thermostat for this room is controlled in the office of the main house, and we asked for it to be turned down. We left for dinner, and decided to buy a box-fan to help the air circulation, but when we returned the room was still hot. We turned the fan on, but realized in less than an hour that the room would be uninhabitable. We were relocated to a room inside the house, on the second floor, Lafitte's Hideaway. The room was VERY SMALL and cramped, but the biggest problem was that the almost floor to ceiling window in the room HAD NO DRAPES. Just a very poorly hung sheer, only good if you like getting up at daybreak. Another trip to the store for yet another purchase of sleep masks. The shower head in this bathroom was laughable...the water came out in a stream...like bathing under a garden hose with no water pressure. The room was too small to include any chairs, so you had to sit on the bed. Overall, a very uncomfortable weekend I wouldn't care to repeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

A great change from the Quarter; thumbs up!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Uptown location to the St. Charles Trolley system, plus excellent restaurants and bars within walking distance
Cons: The A/C thermostat needed some attention, but they jumped on it and got it corrected quickly.
Location: Plenty of local Bars and Restaurants on St. Charles nearby
Had a great adventure from this hotel, taking the Trolley on St. Charles out to Audubon Park (Camelia Grill on Clairborne) and in to the Quarter. Free Parking on the street was plentiful right in front of the Mansion, and the house was like going back into time...very Gone with the Wind environment. Staff was very friendly and attentive to our experience there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Historic hotel in the Garden District

Posted Aug 22, 2017
We were in New Orleans for a family emergency. Miranda and Terry were so kind and accommodating. They helped us with a room last minute for our son as well. The mansion is beautiful! We loved that they had an in-tune upright Steinway in the Parlor that we played. The mansion has comfortable furniture on the porch as well where we sat while a storm passed by. We stayed in the Gone With the Wind room which was gorgeous and it had a claw foot tub in the bathroom. Our son stayed in the Jazz room up stairs, which was a very fun room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant, lovely old New Orleans Charm.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
If you love Southern charm, Magnolia Mansion is the place to go. It is stunning, very comfortable, quiet and near everything we wanted to see. Streetcars were near by and beautiful neighborhood to walk through. They offered a lovely breakfast and very wonderful staff. I will stay there again.
4 out of 5
by PETE

Pete and Blanca Anniversary

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
I have to say our stay at Magnolia Mansion was very nice to say the least we didn't see no ghost but loved the place we will be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba, Canada

Beautiful hotel in a quiet neighborhood

Posted Jun 10, 2017
My husband and I spent a wonderful week in New Orleans. We were immediately met at the gate by a young man who efficiently helped with our bags, checked us in and took us to our room.The hotel staff was incredibly kind and helpful. The manager very personable. We were able to stay in the Vampire Lover's Lair room with a hand carved replica bed from Interview with the Vampire. The claw foot style tub in the bathroom was amazing to soak in after a long day of walking all over the city. There was a small snafu that affected the hot water to our room briefly but Mr. Bush the Manager opened an empty guest room for us to shower that morning and quickly dealt with the hot water tank. He also recommended an excellent tour company and helped book our two tours as well as called and arranged for a taxi to pick us up to get to the airport to go home. There is also an excellent Italian restaurant on site. A lovely continental breakfast is provided each morning. I don't know where they get the bagels but they were fantastic. I know when my husband and I visit New Orleans again we won't be staying anywhere else.
3 out of 5
by ivan

Mansion could use fixing

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Furniture old (night stand venire was off). No phone in room. TV remote did not work.
5 out of 5
by Philippa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Not what I expected

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The location was fantastic! I did enjoy the ambiance of the hotel, even though we didn't stay in the main house. The manager was very nice.
Cons: Offering more refreshments (at least water in the water cooler).
Location: Magazine street just 10-15 min away: French quarter was a 30 min walk away. Beautiful garden district!!!!
The location of this hotel was fabulous! We were within walking distance (we like to walk a lot) of nearly everything we wanted to visit in town. The room itself (a courtyard room) was simply ok. I booked through expedia, and was unaware that it automatically booked us for the courtyard room, which is outside in the "old servants quarters." While the room was somewhat quaint, it was not was expected or worth what I paid for. I definitely felt separated from the house, and at times truly felt like we were truly in the servants quarters--employees often sat at the patio table outside of our room for breaks/to smoke, etc. The air conditioner in our room did not go below 78 (and it was a warm/humid time), and while we brought it to the attention of the hotel staff it did not get fixed. Breakfasts were mediocre, some pastries from a local bakery, but not a pleasurable assortment. Coffee and OJ only for refreshment--the water cooler was out of water during our entire 4 day stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great house in an awesome location, but starting to need a bit of repair. The staff was nice enough, but not being owner-operators, they lacked the warmth of traditional B&B. Oh and breakfast was lackluster -- bagels and instant grits.