Ratings based on 1,950 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Don't Waste Your Time, and Money!!!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: It had a great shower and the buffet was good, but the selection was very repetitive.
Cons: Everything! The staff, the grounds, the amenities, the quality of everything.
Location: The location was beautiful. It's a good thing, it offset everything else that was really irritating.
This was the MOST irritating vacation I've ever booked! We weren't checked in more than 24 hours and they INSISTED that we attend this "presentation", that was nothing more than a sales pitch to buy into the resort for a mere $76,000! Even after we said NO several times, they continued to accost us with the "Presentation. If that wasn't enough, you couldn't spend 5 minutes on the beach without someone trying to sell you something. They wouldn't get you a drink, but they could sure sell you a pair of cheap sunglasses!! The real topper was that we forgot sunscreen and had to pay $30.00 for some that was $8 bucks a Walmart!! The staff was unfriendly, the shuttles between areas we were promised whizzed by us empty. I saw more trash trucks than I saw palm trees, and everything was extra. We even went to the steakhouse where they wanted us to pay extra for the steak!!! We booked an excursion only to find that the agent tried to cut some off of the top and rip us off!!! Don't book this place!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

It was not as good as what I expected

Posted Nov 24, 2016
I wouldn't go back to this hotel. The shower wasn't draining, tables were sticky. The main lobby and where you stay are far apart. When rain, you have to walk through puddles (upto your thighs high) to get to main lobby. Room services take long time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel right on the beach. Staff is great

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Best staff I've ever dealt with. All extremely friendly and helpful. Every single person I came across made me feel like it was impossible to have a bad time. They included everyone in everything and made us all feel like family.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

Decent all inclusive however not a 5 star

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Nice resort however not a 5 star. Overall resort was just average. Rooms were ok but outdated. They claimed to have 12 Resturant's...we understand some close for off season....BUT to have only ONE buffet Resturant for breakfast and only TWO open for lunch. (And the one for lunch is also the buffet for breakfast). Only one swim up bar and pool was not very clean. Best spot on beach is the beach bar-great bar-use the bathrooms near the water sports all part of paradisus. Pamela was the best!!!! She is so helpful and very informative.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wedding stay

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Cons: the fact that TENTs were not an option for the bride who wanted her reception pool side.
Rooms were a bit dated, but still beautiful. The staff was overall very nice. The food was excellent. Only disappointment was that they did not offer Mangu for breakfast...despite us being in DR (that is a popular breakfast dish). I went with my mother and I felt there should have been more ramps and handicap amenities available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Awesomely Beautiful!!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The attentiveness and friendliness of the staff. The food was amazing! The Paradisus Resort and its amenities were on the money. My Niece got married here, and everything turned out Beautiful! The Beach served as the perfect backdrop for the Wedding.
Cons: There was nothing that I didn't like about it. It suited me just fine.
Location: I liked that I didn't have to leave the resort to do things like finding a place to eat, swimming, beaching, biking.....etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great getaway for my husband and I, 5 nights 6 day

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Dune Buggies - Highly recommend, bring a bandana and set of clothes with you that you can discard. The red clay stains. Fun, but you will get dirty
We stayed there 11/6/16 to 11/11/16. The room was awesome, but upon our arrival there were minor issues with our room. Maintenance was notified and responded almost immediately. They were able to adjust almost everything. The next day Isael Lopez from Customer Service called and came to our room to make sure the final adjustment was made and to make sure everything met our satisfaction. It did. The food is good on morning and lunch buffets. They have plenty of choices for everyone to find something that meets there desires. For evening meals, we only ate at three of the restaurants, Palopados(spelling near beach), Vento and ate at Fuego twice. All were excellent. The beaches are white sand and you can walk miles in each direction. If you have kids, be careful as the undertow appeared to be strong and the waves were pretty big not far off the shore. Pool is nice with a swim up bar. We spent a little time here. The crew here does a good job making the drinks. Our favorite place to hang out was at the North Avenue Bar with Edward and his crew. Very efficient and in our opinion made the best drinks on the resort. For help around the resort and the area, seek out "Action" Jackson down near the Gabi buffet. He will be dressed in a white suit and was always eager to assist. Yes, we would stay there again!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A lot of R & R.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Clean facility and Food.
Cons: More entertainment throughout the day at beach and pool.
All was good, got a lot of Rest and Relaxation. It was low session so not crowded and was able to experience all it had to offer without being overwhelmed. We felt they could have been more music/DJ at beach, pool and bars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tomah Wi

A fun Resord

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: The hotel is short walk to shops. Best Beach anywhere
Pros: The hotel staff were great, Waiters , Bartenders, Pool Guys. The Royal Service Beach was nice with plenty of shade. Nice Bars and a lot of them. GREAT FOOD Carleton was our butler and took excellent care of us ensuring we had the best service and a special gift from the resort. Cons: The room good but needed upgrades . It seams that every hotel in the region has the same Michael Jackson show This Hotel is not up to the standard of the Paradisus in Playa del Carmen. We had a great time at this hotel it just did not rate a 4-1/2, more like a 4.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, United States of America

Not worth the money

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: Is great. Walking distance from things off of the resort.
The hotel staff was terrible and not helpful at all. The food wasn't that great. The resturant staff however was very friendly. The rooms were out dated and need touch up work. The air conditioning didn't work that great. The ground transportation rarely was up and running. The outdoor landscaping was very beautiful and clean. The exterior was very well kept up. When I checked in they didn't give me the room I was supposed to get. Then after a day later when the electricity kept going out they gave me a upgrade which was ok.