Ratings based on 2,220 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

sick as a dog

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: clean grounds entertainment was excellent
Cons: cleanliness of rooms, and pay more attention to your guests at check in. food needs help at buffet and meat. im sick as a dog for under cooked food.
Lets start off with the resort is beautiful. Staff is friendly and attentive especially at swim up bar and entertainment staff . The bad: there food is gross. For a 5 start resort you would think it would be better. They serve the same exact thing for breakfast and lunch at the buffet. when checking in i spoke to Daniel, advised him it was my anniversary , he said he would make note of it. He advised they only had a room with 2 double beds. i said i would wait, its my anniversary i would like a king size bed. He then stated they had a room but ac was out until 4 pm . i agreed that it was ok as i would go eat and go to pool. as i arrived in room 1171, bathroom doors were stained and not wiped down looked like old blood or chocolate on bathroom doors. The bed was broken, and tv did not work. i called right away and they said they would call me back, they never did so i went to eat lunch at buffet. lights were also out at buffet, very humid food was melting. i wish i would have never ate. i checked in on a Thursday afternoon by Saturday i was sick. upset stomach throwing up. horrible ! my partner also threw up meat from friday night. i have since been to emergency room for a stomach infection!. when i went back to my room i saw no note or missed call from lobby. so i went to walk to the lobby and a nice group of staff saw me i told them about my broken bed and told me they would switch my room. guess what? no upgrade ! and i have a bacteria infection!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Family vacation

Posted Nov 17, 2017
This was a great place to take the family 2 -boys ages 6 & 9. The staff bartenders were great to my boys and remembered them almost every time they came to the bar to get their Shirley Temples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove, CA

Better than the pictures! Exceeded expectations!

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Dinner reservation process.
Location: Ziplining including the drive to the location was great due to excellent tourguide. Also full day water outing that included parasailing.
My son, our friends and I chose this resort for our once in a lifetime group trip after spending hours online looking for the perfect fit for all of us. From the moment we arrived at the airport and were escorted to our private bus we knew we made the right choice. Upon arriving at the resort, we were amazed that the property was even prettier than the pictures. The staff was lovely and gracious. Our excursions very enjoyable. Food choices were broad and tasty. The reservation process was a little difficult for us though, possibly a communication issue. We enjoyed every moment of our trip and would definitely return, if not to this Melia resort because one of us (me) wants to explore other places, to any Melia Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Paradisus

Posted Nov 13, 2017
I really enjoyed the Paradisus the food was ok. The sea food was really good the beef not so much. But the Dominican is not know for there beef in there defense. The drinks and the staff where some of the best in the biz.. I would totally recommend and even return to the Paradisus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Staff was very friendly. Activities were engaging and fun.
Cons: Check in-slow.Sidewalks VERY slippery when wet-diff coating needed. Melia phone app-BAD. Other choices for showing activities should be utilized.
Check in process very slow. Sidewalks VERY slippery when wet; different coating needed. Melia phone app is totally BAD - terribly cumbersome to use. Other choices for showing activities should be utilized - activity boards, list on the tv, print outs for the week ..... making people download an app is not a good idea. There were supposed to be classes in the fitness center. I was only able to attend one - all others never took place. Fitness classes are on the web cite as part of things offered. The class needs to take place even if just one person shows up. Chances are that if a class is going on, even with just one person, others will join in, late arrivals will join in. I was very disappointed. On the other hand the staff in the fitness center was great, very friendly and knowledgeable of the equipment and obviously fit. Also, what is the point of having classes for the Reserve and classes for the "plain" resort? It makes it more difficult for the facility to properly run and staff classes- join them together. Our meal at "The Grill" steak house was awful. Potatoes and corn had obviously been cooked well ahead of time, soup of runny, meat was tough, staff not very friendly. Our meal at Bano was awesome!! Food was fresh and staff was very friendly. Dancers and activity people, especially Oscar, were very friendly. Night time shows and music was awesome.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphis

Horrible

Posted Nov 8, 2017
I walked into a clogged toilet and had to call three times before they finally sent someone. For all four days I had to call the front desk to ask for my room to be cleaned. I would leave in the morning and come back before dinner and the room had still not been ckeaned. The food was terrible- over cooked and the same things day after day in the buffet and either really plain - white rice, boiled vegetables or really salty- salmon in soy sauce. There are restaurants but the staff is so slow you’re waiting for 30 mins before anything comes out. The guy at the Expedia desk was rude and not helpful. The fitness center is dirty. They supposedly have shuttles to take you around the resort but they’re rare and most of the time you have to walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hartford, CT

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Good experience, the place was very spacious and had many restaurant options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Fantastic hotel. Staff outstanding. Don’t bother with upgrade. Our room was garden view with cabana in he garden. Book the al carte restaurants on first day with concierge. Room service was great real quick service. They are all outstanding!! Staff were amazing. We didn’t leave our sin loungers to get a drink. Amazing for teenagers! SUPs in pool. Aerobics. Dance lessons Spin class in water. Jose “cappuccino” was an absolute star!! Halloween pool party outstanding. If your booking trips go see Oscar at the pool towel hut! Got a great price and cannot recommendation the Sea Aquarium trip and boogie buggies. Best hotel we’ve been to in a long time!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Punta Cana vacation

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The lobby, pool, beach and restaurants were great. The rooms were old they smelled like mold the lights in the bathroom didn’t work unless you turned on all the lights the sliding doors for the balcony were hard to open as well as the bathroom sliding door. The bed mattress in our garden was ripped and dirty. If the rooms were in better shape I would give the hotel and 4/5 star review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Hotel bed was horrible food wasn’t that great drinks tasted watered down staff was amazing and everything was clean just not so impressed left a day early & elictricity was out every morning