Ratings based on 627 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane Valley, WA

Beautiful Eco-Reserve type resort

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Cons: The vent fan in my bathroom was inoperative, probably for a long time. They were told early on, but no repair / replace was done during my stay.
Location: Playacar is a private, upscale & gated community. But all these resorts are a 30+ minute walk from the main road. Explorer; plan on lots of cab fare.
I'd agree with the rating I saw when booking; 4.5 stars. However, I also discovered that "all-inclusive" is too binding for me as an explorer and non-drinker of alcohol. Lots of wildlife & beauty here tho; definitely a superior experience overall. The Tucan and Quetzal are mirror images of each other and share amenities. It's like twice the size of many resorts in Playa del Carmen. The food was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property! Great beach and jungle!!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Beautiful resort loved the open air buffet restaurants, jungle super cool, prime beach!! Rooms are a bit dated compared to other resorts I've been to recently. The basic "fruity" cocktails typical to beach resorts were not good. Like pina coladas and strawberry daiquiris. Once started ordering margaritas NOT made with their mix, these were good! Jesus is an AWESOME bartender!! And Ruby from the entertainment staff made every day FUN!! Check in was great and front desk very accommodating!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Nice hotel. Really enjoyed the Jungle area and the animals. The food at the buffet was just okay. We had problems getting bath towels after the room was cleaned. We had to call two different days to get wash cloths because they did not leave any. Not sure what that was all about. The beach area seating was closed until 9:30am one morning so we could not sit on the beach early that day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, Nebraska

Great beach and pool area with a wonderful jungle

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Great staff and location.
Cons: Forget about the Iberostar time-share pitch. I know it's voluntary and they offer incentives for guests to take the tour, but it's still a sales pitch
Location: Great location. It's a 45 minute beach walk or 6 minute cab ride to downtown Playa del Carmen for great shopping and restaurants.
Great location, helpful friendly staff. A pleasant stay. Family friendly. Second time here. We would return again. Food rates a 7 out of 10. Buffet restaurants were nice. The reservation restaurants we dined at were the Mexican, Mediterranean and steakhouse and all a nice experience. The inclusive wine choices were very limited in all three restaurants. The other listed inclusive wines were not stocked. If that happens, guests should be offered one of the premium wines instead as a gratis replacement. Our room was comfortable and well tended on a daily basis. The walls can be a bit thin when neighboring guests are boisterous. The jungle habitat area that lies between the lobby of the resort and pool/beach area is tranquil and beautiful. It's nice to have this lush green space with its howler monkeys, tropical birds and mammals for guests to enjoy. Suggestions for Iberostar Tucan: Improve your wireless Internet speeds. They are sluggish and it may take minutes of wait time just to load a newspaper article from the Internet. Offer bike rentals so guests can ride into neighboring Playa del Carmen and get a bit of exercise along the way. Replace the salt shakers in your buffet restaurants. Because of the humidity, every one we tried was plugged.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

The beach here was awesome, the staff was great!

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: The staff and the beach
Cons: Not having to have reservations for the restaurants would have been nice, we did have he opportunity to eat at 4 of the 5 restaurants though.
Location: Excellent location, just a short 30 minute walk t 5th Avenue. The beach there was awesome. Very safe area.
We enjoyed our stay here. The Star Friends entertainment was top notch. The hotel had an event every evening and they were all excellent! By far, the best shows we have been to in Mexico, every night was awesome. The staff does an excellent job at welcoming you and everyone is there to please with no expectations. We were always greeted with a smile and warm Hola!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our resort to enjoy your vacations. We are glad to hear that our entertainment team & shows, amazing staff, beautiful beach and great location were a great experience to you. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again. Warm regards ,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Great hotel! Will return!!

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Everything about this trip was awesome! If you are trying to figure out if you should go, make your reservations now! Don't wait!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our resort. We appreciate your great comments and we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you for your next vacations. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Daytona Beach, Fl

Great stay!

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Cons: Softer beds and hot food.
We had a great stay and the hotel staff was extremely accommodating and polite. The buildings and grounds are well maintained and the jungle area of the resort was a real bonus. Our balcony faced the jungle so each morning we were greeted by monkeys.The first morning we awoke to loud grunts and growls and we couldn't believe it came from a monkey. We were very happy with our stay and the buildings, jungle path, lobby area, dinning facilities, pool area and beach were beautifully maintained. Our only complaint is the beds are hard and the food wasn't hot, especially at the buffet. We gave the resort a high rating because of the facilities and the staff was great! Just wish they could find a way to keep the food hot at the buffets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
We are glad to hear you had a great stay at our great facilities, the amazing flora and fauna, the hardworking staff and the beautiful pool and beach. We also value your opinion and will address it to the housekeeping and food departments in order to improve. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

4+ stars hotel, major issue - room quality

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Good all-inclusive offering, great beach with a white sand, good show program, nice restaurants.
Cons: Room quality, especially the smell of stale water. Bathroom seems too small and inconveniently organized (always bump into smth and i'm not a giant).
Location: Close to Playa del Carmen downtown, good tour program (Chinen Itza, Coba, Recreation Parks)
Great family hotel, good all-inclusive offering, great beach with a white sand, good show program, nice restaurants and close to Playa del Carmen downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the beautiful beach, entertainment shows, delicious restaurants and great location. We also value your constructive opinion and will share it with our Management in order to improve ourselves to you. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cedar Rapids, IA

Beautiful scenery and AMAZING staff

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Location: Very accessible to Playa del Carmen, just a walk or short taxi down the road. We felt very safe and the beach was beautiful.
The place is just as pretty as the pictures, but beyond the facilities, the staff at Iberostar made our honeymoon unforgettable. They were exceptionally attentive and worked incredibly hard to ensure our stay was both comfortable and fun. We enjoyed the daily activities and shows and my husband can't stop talking about the endless cappuccinos. There were plenty of meal options (even for my vegetarian husband), and I especially enjoyed the Japanese hibachi grill! Would recommend this place to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing us for such a special occasion. It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful beach, great facilities and daily activities with our animation team. We are delighted to read your review about how our amazing staff hard work, make your visit one of the best. It would be a pleasure to host you again. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Littleton, CO

January trip

Posted Jan 18, 2016
There were 6 of us, all adults on this trip. We had a great time! The food was excellent, but not always hot at the buffet. I believe that's the downside of buffet dining and the cool weather we had a couple days while there didn't help. We loved the swim up bar!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for spending your holidays at our great resort. We are happy to know you had an excellent time at our swim up bar and with the tasty food. We hope to host you for your next vacations! Kind regards,