Ratings based on 374 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016
For the price, I would have expected something a bit more up to date. The rooms were a bit stuffy, the towels a it grey instead of white, water bottles cost $9...at some point when you are paying over $350/room you would expect to have complimentary water. The location is beautiful, but the hotel is a bit dated
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis

Overpriced

Posted Mar 16, 2016
I'm used to staying at Hilton's, Four Seasons, etc. this place falls short of the mark. It's old, and it shows, most of the walls and fixtures are significantly marked up and painted over several times. The first night we were there it rained, and the room sprang a leak, right in the middle of the ceiling, a massive leak. We had to change rooms 3 times in 5 days, oh and the bugs... Never again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Cannot say enough good things!

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Service here was fantastic starting with the valet all the way thru checkout. The homemade muffins and pour over coffee brewed at the morning coffee bar were amazing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temecula, CA

Great view & close to the beach

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Location: Beach, Starbucks, Pizza, Spa, Shops, Del Mar Racetrack.
The hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The view of the ocean was amazing and it is right next to the beach. The train does come through behind the hotel, but it was not disturbing from our room because of the beautiful waterfall in the center courtyard. The bed was a bit hard for me, but I am partial to a little bit softer mattress, so I can't compare. The disappointing items were the room's AC grate needed to be cleaned, the filter behind the grate needed to be changed, and the clips to open it were painted over...so I'm not sure how long ago it was changed. There was a q-tip left behind from the previous patron in the bathroom, and a little cricket visited us in the bathroom as well. Not sure if housekeeping staff had time, but it might be worth another minute or two to get those details.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2016 by Shaun, Hotel Management
Dear Trish, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of L'Auberge Del Mar. Although I am disappointed to hear the housekeeping services were not able to meet your expectations, I am thrilled to hear that our hotel staff was able to provide exceptional service. I have shared this information with the appropriate departments in an effort to better suit guests needs in the future. I hope we get the chance to host you again and show you all that our hotel has to offer. Warm regards, Shaun Beucler General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from México City

Great hotel with wonderful view

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Hotel is great, service, facilities, room, everything. The only thing that put me off, was the "resort fee" : $25 daily. I was told this covers: coffee in the room (which any hotel of lesser quality, has), Wi-Fi, (which went on an off all the time), and pool services, such as towels!!!!! Rates are not cheap, so I didn't like that on top of the bill, I had to add $150 more, for things I take for granted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2016 by Shaun, Hotel Management
Dear Andrea, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to offer excellent service for our guests and the daily resort fee ensures that we are able to accommodate all the available services. We hope to welcome you back to our home by the sea soon! Warm regards, Shaun Beucler General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Nicest Del Mar Hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Location and ambiance
Cons: See above
We had a nice quiet stay in a 5-star facility. I am not sure they were quite on their game because of it being their low season. The service was good but I felt that the employees in general seamed bored because of the lack of people staying at the hotel. We bought 2 fruit cups from the morning coffee bar, neither was fresh, one had been frozen and the other had unseen mold. The room cleaning person did a good job on the room but forgot to replace the empty Kleenex box 2 days in a row. When we brought it to their attention it took an hour to get a replacement. The pay-per-view movie system was also a problem. The 1st movie we watched had a buffering problem on and off throughout the movie. The next day we gave them a second chance and again we had the same problem plus the sound quit half way through. While the hotel credited our bill for the cost it was very irritating. While my complaints are pretty minor, I don't expect any issues at a 5-star hotel and certainly not ones of this nature. I think management is taking a winter nap and should wake up, and restore the usually good attention to detail to summer shape.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2016 by Shaun, Hotel Management
Dear Jock, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am disappointed to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations and I have shared this information with the appropriate departments in order to better suit guests needs in the future. I truly hope we get the chance to host you in the future and show you all our hotel has to offer. Warm regards, Shaun Beucler General Manager
5 out of 5
by Amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Robin from Boston/LaJolla

The perfect wedding at the perfect hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
My daughters and I stayed here the night before my daughter's wedding. It was exceptional. From the moment we arrived until our departure we were treated beautifully. From the valet to the front desk, bellman and staff, everything was 5 stars. I can't express how much we appreciated all that was done for us. Anyone looking for the perfect wedding? This is the place! Special kudos to Dalice, (our wedding planner), who knew what we needed for the best wedding, even when we didn't and Saeed who served at the tasting and then again at the wedding reception with such personal attention you would have thought he was part of our family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016
Dear Robin, Thank you for taking the time to post this kind review of L'Auberge Del Mar. I am so pleased to hear that all of our associates were able to provide exceptional service for you and for your daughters wedding. I hope we are able to exceed your expectations again in the future. Warm regards, Shaun Beucler General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels