Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temecula, CA

Great view & close to the beach

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Location: Beach, Starbucks, Pizza, Spa, Shops, Del Mar Racetrack.
The hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The view of the ocean was amazing and it is right next to the beach. The train does come through behind the hotel, but it was not disturbing from our room because of the beautiful waterfall in the center courtyard. The bed was a bit hard for me, but I am partial to a little bit softer mattress, so I can't compare. The disappointing items were the room's AC grate needed to be cleaned, the filter behind the grate needed to be changed, and the clips to open it were painted over...so I'm not sure how long ago it was changed. There was a q-tip left behind from the previous patron in the bathroom, and a little cricket visited us in the bathroom as well. Not sure if housekeeping staff had time, but it might be worth another minute or two to get those details.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from México City

Great hotel with wonderful view

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Hotel is great, service, facilities, room, everything. The only thing that put me off, was the "resort fee" : $25 daily. I was told this covers: coffee in the room (which any hotel of lesser quality, has), Wi-Fi, (which went on an off all the time), and pool services, such as towels!!!!! Rates are not cheap, so I didn't like that on top of the bill, I had to add $150 more, for things I take for granted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Nicest Del Mar Hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Location and ambiance
Cons: See above
We had a nice quiet stay in a 5-star facility. I am not sure they were quite on their game because of it being their low season. The service was good but I felt that the employees in general seamed bored because of the lack of people staying at the hotel. We bought 2 fruit cups from the morning coffee bar, neither was fresh, one had been frozen and the other had unseen mold. The room cleaning person did a good job on the room but forgot to replace the empty Kleenex box 2 days in a row. When we brought it to their attention it took an hour to get a replacement. The pay-per-view movie system was also a problem. The 1st movie we watched had a buffering problem on and off throughout the movie. The next day we gave them a second chance and again we had the same problem plus the sound quit half way through. While the hotel credited our bill for the cost it was very irritating. While my complaints are pretty minor, I don't expect any issues at a 5-star hotel and certainly not ones of this nature. I think management is taking a winter nap and should wake up, and restore the usually good attention to detail to summer shape.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from newport beach calif

We have stayed there before. Needs a manager ..

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Chef & wonderful dinner at the Kitchen
Cons: many little things front desk dress code needs to be classy
Location: Great location
We were put in a room with trash truck view...Ripped lamp shade,,,broken lamp & light bulbs out.. Ask to move.. They then put us in a nice room on the 3rd floor...Overall look at the hotel..Needs an manager with good sight for all the little things that were no up to standard...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great View!

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: The ocean view, the decor, the staff, room features, location, and view.
Cons: Free bottled water for coffeemaker, eliminate hot water surges in shower, keep shampoo/shower gel dispensers full, deliver newspapers, repairs.
Location: La Pacifica restaurant is excellent. Stratford Square is a great place for breakfast. Del Mar has frequent community activities in progress.
We spent two nights here for a celebratory trip. We had always wanted to try this hotel. The location and view are wonderful. The facilities are clean and tastefully decorated. A few infrastructure issues existed, such as a key elevator out of service, hot water surges in the shower, and a telephone that was inoperable. A few service issues existed, such as lack of shower gel and shampoo for the guests, lack of free bottled water for the coffeemaker, and no newspapers delivered (as included in our resort fee...you have to actually request them), but none of these issues were severe enough to deter our stay. The staff were warm and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairhope, AL

Very Nice Hotel Near Beach

Posted Oct 12, 2015
My wife and I spent three nights here. It was our first visit and we were very pleased. The room was comfortable, clean and well-decorated. The lobby, courtyard and pool area have a great feel and a wonderful view of the sunset. We especially enjoyed all of the dining and quaint shoppIng options within easy walking distance and the easy one-block walk to the beach. The location is perfect and the hotel has an inviting and romantic charm to it. This is a great spot for a 3-4 day getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vicky from San diego

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Great
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Olivia from Los Angeles

Holiday Inn Suites would have been more luxurious

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
The room it self was nice, but the hotel is way over priced for the condition it is in. The elevator was in such poor condition that the smell and the look of it made me feel like I was in a cheap motel. I had to use it multiple times because I was on the third floor. I had worked late the night before so I ordered room service for breakfast, but when my breakfast got to my room my eggs where cold and my orange juice was warm. Only adding to the let down of this stay. I wanted to treat myself and stay somewhere upscale but this place was such a disappointment. The holiday inn suites would have been more luxurious. I will never go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by james from Beckenham

Best hotel in Del Mar

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Good facilities. Great room. Fantastic views of ocean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location and great staff.

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: It's in a great location and the hotel staff was great. The lobby and outdoor area is very nice.
Cons: They could get a new elevator and freshen the halls. Inform guests that there will be a function on one of the nights of their stay prior to booking.
Location: Walk to restaurants and shops.
I'm a fan of L'Auberge properties which is why I booked this resort. This unfortunately was not a pleasant stay. I did upgrade to a room that was said to have a view of the ocean. I know many hotels do this but I just feel you should not be able to say that if I cannot see the ocean from inside the room. Yes, while standing on the balcony I could see the ocean but trying to sell it like that makes them feel cheap. The atmosphere of the property was disappointing because the main elevator looks like a service elevator. It was beat up and actually smelled bad. The hallway to get to our room was in a similar state of disrepair. It just did not reflect what I have come to expect from a L'Auberge property. Another problem we had was with a wedding and the reception that followed. For a property of this caliber I would expect that they would tell you that there will be a function that will generate noise during your stay. Knowing this, I would not have stayed there at that time. The reception went on much later than they said and after receiving several calls they moved them to a function hall on a lower floor. The problem with that was that the doors to that room were open and guests were outside and all of the noise resonated perfectly up through the courtyard. This was a weekend where we really just wanted to get away to relax. We were hoping to not even leave the property but that function killed one of our nights. The staff was great but I would not stay here again.