Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Texas

Overnight in Shanghai

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The location was near the Hongqiao airport, and I had an early morning flight out.
I had a quick overnight stay in Shanghai and spent less than eight hours in the hotel. It was clean and efficient for my minimal needs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Doubled charged by Expedia and the hotel. Terrible

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Doubled charged by Expedia and the hotel. Terrible. That is after my double confirmation at the check out with their staff. They assured me that I already paid and won't be charged again. But a few hours later I found out that I was charged again. So, I called the hotel staff and they said they won't do that...the charge on my credit card was then canceled...however, a few days later I found out that the charge was put back on again. So, I am now in the middle of dealing with this...how terrible!!!the irony is that I am writing this in this hotel again because the other hotel that I wanted to stay was booked after a short trip outside of Shanghai.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Very quite room. Helpful staff.
Cons: Carpet needs replacement (not just cleaning).
Location: Not that many restaurants nearby. Ten minutes walk to the closest subway station (Lines 3 & 4).
Overall a reasonable place to stay, if the price is right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

The Rainbow Hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Cons: Get a proper taxi service
The Rainbow is close to Honquaio Airport and tran station and yet closeenough to down town. Check in is actually ok - the hotel a bit dated, but not bad at all for the money. I would definatly recommend it. The only negative is getting a Taxi - that can be a real pain and you will easily loose it with the people outside who do little to help. Better to walk down the road and hail one for yourself
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by traveler Duabi. from dubai

Visitor from Dubai

Posted Dec 8, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location in Puxi and to Hongqiao airpt

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Attentive n courteous staff, good location n reasonably priced although building is a bit old n worn out
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by will from south carolina usa

no wifi in rooms room smelled damp

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Cons: wi fi in rooms.
Location: beer bar!
room smelled damp and had to change rooms. service and breakfast was great. no wifi in rooms- but was in lobby. true inconvenience- in this day and age of technology every hotel should have wifi!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by June & Maria from Manila, Philippines

Great Business Hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2013
Pros: Nice location and clean.
Cons: Some rooms smell like cigarettes.
Location: Near shopping centers and business district
On our first time to stay in this hotel, we got a room in a Non-Smoking floor but it still smelled like cigarettes. The room is clean but a little old. On our second time to stay (which was 2 nights after), we got a better-maintained room and it did not smell like cigarettes at all. Breakfast food is standard, as it has both Chinese and Western choices. Location of the hotel is very good since it is very close to shopping centers. The lobby also has an Automated Machine for Foreign Exchange, which is very convenient for us foreigners. Overall, it's a very nice hotel for business trips and is good value for money.
2 out of 5
by Mike from San Diego, CA, USA

Trafic noise from window...

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: near park.
Cons: smell smoking in a non-smaking room.
Location: next to highway
The hotel is located next to highway. So you can hear trafiic noise from the hotel window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marge from Australia

well thought out hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2013
Pros: efficient and well thought out
Cons: the cost of the food in the restaurants
Location: location is ok, its not too far to the metro then you can go anywhere. if you want to be in the thick of things though then this might not be for you
this hotel I believe is part of a chain, we liked it here and they had thought of everything one could need for a stay, The room was comfortable and the English speaking staff were efficient and professional. The only let down was that the food here was expensive, I wouldn't really bother to eat here, and the coffee was exp too. The location isn't too bad, we found the train ok, but it is a bit of a hike, however taxis in Shanghai are cheap enough and the metro is fine once you walk there.