Ratings based on 1,706 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin tx

It was a construction nightmare

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Construction hell. The room smelled. Ac was a joke. The bathroom floor was oily. The bed was a sagging nightmare and the sheets felt like sand paper. Save your money and sleep in your car before wasting your money at the place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AustinTexas

See through wallto the bathroom

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Imagine our surprise to find out you could see into the bathroom the picture window wall had a shade you could roll down or privacy we were informed,asked clerk if all the rooms were like that,she replied it was. The room was very musty and had it no microwave in room, I booked it because the photos on the website looked appealing but this was decieving ,the pool and hot tub were full of leaves and not suitable for use. No mention of the constuction that was going on next door. We got in ,in the evening and were tired otherwise would have left. We were very disappointed not a 4 star hotel as advertised.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Casulo Staff, Hotel Management
We apologize for any inconvenience encountered during your stay. We appreciate your feedback,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Pleasant hotel with good accomodations

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Comfortable for the price. Friendly staff.
Cons: Quicker return of security deposit which is currently 1 to 8 days.
Location: South I-35 N in Austin, TX. Not far from 6th street. Nearby attractions include the State Capitol, The University of Texas, & Texas State Museum.
The hotel is located on South I-35 N in Austin, TX. It was a little difficult to get to due to road construction in the area but, was well worth the effort. The decor is Asian (Chinese) and offers a pleasant and comfortable atmosphere. Much work was done by the owners to decorate and make the entire place feel warm and pleasing to the eye. The room was clean and comfortable with no issues. The staff was very receptive to requests. Wi-Fi was available with good signal from the 3rd floor. Breakfast was good with a variety of choices including scrambled eggs. bacon, various breads, cold cereal, coffee/tea, and juice. Overall, a good choice for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Weird bathroom/bedroom set up...

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Nice big room. Had a king size bed. Too bad the sofa does not convert to a bed. Two TVs. Not a totally separate bedroom but there is a wall. The weird thing is the large window from the bedroom that lets you directly into the shower/bathtub. There is a pull down screen you can use but YOU CAN STILL SEE THROUGH IT. Not bad if you’re with your significant other. But.I.Wasn’t. Creepy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin texas

Cute hotel but needs work

Posted Sep 25, 2017
The location was great but the room was less than desirable. The room looked and smelled unclean. We had hair in our tub and urine on the toile bowl base. The bed and room smelled musty. The walls were dirty with splattering of some sort. The staff was nice but overworked and skeleton crew. This hotel has potential but until they get more staff and take note of the condition of their rooms, I would not stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix az

Stay away!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
If you stay here be prepared to leave disappointed and quite possibly ill from mold exposure! During my stay i had the "pleasure" of experiencing serveral rooms before i was finally settled into a room with 2 working light bulbs and mold growing from the walls:). It was the best they had and refused to give me a refund. My first room was ok but several bulbs were burnt out and unfortunately couldnt be changed until the following day which i agreed to but then in the middle of the night the ac broke in the room and i had to move. The next room also had broken light bulbs. (Like seriously how can 5 of of 7 bulbs be burnt out?). It also had a broken ac that had been replaced with a small window unit. Unfort not big enough for the room so it never shut off nor got below 74 but oh well. I could have handled some burnt out lights and less than ideal ac conditions but what was intolerable was the stench of mold that permeates the hotel. The staff tries to cover it with coconut airfresheners and heavy duty chemical to no avail, I thought maybe I was making it up till i saw the massive amount of water damage to the walls that they attempted to patch Its an entire shame, one could tell it was a beautiful hotel at one time but noone has taken care of it and clearly noone takes pride At check out i again complained to the front desk staff and got a "wow im sorry" but nothing else. The 'manager' sitting there didnt even look up from making copies, she could care less she had my $
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort worth, tx

Unique

Posted Sep 15, 2017
I loved this hotel. The decor, furnishings, and fixtures were very unique. Nice and modern with an amazing bath area. There weren't many guests at this hotel, and that is a shame because the value and comfort couldn't be surpassed. There are some negatives which the general public may not like i.e. the Bar area and road construction out front. They lack room service and other minute details, but that doesn't diminish the quality of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by Halle

Don't recommend

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself was in a nice place and area of town. However, the hotel seemed in a falling apart state, there was a smell that was strong (similar to a hospital smell), the shower didn't look like it was cleaned properly, and we had trouble getting into the room with the key every time we tried. Skip the complimentary breakfast unless you are just getting cereal because it sits in warmers for four hours+. Only recommend this location if you are staying one night on the road, and even though I recommend the Best Western down the street. Very disappointed.
3 out of 5
by abner

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin,Texas

Gross

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Came into a open room and had wet floors and the counter does were still dirty from the last clients. The hotel is under construction and was all over the place