Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Location: tons of restaurants nearby
Really great shower and bed. AC worked well and loud toilet and bath fan and light are integrated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clarksville, tn

Great for staying in a busy exciting area

Posted Jun 2, 2017
We came for the tourist attractions, like the arch and the zoo and the gardens. The room was fine. Reflexively clean though we had to ask for soap and whoever stayed there previously had a lot of hair that we kept finding everywhere. Breakfast was what you would expect. Fine not fancy. Typical Holiday Inn. Location was great though. Whole foods was right begins us. Lots of restaurants and night life. We had a sick boy and ordered delivery from a local pub and it was great. My husband was able to get some beer from whole foods and we were set.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Good location--mediocre hotel

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The location is great.
Cons: The rooms are barely furnished and only minimally clean.
Location: This is in a rapidly changing area of St. Louis and near many attractions and high rent hotels and apartments. It feels out of place.
The hotel seemed half-finished. The decor was strangely incomplete, and the rooms were odd sized and half furnished. Our toilet seat was broken and the coffee maker didn't work. With a location in a rapidly improving area (next to a Whole Foods) this hotel could and should be a lot better in every respect. Very disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 17, 2017
The carpet was very dirty and the shower curtain was gross. (no tub) The security door to the outside was supposed to be locked but was not. Parking was an extra $10, which I did not know about. The breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and accommodating, but the facility was not very nice. The rooms were not very soundproof so it was easy to hear televisions, people and alarms. I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola, FL

Nice dog friendly hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Extremely spacious room, really quiet, and peaceful, with no excess noise to startle my two little terriers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I was a little scattered-brained when I arrived and a couple of other times, but the staff remained kind, patient, and respectful. I enjoy people, and they responded in kind. The hotel is well situated and getting to restaurants was easy. The area was a nice mix of old and new, so my walks were filled with wonder.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: It offered a contintental breakfast, it had information on sightseeing trips, close to the St Louis chess center
Cons: The room could be improved bathroom was too small, only one chair in the room, TV needs to be fixed for obtaining all of the availibile channels.
Location: Location is great if you like the central west end, shopping, restaurants, chess club for playing chess.
Nice hotel close to restaurants, bars, public transportation. The room did not have a chair and ottaman for 2 days, and the T.V. in the room did not get all the channels that was listed on the hotel card.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything was way below expectation.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The front desk staff was nice.
Cons: Everything....room size, housekeeping, door entry cards
Location: The arch was closed and there isn't anything else to do. The choice of bars and food was great along euclid...great for walking distance
The bathroom was WAAAAY to small. As i sat on the toilet i could've turned the shower on and washed my hands in the sink at the same time. I practically had to dislocate my arm to get to the toilet paper since it was so far behind the toilet. One day the housekeeping staff did a a terrible job, simply covered the messed up sheets with the duvet cover and never cleaned the bathroom or replaced my towels. My door was card inoperable several times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Jana A, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express for you recent stay. I would like to take this chance to apologize for the housekeeping and key card issues you faced during your stay, which led to an unpleasurable experience. On the other hand, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and close proximity to numerous restaurants. Please know your comments will be taken seriously, and we look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Jana A Assistant General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Close to Forest Park

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The location of the hotel was good for us.
Cons: Cleanliness and updates! Bathrooms need to be redesigned.
Location: Forest Park and Washington University in St. Louis is nearby.
Very disappointed in the overall condition of this hotel. It had an unpleasant smell and atmosphere. The ice machine did not work on our floor. The shower was very small in width and height and the showered wasn't over 5 1/2 ft tall. The ceiling was low over the sink area and we bumped our head. They charged us more for parking than what our reservation said it would be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Good location. Poor hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Hotel wasn't clean. Wifi was horribly skow and had connectivity issues. Tv was damaged. Etc. overall crappy hotel in good location.