Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by STEVE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rachael from London

Relaxing break

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
We had an excellent week's stay at this hotel. The quality of the accommodation was good, the architectural design of the hotel is particularly impressive. We chose to book full board and particularly enjoyed the healthy selection of food on offer at lunchtimes. We enjoyed the relaxed feel of the resort and the modern and comfortable facilities. We appreciated the 'low key' entertainment in the evening - this was very tasteful, comprising of a piano soloist. He was excellent, it created just the right atmosphere in the evenings to relax and enjoy a cocktail! A few things to note - there is not much in the local vicinity, this wasn't a problem for us as we were there for the relaxation. There are only 2 small bottles of water included during your stay - we helped ourselves to the daily restocked water in the minibar only to find the full quantity on our bill at checkout....... Wifi coverage in certain areas of the resort is a little sporadic. Finally, there was no information about the resort in the room - it would have been good to know about the spa offerings, activities, meal times etc without having to ask every time! Overall - a great holiday and would recommend the Capovaticano
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

One week's stay in June.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: All said above.
Cons: Clearer directions. Better catering.
Location: Done above.
Great hotel with super pool and beach setting. Worth having a room with sea views as the sunsets and views of Stromboli and Lipari are not to be missed. Room was large and very comfortable and fitted with all the usual amenities. The maid service was excellent and bed linen changed very regularly. Good safety cover at the beach and pool for unsupervised swimmers or emergencies. If anything was below par it was the restaurant. The choice of food for all meals was more varied than anyone needed . It was self-service which again was ok but I would have liked to have had the choice of an al a carte restaurant that was more private and deserved by the rating of the hotel in general.. The existing area for meals was fine for breakfast but pretty ordinary for supper. The area was tight so the coming and goings of people helping themselves meant that it was far too push and shove. If you don't have children with you then those there can be annoying when the kids club has not taken them in. I did enjoy the poolside lunchtime restaurant. The food was good as was the service and menu choice at reasonable prices. Hotel a little cut off but trips to Tropea were daily and worth going. Coast around Capovaticano was super. Good place to try out your Italian. Not like Sorrento where English is the norm.
5 out of 5
by Jen from Vegas

Outstanding!

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to this area. It is new and so beautiful. It is also very quite as it's off the beaten path. I do recommend getting a car though as if you want to explore the area you will need one. The breakfast and dinner included in the room is well worth it as the food is incredible and there are many choices. Totally impressed with this place!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from albania

Bellissimo resort e mare fantastico,ma solo questo

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Il mare della calabria è stupendo e il resort e molto bello e pulito. Deve esserci piu ampia scelta per la cena e sicuramente il intrattenimento per le sere se no ci si annoia. E non si può andare in piscina dopo le 9 30, ce chi si svegliaprima e deve aspettare in camera fino all apertura.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Düsseldorf / Germany

Modern luxury hotel with own beach

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: View , own sand beach
Cons: Slow wifi, slow service in restaurant
Location: Tropea at the evening
Own sand beach with free umbrellas, sunbeds and towels. Dream view with romantic sunsets and view to Stromboli island. The road to the hotel is narrow and curvey due to the hotel location about 10 Km from Tropea in a still natural aria. The hotel is modern and new. It has free parkinglots. The reception crew is very polite and friendly. The room is spacious, modern , clean with a wide window/door to the own Terrasse with garden , pool and a wonderful sea view. The bed ist comfortable. Free but slow wifi. No coffee machine available. The air conditioner is very good. A safe is available. The bathroom is modern and nice. It has a WC, Bidet and an open walk in shower. The room and bathroom was cleaned twice a day and the towels changed also if required. The pool is a sea water pool , it is clean and pleasant. The breakfast buffet is for Italian relations quite rich with fresh fruits , different croissants and bred, but only one kind of cheese and to kinds of bacon. The personnel is a little bit slow to get the coffee order but the cappuccino is delicious as well as the fresh pressed orange juice. The dinner buffet ist typical Italian with a variety of appetizers and main dishes , but a very delicious desserts an ice cream. Water, wine or beer will cost extra charge. All in all it is a very recommendable good luxury hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from j, albania

Bella struttura ma non ci tornerò più

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Una struttura molto bella e un mare fantastico ma bisogna andarci in coppia, se ci vai con i figli costa tantissimo e offre pochissimo. Un bambino, più di 2 anni, paga come metà adulto anche se dorme nel letto dei genitori e per loro non è previsto nessun cibo adatto alla loro età, ho provato ad ordinare alla reception un passato di verdure ma quando siamo andati per cenare c'era soltanto quella fatta per tutti e su 4 giorni che noi abbiamo soggiornato, soltanto una volta è stata adatta ai lori gusti, e dopo questa c'era niente piu, neanche le pattatine fritte o la pasta adatta a loro, al massimo potevi avere la pasta in bianco su richiesta e soltanto il tipo di pasta prevista per gli adulti. La colazione e la cena(se hai la mezza pensione) sono buone, c'è scelta (più la cena che la colazione) ma durante le sere il hotel offre niente per quanto riguarda l'intrattenimento, ne musica ne niente e diventa noioso stare più di 3 o 4 giorni. Per concludere, l'hotel è molto bello e pullito e il mare è stupendo ma i servizi sono non al altezza del prezzo ed io e la mia famiglia di sicuro non ci ritorneremo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wunderschöne Anlage in sehr ruhiger Lage

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Nettes Personal, Essen ok, Sauberkeit top, Auto erforderlich, Strand schön u heller Sand, Pool schön gross (Salzwasser), tolle Spaangebote (kostet extra), Personal passt nicht ganz zum Hotelstandard ist aber freundlich, Zimmer angenehm gross, Badezimmer schön u modern
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by DM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about your stay and for your suggestions. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again here at Capovaticano Resort Thalasso & Spa MGallery by Sofitel very soon. Best Regards, The Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milano

Location fantastica

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Spiaggia, piscina, giardino, posizione
Cons: Qualità del cibo migliorabile
Location: Hotel isolato, necessita auto per muoversi. Immancabile gita nei dintorni in particolare a Tropea e Pizzo.
La posizione è fantastica, davanti ad una spiaggia di sabbia, mare cristallino. Piscina e tutto l'ambiente esterno incantevole. Stanza ampia e confortevole, pulizia ottima. Spazi comuni molto spaziosi, parcheggio coperto. Dispone di spa a pagamento, bella e attrezzata. Cibo molto abbondante sia a colazione che a cena. Tutto self service, cucina non molto raffinata ma l'ampia scelta sopperisce ad alcune carenze qualitative. Personale gentile e simpatico. Assolutamente consigliabile per una vacanza di completo relax.