Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thermal, CA

Gorgeous view, hotel needs a complete remodel.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: The amazing view, and the wonderful staff.
Cons: The entire hotel itself.
Location: Downtown is a few minute cab ride away. Walking distance to Las Gatas beach. Great location!
The view from the rooms, the lobby,the bar, and the restaurant are incredible! Truly a beautiful bay. The staff is wonderful, and the breakfast is very good. However, the entire hotel needs a complete remodel. The beds are so hard it is literally impossible to sleep on them. New towels are direly needed and the rooms also need to be torn down and completely rebuilt. There was no wi-fi in the room we stayed in although it was advertised that there would be. We originally booked for a week, but because it was impossible to sleep on the beds we had to check out after three nights. Again, views are amazing as well as location and staff, but actual hotel gets a one star.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Clean, but beds and pillows were uncomfortable.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The staff was polite, the views are beautiful, the beach is in a great location to other hotels that are easily accessible if you're venturing out.
Cons: New towels for all rooms, not just the newly updated ones, and new towels for the pool and beach. New pillows that are actually soft.
Location: We had friends staying at Embarc and the Viceroy, so this hotel is right in the middle which made it easy to get to when we were meeting up.
Our first night we stayed in a king size bed room up top by the lobby. The room was beautiful and had a fantastic view. We had to be moved to a different room because we had 2 other people staying with us for a portion of our stay. The room was not as nice, stiff mattresses and flat pillows, older decor, and the view was not as good. The only good part in staying in this room (2 queen beds) was it was closer to the restaurant, pool and beach, which meant fewer stairs. This hotel has an insane amount of stairs. If you're out of shape plan to take extra time to go to the lobby to catch a cab. Or just walk along the beach to another hotel that's at street level. The breakfast was very good, the fresh squeezed orange juice was great and I looked forward to it each time. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel needs new towels in the rooms and for the pool and beach. The towels were nice and thick and fluffy in the nice king size bed room we started in, but the 2 double bed room had towels so thin it was like burlap. Most of the pool towels were fraying along the edges. The grounds were nice and the hotel has an old Mexican style charm to it.
5 out of 5
by Katharine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Good location

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The service and the view are the stars of this resort.
Cons: This resort shows its age in many spots.
Location: Zihua is a great place to encounter Mexican hospitality.
Catalina is an old resort and in some places the patina is very evident. The Linda vista suites are updated and very nice. The other rooms which seem to be part of the original resort are nice but it is evident they're from another era. For what it lacks in aesthetics, the staff more than makes up for this flaw. If you have trouble with stairs, this may not be the place for you. There are over 200 stairs from the reception lobby to the beach. Rooms are all between the lobby and the beach so you are guaranteed to be getting in a few hundred stairs daily.
3 out of 5
by Stephen

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful view. First night we stayed we were locked out at the beach as they close gates leading to your room from the beach. We were told there was a notice to this effect but we never did see this. You have to go around a couple of buildings and up a hill to get back to the resort. About a 15 to 20 minute walk. We were then told the gates close at 11 pm so we came back another evening earlier than this and they were closed again. The hotel is in a nice setting but has seen better days , though they are renovating it bit by bit. Staff was nice and friendly. Great location on la rope beach. It is a hotel you have to be up and down stairs constantly if you are moving between the lobby , restaurant and beach. It is how it is situated. Overall it was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great older classic Mexican hotel with great beach

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Staff, location to beach, location to town, and other facilities.
Cons: The bed mattresses were very hard.
Location: Lots of beach front facilities near by. Also, taxis to town were reasonable, about $2.50 USA. Town I a great place to visit, with good opportuinties
We stayed for a week and would liked to have stayed longer. The hotel is older, but very clean, with great beach access. The beach is very clean, with few not too intrusive hawkers. The hotel has a great restaurant with very friendly staff and good value. Breakfest, included in the price, was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

And they need an elevator to go down to beach area

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel needs a complete renovation!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very good clean, nice staff, courteous
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good restaurant but beds lack in comfort.

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful location with a lovely tropical setting but for simple tastes. We stayed in the high end suite and the beds were extremely uncomfortable and the air conditioner loud. The restaurant was wonderful and I would recommend the seafood dishes. They were also accommodating to our special dietary needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Best Esthetic Experience in Mexico

Posted Oct 3, 2016
This was my third stay and as fantastic as ever. Quaint, tropical jungle setting with white sand beach. This is authentic Mexico with a world class view and location, not the "Hilton".. The rooms are 1950 era but well maintained and like new. Staff is excellent. If you want an "American style setting" stay in Ixtapa. If you want real Mexico, stay at the Catalina. Be aware the property is built on a hillside with long steps, if you are not in reasonable health, don't stay here. The Catalina is a rare find and most people visit again and again....