Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We loved this hotel!

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Yes, there was a lot of stairs to climb down to get there, but it's Positano. It's exprected. The owners were very nice and accomidating, allowing us to check in late because our plane was arriving late. The room was comfortable and very nicely decorated. They came in each day to clean while we were relaxing on the beach that was 100 steps away. We loved Dolce Vita and would definately stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a simple hotel but it's good for the price the room was very large and had a cute little balcony with a beautiful view over the beach -if you stay at this hotel make sure you take the boat in, otherwise you will have to climb down a million steps. The location is a short, gorgeous, 5 minute winding walk through cliffs to town - much better to stay in this quiet part than with the area loaded with tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ash

Amazing hotel in beautiful location

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Yes there are stairs to reach the hotel but its well worth it once you arrival to the view. Maryse was so welcoming and have us a beer for our efforts!! She even upgraded our room which was lovely to a bigger suite with a balcony. Breakfast was enjoyable on the terrace and it was a short 1 min walk to the beach or 5 mins round to the main town of positano. Very enjoyable and relaxing stay!! Thanks maryse
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Views

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Amazing beach front water views from the balcony! And getting to the actual beach was only a 2 minute walk which was convenient. Only issue was actually getting to the hotel from the main road and walking down over 5 hundred steps with 2 big luggages was not convenient, but this is expected in positano due to its location. Cleanliness of the room was abit disappointing. Quality of service was not great, our stay would of been amazing if the service was there.Organisation of a porter is difficult and ensure you organise your own transfers to the airport etc as it was difficult to try and organise through the hotel. Overall if you want amazing views then you can sacrifice the quality of service for the beautiful beach front views.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay....

Posted Aug 13, 2013
We were a family of 3, and visited La Dolce Vita in late July. I had read about this place on TripAdvisor and although it met our needs and we enjoyed ourselves, we felt the couple who run/own the place were standoffish. The breakfast was silly and the lady who made our coffee (the owner) seemed to be inconvenienced by our request for a coffee. When we'd ask for help (example... how to get a water taxi), we were basically ignored. The place is very basic but quite clean, and that's all we were looking for. If that's all you need, this isn't the worst place because it's fairly close to the beach (by Positano standards!). The walk into town isn't too bad, so there's that. I'm not sure I'd recommend this place to a friend though. Spend a couple more $$s and be in town... that's my recommendation. The attitude of the owners took away from the quaintness that perhaps this place could offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ericafrom London, UK

Lovely hotel, lovely hosts!

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Our 2-night stay at La Dolce Vita was the highlight of our week-long holiday in Italy (stairs and all). Maryse and Vincenzo are lovely hosts. Can't wait until we have the opportunity to visit again. The only thing I will change on our next visit is that we will stay more than 2 nights!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close To The Beach And Town

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Nearness to the beach and town
The hotel is located just above the steps to Fornillo Beach and there is a lovely walk in to the town through beautiful foliage, a waterfall and a gorgeous view of the sea. (Comments regarding the stairs are obviously from visitors whom have never been to Positano! It's part of the intrinsic beauty of the place and makes one feel a little better for any over indulgences! That being said, traveling light to Positano is recommended.) Maryse and Vincenzo were lovely hosts and for those that prefer a more quiet place to return to at the end of the day, this is the prefect location. The bottom floor with 3 rooms is perfect for families or groups of friends traveling together. Great value/ B&B Style. Will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tomfrom Australia

Great location great service

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by miriamfrom canada

nice if you like stairs

Posted May 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I were staying here for our honeymoon. The lady who runs the place is nice but it is not convenient like a hotel. We had to walk down like 300 stairs to get to the place and when we arrived she was not home. Lucky for us she was just at the beach and came about 15 minutes of us waiting. This location is on the smaller beach about 15 minutes from the main area in positano. No option to take a cab... the veiw from the terrace was amazing and breakfast was good. but you have to walk a lot to get to and from this hotel. its clean. but i would stay at the main beach in positano instead.