Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ellen from SF, CA

Always fun to stay in a Castle

Posted Jun 12, 2014
The grounds and the common rooms are lovely and the food is good. The rooms themselves are fine, but no different than any other hotel (this might be different for rooms in the original part of the building, but they weren't available when we booked, so I don't know). Exploring the island and the loch was great and it is very picturesque. A lovely stay and a good base to explore Tarbert. We stayed in two room as we have two kids. it would be nice if they had family rooms or rooms with connecting doors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mandy from Peterhead, NE Scotland

Beautiful castle with stunning views.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Really loved our stay here. Although our room was a bit 'tired' in terms of decor the bed was clean, modern and comfortable. And we were staying in a castle! Our welcome tour by the lovely receptionist - Kendall - was a very personal touch. Can't wait to stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by petrajane79 from Glasgow

Birthday Treat! :0)

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The highlight for me was my birthday dinner-- the restaurant has a panoramic view of the Loch which is absolutely stunning!
Cons: The only thing I noticed was that the room I was in, the bathroom could do with refurbishment and modernising.
Location: This little gem is nested up on a little hill over-looking Loch Fyne not too far from Port Tarbert, Argyll & Bute, Scotland.
My partner and I spent a night at Stonefield Castle Hotel as a birthday treat and what a little gem of a treat it was! The location, the quaintness of the mini Castle itself, the stunning setting and views and the staff and service was great too! The highlight for me was my birthday dinner-- the restaurant has a panoramic view of Loch Fyne which is absolutely stunning! I would definitely recommend this little gem of a hotel to anyone looking for a special little treat and would even go back sometime myself :0)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jo from Argyll

Welcoming, tranquil and very relaxing.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The bathroom in our room in the modern (70's) extension was slightly tired, but was perfectly serviceable with no specific faults.
Location: Lovely setting and beautiful grounds with plenty of small local towns within easy reach.
Greeted warmly by the reception staff, shown to our room which was warm and comfortable, and had an excellent meal in the bar. There is a great choice of places to sit and relax. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious and had panoramic views over the loch. Overall a great stay and very good value for money too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by CrowleRob

Convenient, well priced and lovely food.

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Arrived in the evening after driving for many hours. Hotel was very welcoming. Had excellent meal in the restaurant before sampling a couple of whiskeys from the well stocked bar. Breakfast also excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by sm

Like a king

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Gorgeous place, great nature around, good food, nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracy from Chicago

Great Castle to stay at in Scotland!

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: everything!
Location: We stayed here 1 night before the ferry to Islay. It's about a 20-30 minute drive to the ferry location.
Stonefield Castle Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. It is very secluded and has lovely scenery. There are hiking trails to take that you can get great views of the castle and lake. The shared space on the 1st floor is comfortable. And they added a dining room with huge windows and great views!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kathryn from Toronto, ON, Canada

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: Hotel room and service was excellent.
Cons: Internet access is intermittent
Location: A great base for exploring the Kintyre pennisula and the archaeological ruins of Kilmartin Glen.
This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. Service was excellent including the front desk, restaurant and pub. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Food from both the restaurant and the pub was delicious (we had 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners in the hotel). Internet was often difficult to access likely because of the stone walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Doug from Australia

Unique and friendly

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately we couldn't stay longer as we used the "hotel" as a convenient night stay before taking the early ferry to Islay. This place is a real gem. Really classy. We found the staff were very friendly and flexible.