Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Great Place between Baltimore and Washington

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: size of the double queen rooms
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby and we rented a car to get around.
Needed a place for a few days to do things in both Baltimore and DC. This was a great choice. Rooms were clean, staff was very helpful regarding taking the train to DC to the Mall. Breakfast included was sufficient and saved time. Good restaurants around the area, especially "The Bottom of the Bay" where we had a dozen or so fresh crabs. Kinda divey, but awesome staff and food. The hotel shuttled us to and from the train station too. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Wheaton, IL

Staff was great, location great, internet slow

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Internet has always been shaky and slow. I stay here often because it is close to family but the internet is too slow to use for business.
The staff was great, rooms clean and comfortable but the internet access is slow. So it was hard trying to get work done. As for overall comfort it is very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel. Conveniently located.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
This hotel was awesome. 30 minutes from Baltimore and Washington D.C. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. My kids loved the free breakfast and the complimentary shuttle service to the metrorail was great. I will be staying here again the next time I visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Clean, but disappointing

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Clean room, good breakfast
Cons: better pool hours, towels for the pool, sound proof room doors, more comfortable beds
Location: Great location with multiple restaurants nearby.
If you want a hotel with a clean room and a good breakfast for a decent price for one night, this hotel will work. If you are looking for a good place to spend several days to relax, I would not recommend it. I brought my family to the Baltimore, DC area and needed a hotel that would allow 6 people in a single room. This hotel allowed that and so I was happy for the price that I reserved the room for. When we arrived, the hotel was clean and the room was pleasing to the eye. What we did not expect was that the pool is only open from 4pm till 10pm. I had planned on my children swimming in the pool while I took care of some business, and because of these hours they were unable to do so. I would have booked a different hotel had I known. Also, when the pool was actually open, there were no towels in the pool area. One of the workers actually gave me a dirty look at the front desk as I stood there dripping on the floor requesting towels for my family. Also, they gave us the room across from the elevator which would not have been too bad had the door to the room been even slightly soundproof. All night long I heard the dinging of the elevator and the opening and closing of doors. There was also no "do not disturb" sign to hang on the door, so both mornings the maid either knocked(waking us up) or just opened the door to the room. I like Holiday Inns, but this was not a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by Kasthelin, Hotel Management
Dear Heath, I would liket o first thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your recent stay at HIE. Your feedback is important to us as we strive to exceed all our guests' expectations everyday. I am happy to hear that your found our rooms to be cleaned as we take pride in cleaning our rooms at the highest standards. I regret to hear that you found our pool and front desk service to be disappointing. Unfortunately as we are required by law to have a life guard on duty at all times, those are the only hours our life guard is available to work throughout the week. I have brought your concern to our management team who might consider extending pool hours in the summer to accommodate our furture guests. As for the front desk service, it is not like us to provide unprofessional service at the desk as we work hard to accommodate all of our guests' needs. I have shared your concerns about housekeeping with the housekeeping department as well as they will take the proper measures to address the issues you mentioned. Once again, I apologize for all the inconveviences you and your family may have experienced during your stay with us. I deeply appreciate your review as it helps us to idenfity the areas we are doing well and areas we need to improve. Sincerely, Sara
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

No Internet

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Internet was failing and all quests complained about it? The solution was to the business center, plug in you computer and call the WIF provider of the hotel. Then they were appointing the connection details. Come on this is 2014, when all guest have problems and no-one can log-on than the staff should take measurements.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Kasthelin, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Richard, Thank you for taking the time our of your busy schedule to give us your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry to hear that you experienced issues with our wifi during your stay and I apologize for any inconveniences this may had caused you. This concern was promptly brought to the managers' attention and our network company was able to come in to correct the problem, and the internet has been working better than ever. Thank you again for your feedback Mr. Richard as it is very important to us. Sincerely, Sara
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel short drive to Baltimore

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Hotel room very spacious. King size bed comfortable & extra couch in room was nice. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Josh' from Manchester N.H.

Busy weekend on D.C

Posted Jul 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I like my room with extra comfort, nice Breakfast service, overall I like to stay again in this Hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a positive review on Hotels.com and choosing to stay with us. We are humbled by your comments and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Laurel Lakes. We take pride in providing exception service to all our guests and I hope we can have the honor of serving you again. Please come back and visit us soon! Sincerely, Sara
3 out of 5
Recommended
by PJ from LAUREL, MD

Location

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Upon checkin was sent to a room that was not yet cleaned and door propped open. Was given an upgrade when I returned to front desk. Upgrade looked like all previous rooms at HIE. Higher floor considered an upgrade. Go figure.HIE are great but I would pick another location in the future. Local area is a bit suspect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by White Family from Florida

Family affordable!!

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was an amazing deal for the price. Great for families! The breakfast buffet was great everyday. There was something for every one of my picky eaters! When we arrived the lady at the front desk was short but the other days Enan more than made up for it on the other days! The life gaurd at the pool was very nice as well. The hotel was about 20 min away all the DC action.