Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

4 star rating very misleading, bring extra cash

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: There was a nice view of the sea in the rear area of the hotel.
Cons: Active staff who spoke at least a bit of english, toiletries, basic free cleaning products, more towels and more features to justify 4 star rating.
Location: The hotel is near marbella beach but is quite a distance (30 minute walk) from the main beach and city centre, away from restaurants and attractions.
I stayed in a studio which I found to be quite basic. The hotel charged me extra for everything! The main phone in the reception wasn't working so i had to have the phone in my room activated which cost me 5 euros for the pleasure. Activating WiFi cost an additional 15 euros for my stay, and they even charged 7 euros for a cleaning kit, which included basics like washing up liquid. There were no features in my room to indicate that this was a 4 star hotel. Bathroom had no toiletries or sanitary products just 3 towels. Staff in reception went home after 5pm, so in the evening there was nobody to notify if you were experiencing a problem. As staff closed the doors to the hotel after leaving, I had to climb through the back of the Hotel on several occasions after forgetting the code for the front door. None of the staff spoke english which was quite surprising, I am bilingual so I could manage but my friends found it incredible difficult. I think the hotel is geared towards french visitors, than foreigners. As the Hotel was in an isolated part of Biarritz, I had to walk 25 mins to town every day for lunch or dinner as there were no restaurants around the hotel. On departure I was asked to clean my room, empty out bins and take out the bed linen, or be charged up to 40 euros. After all the additional charges, constant walks for basics and lack of service, i would have been better off joining my friends in the 2 star hotel in town, which had soap and daily cleaners.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mattfrom San Diego

Old and not a hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Residence and hotel Eugenie is not a hotel but a residence. There is no amenities in the room. Only a few small towels. Only one trash bag and no cleaning service that I was aware of. The place is old and since the weather was cold in July it felt damp. In addition even though hotels.com says paid in full when you are checking they charge you for city taxes which is in the fine print
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: The number 10 bus stops outside the hotel and goes straight to the train station
Cons: You are expected to clean everything before you leave but they don't provide any cleaning materials!
Location: The location is very good. It's easy to walk into the town centre - a very pleasant walk
Unfortunately the toilet is downstairs which is a nuisance
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sharonfrom Gosport

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were very pleased with the hotel. The reception staff were very helpful.On arrival I discovered I had mislaid my necklace and the receptionists made several phone calls for me to locate its whereabouts. They were as pleased as I was when they discovered where it was!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by sergey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by NZ Boarderfrom NZ

Could not be happier with the service.

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We checked in quite late and pretty much crashed straight away, woke up in the morning to a funny smell. Biarritz had had a lot of rain and there was a distinct smell of mold. The hotel manager was AWESOME about it, very apologetic and totally sorted us out with a great room above the grade we paid for because of the inconvenience. The staff have been so good we decided to stay another week. Big thanks to everyone at Maeva Eugenie you made our stay fantastic! P.S. if your coming for the surf this hotel is a great location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Taghairmfrom Australia

Great place to rest after a long flight

Posted May 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had flown from Australia via Paris and arrived after dark to find a lovely comfortable room, warm despite the snow, clean and with excellent facilities. The fold-out bed was a bit hard but the kitchen (we like to cook for ourselves) was excellent. We even booked another night to really rest before starting our walk on the Camino.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura

Nice hotel but fairly basic

Posted Jul 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel is OK. Rooms are pretty small, our bedroom had no space for nightstands, and only very tiny windows. The kitchenette is good, but would be nice if they left cleaning cloths and washing up liquid. Pool area is nice, lovely view. Could use more sun loungers. No direct route to beach, which isn't obvious from the hotel site, you have to walk a bit. The part about all rooms having sea or pool view isn't accurate either. We had view from our patio (at an angle) but no view from inside the room. Being a French hotel you also don't get any cleaning during your stay - we stayed almost 2 weeks and only got 1 change of towels/sheets (which you change yourself).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom cork

maeva eugenie-great value for money

Posted Jun 9, 2010 on Hotels.com
nice hotel, well equipped room and kitchenette, clean, great view, nice swimming pool, very close to beach, the staff at check in were very friendly and helpful with good english, the staff at check out weren't as friendly, good value for money overall, i would recommend this hotel but advise to make sure that you carry out the inventory at check in carefully incase there is something missing at checkout which was not in the room at check in as you will get charged for this but it is important to note that the fees for such items are very reasonable and itemised in a handy booklet about the hotel and facilities that is supplied at check in.