Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vaughn from Denver CO

Nice place- but issues.

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall I think it was a good deal, for a no frills hotel, was clean and comfortable, not many amenities. The safe in the room didn't work and they didn't seem to care to fix it, it wasn't even big enough to put a full size lap top in so kind of useless. The Bathroom floors were very slick and dangerous, fell in the shower numerous times, understand they don't have the same safety considerations as in the US. The are is nice, kind of noisy, but Bogota is not a quiet town. The free breakfast was very nice, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed oj, coffee, toast and eggs, one of the tastiest free breakfasts I have had. The staff was nice but didn't speak much English but it all worked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quiet Neighbourhood

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Book is a beautifully restored brick building nestled in a quiet neighbourhood. Our room was clean and bright with a modern bathroom. Shower had plenty of hot water and there was a comfy duvet to snuggle under for the cooler nights. Breakfast was basic but good. The staff were friendly and we felt that although our stay here was a little mode expensive than our regular budget, that we still received good value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nicole from Eugene

Quiet, great location

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect location- right off la septima but still nice and quiet, between downtown touristy spots and the great restaurants and shops further up in chapinero and zona T. Staff is very nice and breakfast was tasty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Cuenca

Nice hotel for the money.

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Locaction.
Cons: Open the bar, better breakfast, quiet the dog.
Location: Not much in the immediate vicinity to do. Need to take a taxi or bus to most sights. National museum is within walking distance.
Overall this is a very good hotel for the money. It is centrally located so you can get to the historic district and also Zona Rosa by taxi or bus. One night a dog was barking and kept me up otherwise it was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was mediocre and I opted for eating at another restaurant after the first two days. The bar was closed (they don't have one, but you could buy a beer from the front desk. They ran out of bottled water for a couple of days. So you get what you pay for. All in all for the money I would return.
2 out of 5
by Gerardo from bogota

Hot water takes 15 min to get warm

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Hot water takes 15 min to get warm, WC don't flush I was changed twice from room because of that, rooms have a not nice smell. Design of the shower is terrible. If you turn off the light the outlet get without power, so you can't charge your phone you have to unplug the lamp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

A sweet quiet place for an I dependent traveler.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Book hotel is in a large old building, that has had a modern renovation. Everything is nice and clean and peaceful about the place. The architect for the renovation made it look nice but missed a few things -there are glass doors that slam in the wind,,rough edges to the tiles in the shower, and loads of little steps throughout the space. The staff were very kind. I spoke minimal Spanish and we could communicate perfectly (they let me practice my bad Spanish!). This is not a tourist hotel, they called cabs but did not provide advice on tours, museums, etc. The neighborhood is lovely, there was a tapas bar and restrau t (min mal) that were both excellent. The area was peaceful for short walks, and a five US$ cab to the north or candeleria. Breakfast was eggs, fruit, and juice. Simple.but good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Brett from Washington, DC

Great value hotel.

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms were clean, staff were pleasant. Beware street noise if you're situated along the front of the hotel. Windows were thin so noise from cars as well as nearby park were a bit loud for us until we were able to move to the back of the hotel. Beds were a little hard for our preference, but was not an issue. Staff were friendly and accommodating to our requests, even helped us make dinner reservations on a couple of occasions. Overall was a cute hotel and fine for the value, though not as close in proximity to shops and sites as we had hoped. Complimentary breakfast was a nice bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Antigone from Houston

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved this hotel! It's a small boutique hotel but the rooms are spacious. I shared a room with two friends and our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean! The hotel serves free breakfast, which we took advantage of during our stay. You get a choice of juice, coffee, eggs, fruit, and bread. The coffee was amazing. Another feature that I was impressed with was the shower. The water pressure was great. There are stores and restaurants conveniently located near the hotel. Getting a taxi was no trouble. In addition, the hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating. I will definitely return to the Book Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Pablo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frank from Los Angeles, CA

Very Enjoyable Stay

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent. There were several small cafes and shops within blocks of the hotel. Neighborhood was very nice and quiet.
Cons: The rooms get stuffy. Only one window allowed for fresh air. The room needed a ceiling fan or AC. The bathroom needs shelves or tables.
Location: Local nightlife and bus lines were quick walking distance from hotel. Neighborhood felt very safe.
A surprisingly enjoyable stay. The staff was extremely nice, always near by and helpful. The room was large enough for 4 adults, but storage space was lacking. Loved the ambience of the wooden staircase and floors.