Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This not hotel, but a motel.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: I do not like.
The facilities are very old. The room is not quiet, because the walls are not insulated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from Seattle

Perfect Location!!!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Location and awesome historic building.
Cons: There is clearly no way to "improve" the bathroom situation or the creaky floors (historic!) and really not that big of a deal.
Location: The public gardens and commons are just up the block - there you can find the freedom trail. There is great food and cute boutique shopping nearby too
Came to Boston during a terrible snow storm, so being close to everything was very handy. You really couldn't ask for a better location. Close to the Commons, close to Newbury St., close to the T. The building has character (yes, it is old and the room is small - but really, that is the charm!) I loved the history of the place. Having a detached shared bathroom is a draw back, but very much worth it and you can't beat the price when you consider the neighborhood you are in. The on hand attendant was very helpful, both via email beforehand and during my stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well situated

Posted Feb 11, 2014
The room was beautiful and spacious and I would definitely stay again, for the price it was a great value. We had a room with a large king sized bed and some quaint areas for sitting or to work at, also had our own bathroom which was decorated beautifully and keeping with the era of the architecture. A very quiet place, so if you tend to be noisy and are in town for the party, this would not be the accommodations for you. Close to all kinds of amenities along trendy newbury street, and the T station is just up the street. A simple assortment of breads and hard boiled eggs as well as tea, coffee and juice etc are available in the morning to get you on your way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by accendare from Italy

relaxing stay in boston

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: great old boston building in good central location.
Cons: the bathroom had an ajoining room, with second door. the bath door to this room should have a lock.
Location: back bay, newbury st restaurants, close to the subway.
ths is the type of place if one is looking for a calm stay in a very nice room in a central location. if you are looking for business center or high speed internet to do business this may not be the place for you. we had a great room very nicely decorated with space. breakfast was good, standard breakfast choices. it is an old building so expect creaky floors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kim from New York

nicest hotel in this price

Posted Jan 24, 2014
cozy place to stay and the breakfast was good. a little bit old but i can assure that this is the best place to stay in this price level. and also near the park and subway station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Next to the park

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: I like view in the room.
Cons: The breakfast was not very exciting. The WiFi was very slow.
It was a pleasant stay and reasonably priced. I would come back if I visit Boston again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a fabulous location

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Pros: Old world ambiance
Cons: More heat and hot water
Location: Perfect location near Copley Place shopping, the Common and Public Garden
Pleasantly surprised to find this hotel in a beautiful Commonwealth Ave. building one block away from the Boston Public Garden. The room was large and full of charm, nice bathroom (although not a lot of hot water in the shower), free wifi, and though parking is not included there is a parking garage only a few blocks away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from Belfast, Maine

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Pros: Awesome! It was very peaceful and quiet. That meant a lot to me. Need I say more.
Cons: No need for improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I don't think my sheets were changed, but I toughed it out