Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location to get downtown, but not for walking

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
NO ALCOHOL - the hotel is run on that Islamic principal. Once you get past that, a nice standard high end business hotel. The location has GREAT Nile views - the main restaurant has a superb view. Probably perfect for business travel, but not perfect for a tourist - hard to walk out into the city. On the other hand, an easy walk to Tahrir Square / Egyptian Museum. Great service, clean rooms. Some internal restaurants closed (economy? alcohol? After all, who goes to an English style pub for non-alcoholic beer).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by obaidah from doha

good hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel wit a pleasent staff. I recommed it .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ITS NOT 5 STAR HOTEL

Posted Dec 21, 2012
i travel alot and that was the worst and biggest diappointment hotel experience i ever had... the manegemant and staff have NO customer servise. for the 5 STAR amount i paid i expect alot more than bad servise and old smilly rooms.and by the way in the our US standerd this hotel should not get more than 4 STAR.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Noura from London

Good hotel but not comfortable with all staff

Posted Jan 5, 2012
Pros: The view is the most unique thing that the hotel hold however i stayed in most of the 5 starts hotels on the niel and they all had amazing view too
Cons: the carpet in the coridors looks like it was fitted a long time ago and they have not changed it after doing any kind of work as there are cuts fixed
Location: the location is helpfull for anyone looking to be in the downtown of cairo
The reception staff are friendly but the bell boys are very annoying they come in couples or more to help you so you give tips for all of them and when u give tips they dnt seem to be happy with even though i used to pay the same tips whn i stay in the fourseasons hotel in cairo (both of them) and staff used to be very thankful even thorugh they dnt kind of make it obvious that you have to give them tips as those in this hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Freiberg, Germany

Bad experience with Front Office

Posted Mar 22, 2011
We booked the hotel as the start to our honeymoon, and check-in and overall experience was nice. However, upon check-out we faced the problem that the hotel wanted to charge us for breakfast which was included in the room rate already. Upon check-in, we were not informed that breakfast is excluded. On the second day, we even double-checked with the night shift front office whether there are any additional charges, and we were told no and they even reassured us that the breakfast is included in the room charge. Upon check-out though the hotel wanted to charge for breakfast for 2 days, summing to a total of around US$ 105, and it took us nearly one hour to solve this issue - not a nice start for our honeymoon. Besides, the breakfast buffet is not recommendable at all, as it is very limited and we expected something different (especially knowing other Grand Hyatts in the Middle East). It is a nice hotel, and the location is perfectly in Downtown Cairo, however, we would strongly recommend to look for other hotels in the area when choosing to stay in the heart of Cairo and on the Nile.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

Grand hyatt, Cairo

Posted Aug 14, 2010 on Hotels.com
what is to be rated as 5 star is the lobby only... for the rooms rating, they are 3 star.... decoration is old..TV set is very old where it should be Plasma or LCD... What is good about this hotel is its location..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by L. O. C from Sao Paulo, Brazil

Best cost benefit hotel -

Posted Feb 24, 2010
Very well located, on the Nile and very good restaurants in the hotel. Don´t forget to go around in the hotel to see some old ladies making egiptian bread in a very rustic and antik way, very delicious. If one day I´ll came back to Cairo, I will stay at Grand Hyatt Cairo for sure. Very convenient.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Improvement

Posted Oct 13, 2009 on Hotels.com
service for the internet for a charge of 250 US$ not available
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Clean and friendly

Posted Jul 22, 2009
I met a business associate who really travels a lot, he was the one that decided we would stay at the Grand Hyatt Cairo. It is very clean and the architecture is impressive. There are plenty of staff members. I asked for room service breakfast at 6:30 and it arrived at 6:30. The business center rented time on the computer, everything worked well. They scan everyone at the front door, so I felt secure. No alcohol is served before 1:00 am. My room had a view of the Nile, and of the pool. It was quiet and comfortable. Like most places these days it had a thick comforter on the bed, which is not my favorite way to sleep. There was no blanket in the closet, but I'm sure they would have brought me one if I'd asked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Discovery Bay

Grand Hyatt Hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2009 on Hotels.com
Very nice, great location.