Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel... But lacks a common amenity.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
My husband and I stayed here for a special occasion. The hotel staff and the condition of the hotel was excellent. The hotel did not offer pay per view movies (which is odd). The television was small and the volume was set so low we could barely hear it. The walls were so this we could plainly hear our neighbors carrying on a conversation. It's the little things that matter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2014 by Kara, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to hear that the staff and the property were excellent and will let them know that you appreciate their hard work. I am sorry though that we couldn't offer all the amenities you needed. We do offer over thirty channels of high definition programming spanning all of the major offerings from our cable provider. We hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you are in the Carbondale area. Jane Kearney General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Very enjoyable would definitely stay there again. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Location was perfect. The staff was very accomadating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2014 by Kara, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I will let everyone here know that their hard work is being appreciated. Jane Kearney General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hazel Crest, IL

Very Nice Hotel.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The couple at the desk made us feel welcomed. The room was very roomy & quiet. Even the thunderstorm seemed to be muffled.
Cons: We are coffee drinkers, there wasn't enough packets. Didn't want to get dressed to go to the lobby for a refill of coffee. A coffee container would
Location: We liked the Stake House Restaurant, don't remember the name. Giant City State Park was where we met some of our family.
We weren't impressed with Fat Betty Bottoms. Seems they were all new and didn't know what to do. Had to wait several minutes to get coffee and order to be taken. The buffet breakfast was cold when we returned to the table. Although that isn't part of the restaurant's management.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2014 by Kara, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our property. Fat Bottom Betty's is still quite new and they are working out a few kinks here and there. We are dedicated to providing top notch service to all our guests and hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit the area. Jane Kearney General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolingbrook Illinois

Excellent staff! Very helpful!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I stayed at this hotel while in town visiting family. We had a family emergency and I ended up bringing 2 small children back to the hotel with me. The staff upgraded my room so we could all fit comfortably in the 1 room. I would definitely stay at this hotel again next time I am in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carbondale illinois

Unhappy

Posted Aug 9, 2014
My daughter and i were staying one night, we had just drove 5 hours and had to be up early the next day, my daughter slept with me because her bed and pillows had several black hairs, long and short on the bedding, mine had a few on couple of pillows and one on sheet, otherwise it was pretty clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Kara, Hotel Management
I would like to begin by apologizing that your stay was not up to standard. I assure you that we take cleanliness very seriously here at the Holiday Inn Carbondale and this issue will be addressed with our housekeeping staff. It is our highest priority that our guests spend each night comfortable and leave each morning feeling rested. The next time you visit Carbondale please give us a call as we would be happy to have you. Jane Kearney General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel access to nearby town for entertainment

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The hotel was very nice and the beds were super comfortable. There wasn't a hot tub which was disappointing but otherwise very nice pool and facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H. illinois

Undergoing renovations

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The hotel was undergoing renovations but there was no indication at booking and there was no price discount.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Something in the room never works

Posted Jun 27, 2014
I have stayed at this hotel twice and there is always something that is not working in the room (stopped up sink in the bath room to TV) They recently installed new tub/shower hardware. There is no lever to pull up for the shower. You now have to turn and pull down the ring at the base of the tub spigot. I turned and nothing happened. Although this may be a high tech feature, I stay in too many different hotels to want to bother with having to figure everything out. I don't need the latest but just want a clean, decent room at the end of a long day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2014
It was a nice hotel to stay at. We will be staying there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Anna from Chicago IL

Few Hotel Choices in the area

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We've stayed at this location a few times. None of the hotels are perfect in this town. They're all a little funky. Marion has a better selection. The bathroom smelled like sewer and our fridge was broken. I complained to the desk and they were dismissive and didn't really make an effort to resolve. We call the Holiday Inn 800 number and then they got right on everything. The manager came right up and addressed all our concerns. So it did get better, but honestly - we hate being "those people" that have to even complain in the first place. Other things started going wrong the air conditioner didn't work right, there was a baseball team staying there and they were loud and all over the place slumped on the furniture down in the lobby. The failed to make-up our room after being out all day and we ran out of towels and tissue. I guess after a long trip you just want to flop on the bed and zone out, not have to hassle with nonsense. I felt like the staff was overwhelmed and grumpy. We chalked it up to bad luck, but we won't go back.