Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Do not stay at this hotel!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Remodeling during our stay. Pool closed, restaurant and bar was set up as tables in the hallway, only one slow elevator. We were harassed by security for "being too loud" when we were only talking on the balcony. The phone in the room was not operating...no dial tone, was like a movie prop.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reno

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Upgrades to room were nice.
Location: Location is okay, on the edge of uptown, so a walk to eat since restaurant was closed. There was a shuttle available, but it was in use.
Hotel was under renovation which was not posted when I made my reservation. Nor did I ever receive any correspondence telling me that the hotel would be under renovation during my stay. The restaurant & pool were both closed. Only one elevator was available and twice we had to wait to go to our room because the elevator was full.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience caused due to our renovations in progress. We try to keep everyone up to date with our renovation schedule online so that our future guests are not surprised during their visit. As much as it is dusty and noisy nuisance at the present time, the outcome will be a wonderful new place to stay called Charlotte Plaza Uptown Hotel. We would love for you to come back and stay with us at our newly remodeled and most up-to-date hotel in the near future. Please let my office know if you would like to return as I would like to see to your reservation details personally. I am looking forward to welcoming you to our new hotel in the near future. Thank you again, Bill Moore General Manager Charlotte Plaza Uptown Hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sc

Be aware, major construction

Posted Jul 14, 2014
My issue was that there was no mention of construction on expedia. The hotel was in major renovation and the common spaces were very small. There was one working elevator. Staff was polite, but for $275 a night I would like to have been prepared for the mess!
1 out of 5
by M from Ottawa ON Canada

No one said it was under construction!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Rooms were clean.
Cons: Notify those who are booking of the renovations + their implications.
Location: Downtown. Walk to Epicentre. Taxi to NASCAR Hall of Fame
We put 4 nites on a credit card only to discover when we got there the hotel was being renovated. No pool available. No restaurant. No breakfast. We paid for 2 beds but got one. The lobby + the hotel were a mess. Renovations were noisy. Check the hotel website before you buy. We would not have stayed here had we known it was undergoing renovations!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nicely renovated

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: modern feeling, updated fixtures and interiors.
Cons: all good
Location: convenient to downtown and south end area
Even though the facility was under renovation it was a pleasant experience. Nice, modern, updated fixtures and furnishings. Very clean and efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by deanna from north carolina

Nice hotel even though they were renovating

Posted May 26, 2014
We went for a one night girls trip the rooms were clean and the people that the front desk were nice and down to earth people. It's in a good location and even though they are renovating the hotel it wasn't a bad environment
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I should get a refund

Posted May 21, 2014
The whole hotel under construction which was not disclosed by expedia on the time booking, was not able to sleep in as constrution started at 830 am! The pool was closed. Hair was still in the shower drain when we checked in, the staff were rude, and the "continental" breakfast was disgusting slimy eggs and bacon that was not drained of its grease. Horrible experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katherine from lexington, SC

Under Rennovation

Posted May 12, 2014
The room was nice, but with the hotel under rennovation, the experience was less than stellar. There was construction noise on Saturday morning, no restaurant, and general unkempt appearance. Also, I paid $15 a day for parking and still couldn't leave on checkout day without inserting $8 at garage exit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rachel from north carolina

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: very close to up-town charlotte.
Cons: as stated once construction is complete, it will be very nice.
Location: Many activities up-town. restaurants, shops, Time-Warner center for concerts and ball games.
The hotel will be very nice once construction is finished. No bar, no public space, no ice machine until 11th floor.
3 out of 5
by Gordo from NC

Under Renovation, Room Decent

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Decent price for a night. Room was decent but the entire place is under construction aka lobby, elevators etc. Wouldn't stay again until renos are complete. Give it 2.75 out of 5.