Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Just what we needed for a short stay

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful including providing storage for our luggage after we checked out because we had some time before joining our cruise.7
Location: The Tivoli gardens were the stand out attraction.
We had a four person room for two adults and two children. The room was clean and had enough space for a short stay. The hotel was within 5 minutes walk of the station but still very quiet. It was close to all city centre attractions including the Tivoli gardens.
2 out of 5
by Ozzi from Australia

Convenient location near Central Station

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly English speaking staff, location very convenient to Copenhagen Central railway station and Tivoli Gardens.
Cons: Wi-Fi is free but has poor reception and coverage. Room very small with cramped ensuite. Shower sometimes had no hot water.
Location: Close to Tivoli Gardens and short walk to City shops, dining and canal boat tours.
This hotel is close to the Central Station for easy access from Copenhagen Airport by short 15 minute railway trip. Hotel facilities require some maintenance and rooms are small, although size is typical of many older European hotels. There is no air-conditioning so windows of room need to be opened for ventilation. The location of the hotel's elevator requires guests to use some stairs to access their rooms or the hotel lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gillian from Canada

Great location. Close to town centre

Posted Jun 15, 2014
great stay and could walk to all activities. Accessible to Canals, town centre and railway station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

comfy hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: breakfast
Cons: a metro station in the neighborhood was under construction and you have to take a detour going to/from train station
Location: most of tourist sights were within walking distance
minimalistic and extremely functional, very clean and quiet
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Bristol, England

summary of stay

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: location right in the centre
Cons: room size!
Location: great location near tivoli,station and buses.
Great location near station and tivoli. Good breakfast and very helpful staff. Main complaint is that our room was way too small for 3 guys. There wasn't enough room to be able to unpack our suitcases.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from Bristol

Great Location

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast, good price.
Cons: very old towels and nowhere to hang them to dry.
Location: Excellent, next door to central station. Tip :take the rear exit from the station up steps, turn right then down steps. Close to Tivoli Park.
An un-pretentious no-frills hotel which does the job perfectly. Really good breakfast with lovely fresh bread, pastries, cold meats, cheese, cereals and fresh fruit. The reception staff were helpful. They were happy to give us ice for our own drinks. We visited with a large group of friends and there is a nice courtyard garden where you can all meet up and talk about your day. Rooms on the small side but adequate for a city break.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Earl from Ellerslie, GA

Over rated

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ansgar Hotel is over rated and over priced. On the plus side is their breakfast , ice, location, staff and internet connection. However on the minus side: small room with no room to open luggage except on the bed, mattress is only 2" thick, air conditioning was a dirty table fan that took up much of the already small desk, little in-room luggage storage, an elevator that stops on landings between floors (it is the dumbest ekevator system I have ever seen) from the ground floor you must go up two stairs to a landing, then up a flight of stairs between the ground floor and the first floor to access the elevator, to go to our room on the second floor, we exited on 2 but, we then had to go down a flight of stairs, no staff to assist with luggage even for old people. The luggage storage area is unsecure, not observed by staff and the key is provided on request to any guest. Not sure of competion but, would recommend against the Ansgar.
3 out of 5
by Ralph from Houston, Texas

Good Location

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location. Buffet Breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful, but the night clerk could use a little more training.
Cons: This building is over one hundred years old so nothing can be done about the room sizes, etc. Need someone there to help with luggage.
Location: Near Tivoli Gardens and the Train Station.
Wanted something near Tivoli Gardens and this fit the bill. The hotel is pricey for what you get. Rooms are very small and there is no A/C. We knew this going in but did not expect record high temperatures for that time of year (late May). The most difficult situation to deal with was the elevator arrangement. The doors are located between floors. From the lobby you must go up a flight of stairs to get to the elevator and then go up or down a flight to get to your room - not very convenient when dealing with heavy luggage. There is a secure storage area in the reception area. There is a very nice, quiet garden space with chairs and tables in the back for relaxing. Rooms on the front are subject to street noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by sheriffcashman from UK

Small but practical and compfortable room

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Don't expect plenty of space but do expect a functional room with good shower and a peaceful nights sleep. Stayed on a one night business trip mid week and will return without issue, if same needed again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Marsha from USA

good overnight hotel

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is convenient to many sightseeing highlights. It's easy to walk everywhere. Our only issue was with the beds, which were like camp cots with very thin mattresses. Otherwise, the hotel was a good choice.