Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel Malahide

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Very very very small double room, horrible view of wires out the window! Very over priced! Couldn't get the heating to work. Not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We visit this hotel regularly

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Check in before 3
Location: The grand hotel is right in the village with everything close by-even the dart
This is our favourite place to stay -we love malahide and love the grand hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hayes from London

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, great service, great room with beautiful view of sea and marina. The hotel itself could do with a little TLC, in certain areas. No complaints though. A lovely vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jennifer from Texas

Great location in small town along Irish coast

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was very nice without being stuffy. The hotel is right along the walking path that follows the coast line, and it's easily walking distance from the Malahide train station with luggage. The staff were professional and courteous, and the hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays.
3 out of 5
by grwpl

The Grand Malahide

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: Position Breakfast
Cons: Heating and free WIFI
Location: Village of malahide 2 minutes walk as is the coast. Multitude of pubs and eating places all an easy walk
Perfect position, nice building but................. No heating in the bathroom and front desk said there was no way to heat. The plumbed in towel rail was not connected Charging for WIFI
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent stay as always
2 out of 5
by CJ from Germany

All Veneer, No Substance...A Grand Disappointment

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: Not very much. I guess we should have booked a higher class room.
Cons: Nearly everything. Start by offering those things that are commonplace and complimentary elsewhere (i.e., internet, breakfast, in room coffee/tea)
Location: Mallahide is a great city full of charm. Near to Dublin and lots to do.
This hotel looks great on the outside, imposing and grand, overlooking the inlet from the bay. But there is little more to the hotel than that. First, they seem intent on nickle and diming their customers for every amenity. For example, no tea or coffee service in the room. They do offer a whopping 15 minutes of free internet, if you consider that bargain. And, of course, no free breakfast. Second, we went down to the Sports Bar for dinner and stood there for a solid 5 minutes trying to get the attention of the server. We never did. Either they were disposed elsewhere or mixed in with the customers, but we never did figure out what was going on. And there were a lot of people waiting for...something...food, service, drinks? We didn't stick around to find out. We went downtown to Gibney's pub and had a great meal at a great price. Last, the place is falling apart. Wallpaper is peeling off the walls in the hallways. The stairs are slightly canted to one side. The owners need to plough some of their profits back into interior maintenance rather than just maintaining the veneer. Otherwise the whole thing will implode from the inside eventually.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elaine from Canada.

Lovely hotel.

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Location to Malahide village and Estuary. The hotel itself is beautiful and it looked even nicer as they had put up the christmas decorations.
Location: The Grand hotel is located 5 mins walk to the lovely Malahide Village,which has lovely coffee shops, restaurants,shopping and Pubs.
Stayed in the Grand hotel for 5 nights.Found my room very clean. Towels and linens were lovely. Bed very comfortable.Room and linens cleaned and changed every day,if desired. Used room service for breakfasts 3 mornings. Selection menu available to leave out night before and collected by 2am. Breakfast was served promptly at my desired times, and was always ample food. Bars and restaurants are great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from NSW

pleasant hotel close to waters edge and town centr

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: location and spaciousness.
Cons: the floors creaked, and I am sure I would have disturbed people in the middle of the night
Location: Cafes; pubs, stylish dining all close by. airport 25 mins by car. Dublin 1/2 hour
Stayed 2 nights here and we were very comfortable, had room to spread out., The room was nicely appointed. Bed and pillows very comfy. The bathroom was clean, spacious and had good tap/shower fittings. Toiletries, t.ea and coffee provided (breakfast is extra) The hotel is only a minutes walk to town centre where there a some great restaurants. We found it a good base, and only half hour drive into centre of Dublin (if you are mad enough to attempt this)