Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No breakfast

Posted Apr 19, 2015
This hotel no longer offers breakfast, and we were not informed of this change after we reserved. We could hear loud music and laughter from outside, until 4:30 in the morning on Friday and Saturday nights and we didn't get much rest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indio CA

Spring Break with our Grandbabes

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The staff is exceptionally professional and knowledgeable about the service industry.
Cons: The only thing I can think of is maybe having the towels available in the pool area. They are available at the front desk.
Location: El Cid is in the perfect location. Walking distance to the Malecon, restaurants, shopping, fish market, and movie theatre.
From the moment we walked in, we were impressed. Beautiful well cared for hotel on the main street in Ensenada, Baja California. The staff was one of the best we have encountered. Just have to say, Nicolas is an outstanding employee! Every staff member would greet us, extremely amiable staff. If we needed anything, we felt comfortable asking, and received the best of service. The hotel is nice, we had a room facing the main street, and being spring break, we could watch the festivities, from the balcony. The rooms are clean, and nicely decorated. The room has a bar area with a small refrigerator and sink, large closet space, comfortable beds, television with movie channels (cable). Wifi is free. The pool was clean and felt private, and relaxing. We have stayed at the Villa Fontana and at El Sol in Ensenada, but El Cid's staff's hospitality, and the facilities are definitely nicer. We stayed for 4 days, and can't wait to return again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ONLY good thing of this hotel is the location

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: only location
The worst hotel I've stayed ever. Old facility and bad service. No hot water First of all, I arrived around 4 pm but the room wasn't ready so I had to wait for a few minutes. When I got to the room at the 5th floor, this area was not wifi available area. The worst part of the hotel was no HOT WATER. slightly warm but wasn't hot. I got a cold after having shower with tepid water. The hotel was fully booked during "Semana Santa" and maybe that was the reason for no hot water. However, no staff apologized me for this inconvenience in spite of several complaints. I would not recommend this hotel to you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico City

Hotel downtown Ensenada!

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Location and staff!
Cons: Breakfast and closets!!
Location: Restaurants are very close. If you like shopping mexican handcraft, you have it all (also, bars and cantinas for drinks). The Wine Route is also near!
The hotel is in the middle of the Main Street in Ensenada. Lobby is Ok, parking is great, rooms are nice, but the closets are old and impossible to use. They have a kind of continental breakfast: coffee, te, apples, not the big thing, but the staff is nice and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ciudad De Mexico

Buena ubicación

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Amables y atentos las habitaciones muy cómodas.-----------------------------_
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Happy

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Eventhough our room wasn't ready at 4pm all else was very well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Good location, old facilities.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: New furniture.
Location: It is located in the main street of Ensenada, we have all shops and restaurants within walking distance.
It was overall ok, the facilities need some renewal but the premises are clean and the staff is friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly artistic

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pretty hotel! Art and dècor were nice. Room was spacious. Hot water didn't work but FO had it fixed right away. Loud if facing the Main Street bc of the bar across the street. Gustavo was very helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Got room looking out to the main street and was very noisy at night, not because of the traffic but because of people yieling snd playing music at late hours.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Great location, especially for Carnival parades.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
The Junior Suite we reserved did not have the amenities described. No jacuzzi tub, no view, no balcony. A very disappointing and awkward room. At our insistence, we moved to a more appropriate room for the second night. But it wasn't offered and we had to complain repeatedly to get a room even somewhat resembling the description. But we were there to have a good time and we did - just not because of the hotel!