Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from London, UK

A PLEASANT STAY!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms and extremely comfortable bed.
Cons: It was only missing a few "essentials" for me, such as iron/ironing board and room service menu.
I was here on business and so did not really spend much time in the hotel. Check-in and check-out were both hassle free and staff were friendly and attentive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It could have been a nice hotel...

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Cons: Cleaninf and staff training
- friendly but not qualified staff for a supposed 5 Stars - room not clean, towels different every day, hairdryer disgusting, outside armchairs cushions dirty - the "beach" looks like a road under construction - reasonably good breakfast buffet, but certainly not a 5 Stars one - nice swimming pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Global citizen! from Derbys UK

Very calm and restful

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Hotel beautiful but a bit "tired" in places. Staff really helpful, professional and attentive. Room lovely and extras like fresh flowers, fruit etc really appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sasaki from London

Highly recommended!

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Thalasso pool - really effective to relax body and mind.
Location: 10 minutes ride to beautiful Sidi Bou Said and interesting Carthage.
We stayed 4 nights at the Residence and had really nice time. Staff were really friendly and helpful and foods were great in all restaurants. We enjoyed Spa treatments, and loved hamam & thalasso pool (free access).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Wiltshire, UK

Spring break

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Cool atmosphere and friendly staff
Location: Monaco café in nearby shopping centre and Tam Tam restaurant in Sidi Beau Said, both very good
Perfect place to chill and enjoy spring sunshine in style
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Marrickville

Best spa in the world

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: The spa, more than anything else. Food is also very good at both the main restaurant and the Tunisian restaurant. Excellent cocktails
Cons: Internet continues to be a problem.
My 2nd time at The Residence, this time together with my wife. She agrees that it is the best spa we have visited in 10 years of going on holidays in Europe, Asia and elsewhere. With the added attraction of the Medina, Carthage ruins and the wonderful Bardo Museum, a stay at The Residence Tunis makes for an excellent holiday.
4 out of 5
by Michele from London

Luxury near Carthage

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The staff and service were excellent throughout - friendly and helpful
Cons: The restaurants
Location: On the beach and a short cab ride to Carthage and the village of Sidi Bou Said Hotel golf course & tennis courts
One hopes for something close to perfection with a 5-star hotel listed as one of the best in the world, and although the hotel itself is architecturally lovely with a gorgeous pool, the cuisine in each of its three formal restaurants - Tunisian, Mediterranean and Chinese, fell well short of expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Dubai, UAE

Beautiful Oasis

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The hotel district of Tunis.
The hotel is a quick 20-minute taxi ride (TD 20 if you negotiate with cab driver upfront) away from the airport and most parts of Tunis. Great and spacious rooms. Modernly furnished but with a traditional twist. Large bathroom. I recommend the sea view room highly. Phenomenal service. For example, when you ask someone where the pool is, she will actually walk you all the way to the pool rather than point into the general direction. Staff is extremely friendly, proactive and attentive to guests. Absolutely 5-star quality service. Beautiful facilities with a great pool, gym, and sauna. The hotel is right by the beach and also a golf course, though I didn't get to try them on my business trip this time around. A very generous breakfast spread in the morning is brilliant with fresh juices, breads, custom omelettes and pancakes, cereal, etc. Three nice restaurants in the hotel, particularly the Tunisian restaurant has a nice vibe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mazin from Solihull,UK.

A magnificent hotel with it's own beach.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: All facilities were five-star PLUS with great attention to detail, the staff would go out of their way to any extent to please a customer.
Cons: Hardly anything comes to mind, except increase the variety of items included in the menus of both the Tunisian and Mediterranean restaurants.
Location: The location is on the beach with a good beach in the grounds and near to the airport but reasonably far from the city centre (25-30 mins. taxi ride)
A most pleasant experience although the weather kept us indoors most of the time, yet there was no shortage of activities to keep us occupied. The room was large, well appointed, always kept clean and serviced twice a day. The buffet breakfast included in the room price exhibited a wide variety to satisfy every taste. The hotel boasts the largest outdoor swimming pool I have seen at any 5-star hotel I have visited. The indoor swimming pool (sea water) has a built-in Jacuzzi, the adjacent steam room is a copy of a Roman bath with an adjacent dry-heat Sauna room for those who can not tolerate the steam. The shopping centre attached to the hotel had a variety of shops including a well-supplied supermarket , several clothing shops as well as two souvenir shops exhibiting a variety of local handicraft and a pleasant and busy café. This was an experience of a lifetime which we intend to repeat at a more moderate time next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Sydney

Best spa in the world

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Was there for business and holiday. A bit far out of town for business but a great holiday place. Wonderful Mediterranean beach, brilliant thalasso spa, great food. Very relaxing atmosphere and very friendly and attentive staff.