Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, Kansas

Great hotel and location

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: I really loved just lounging at the poolside bar all day.
Location: Downtown is very close to the hotel may be 5 minutes drive. There is a lot of restaurants and bars that make the night ife preatty entertaining.
I stayed at Villas Playa Samara a few days ago passing through Costa Rica, and it was great. The Hotel is right next to the water and its a beautifil place with great staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC Canada

Looks nice in photos... not so much

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Rooms were big, balconies had hammocks.
Cons: See list above...
Location: 5 minutes by car is Samara - great food there, zero nightlife.
Great location - terrible feeling place to stay. We paid ~$200 USD a night and we were surrounded by groups of people who were on Groupon tours, and even they were not impressed with the place after paying a fraction of what we paid. Calling the food was terrible would not be accurate, it was safe to eat - like a piece of dry toast during a hangover. Yes it is edible, but you won't enjoy anything about it. Having Samara so close with such incredible food choices, there is no reason to eat here except for the free breakfast. Try Gusto, Luv Burger, or Coco's Mexican - just 5 minutes by car away and all worth the trip. I know working out on a vacation is silly - but the Gym they advertise is in shambles. Only one of the machines worked and it was rusted to hell and screamed like a banshee if you tried to use it. I wish I would have taken photo's, it was funny how broken things were. The staff are robots - having a 10am checkout with zero possibility of extending is a joke. They could also not find our Expedia reservation (even though we had one printed out AND sent them the e-mail) and made us wait for 20 minutes upon checkout to verify that we had actually paid. Amature hour~
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bismarck, ND

Right on the beach!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the water
Location: It's very peaceful, but the resort did have activities like salsa dancing lessons poolside. There are monkey tours and the snorkeling was great.
Our villa was right on the beach, with an excellent view of the sunset. We felt very safe there and the staff where great! The complimentary breakfast was fantastic, not like the continental in the US. All the food we had was great. We took a kayak and snorkel tour with Samara Aventure Company that took us to the Island we could see from our room. This resort seems to be the only one on the water in Samara. It is a short drive in to town. Great spot!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emilia from Stockholm

Really Nice Hotel by the beach

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
Nice and very clean Hotel just by the a beach, that was almost only for the hotels guests. Beautiful sunset by the beach. Almost 30 min Walk by the beach to town where more restaurants were. Only one restaurant by the Hotel, Good breakfast but not so Good for dinner, very Simple food, same menu for lunch and dinner (pizza, sandwish, pasta). But they had buffe at the weekend. The service was okey, Good staff at the restaurant and cleaning staff. The guys in the reception was not as Good as the other, a bit tired and not so serviceminded. They Hotel offered surfing Lessons and Tours but we book surf lesson and nobody showed up to the time we booked and they had no Good answer what snd did not do anything to help at the reception so I Would not recommend to book anything through them. Much better and better price in Samara town. Patos surf school was really Good for surfing. The Hotel is perfect for a family and couples that wants a relaxing time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia PA

Good spot in paradise

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Not the best hotel in the world but it has a prime location in Samara beach and the accommodation is comfortable we had a really nice stay. Stayed in a beachfront 1BR apartment. Things worked OK. Pool was fun and activities reasonably well organized. Nice to be able to cook in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Schönes überteuertes Strandhotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Sobald die größeren Gruppen abgereist sind, ist die Speisenauswahl im Restaurant arg eingeschränkt. Mit größeren Reisegruppen gibt's ein umgangreiches Bufffet. Für 180EUR/Zimmer/Nacht viel zu teuer, zuwenig Zimmerausstattung und zuwenig Dienstleistung. Sonst alles OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Yani from USA

Average but OK; friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel needs maintenance and fixing: doors don't open or close properly; the drain gets clogged; sewage pipes are too small and get clogged, three out of six lamps did not work, etc. (After having reported the said problems, the maintenance team fixed them but it took half a day before the repairs were completed: half a day that you pay $ 245 for it.) There is no TV. The kitchen is poorly equipped. Food in the hotel is extremely expensive: you can get three dinners in the local restaurants for the price of one in this facility. Staff is very friendly, however, and ready to assist you or to fix the non-working things. They also act fast. The hotel is located on the beach but the ocean in Playa Samara is very murky, dirty (polluted) and it does not smell good, either. The village Samara is about two miles from the hotel. It is a very small, kind of funky, quite picturesque place that feels like going 50 years back in time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ingrid

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ingrid from Trysil

Rimelig overnatting som er vel vert pengene.

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels
Trivelig betjening, men et litt nedslitt hotell. Frokosten var helt fin. Pass dere hvor dere parkerer! Vi fikk en kokosnøtt i frontruta...Helt ok å bade i havet, men jeg har sett finere strender selv om denne var brukbar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: The villas are very nice, old but nice. The green areas are well care as well as the pool. The place looks clean and the food is quite nice also.
Cons: Change Hotel Administration
Location: Playa Carrillo is a near by beach that it´s worth to visit, If you like Italian food I strongly recommend El Tucan Restaurant located in Carrillo town
The hotel is conveniently located in front of one of the best beaches in Guanacaste ideal for families with toddlers and young children or seniors who don´t want to go around steep places due the fact the hotel area is totally flat. The issue I have is with the policy of staff management that the hotel administration has. I´ve been a regular visitor of this hotel during the last decade and saddly the place seems to be receding in the quality of the staff and the ammenities that they offer. The pool bar was close due to the lack of bartender, and for the check out day, my wife and myself had to carry our laugage from the villa to the parcking lot for a distance of nearly 500 mts, and as we have 3 toddlers this task was very unpleasant. The explanation they gave us was that one of the guards didn´t show up that day for no reason, so they have to put the bellboy to do the missing guy´s work.