Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palatine, IL

A make-do hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The fact that we were alone in the swimming pool
Cons: Pretty much everything.
If you need a room at a fair price then maybe this is the hotel for you. But it is a rather bad hotel. Cleanliness is not very good. The state of the hotel is far from perfect. Breakfast hardly deserves the name.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Does not live up to the "Howard Johnson" name

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: The hotel is in a good location for access to a main highway and does have several good places to eat nearby.
Cons: Please see the experience section.
Location: Decent restaurants in town, just a few minutes away.
The pool was out of commission and did not return to service on the date promised. The WiFi signal was very weak and so the WiFi was almost unusable. There was only one ice machine in the Hotel, so if you wanted ice you had to go downstairs to get it. The breakfast service was disappointing as the coffee was very weak.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Olney from Maryland

Good to go

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place. We walked from the hotel to a great Mexican restaurant nearby. The beds were moderately comfortable but overall a very nice stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by patricia from iowa

Not bad for the price

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
The breakfast was basic to many chains. The hallway had a strong odor of cigarette smoke, although the room did not, thankfully. There was noise from the hallway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels
At check in I asked about the pool and she said it was closed I was very disappointed this is why I booked this hotel for the pool, then when I got up to the room the heat did not work I called she switched me into another room where that heater barely worked and the tv had about 4 or 5 stations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated

Posted Jan 29, 2015
My stay was not good first the furnishing in the hotel is something out of a 1970's movie. I understand that continental breakfast means rolls coffee maybe waffles but it should be fresh and it wasn't, the mattress was like a brick. I should not have to share the lobby with non visitors of the hotel. The towels were worn and dingy...I had to go out and buy towels for myself and my guest this hotel should be closed down and remodeled. The staff should also be replaced they are very rude. The tv in the room was ancient and only showed a few vhannels. The only reason why I stayed is because I would have lost my money.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

rundown dirty hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed at this hotel with my husband and kids. The hotel is run down and the indoor pool was closed for the winter, which didn't make sense because it was indoor. Everything was out of order, including the ice machine. The front desk staff was nice. The breakfast bar was dirty and wasn't properly stocked. I got breakfast early when it started and ended up leaving to go get breakfast because it was awful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One night get away.

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
Right off the highway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Illinois

Worth booking. I recommend it.

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels
Some of the reviews of needs updating had me wary but I found the hotel to be fine. It was clean and the staff was friendly. I only stayed one night and I wasn't expecting a resort accommodations. Manteno was a farming community that now has some light industry and subdivisions of people trying to flee the Chicago urban sprawl. Locals are friendly.