Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed stay.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Located at town area.
Cons: Fix those problems that i've mentioned.
Location: Shopping.
- The inside walkway was rather dark. - The bath tub wasn't working. - The bed is cheap and bad too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top Location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Set right in the middle of Kota Kinabalu. Easy walk to town, shopping and tourist venues. Lovely staff, very happy and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Interesting part of town.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Everything excellent except for no deals with breakfast included at a competitive price.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Robbo from AU

Not good value for this brand of hotel..

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
For the money nice view but the room really needed a renovate. Toilet blocked up for no reason, TV about 15years old and remote not working properly, wallpaper and furniture worn and need to pay extra for wifi. There are better value hotels in Kota Kinabalu so why waste your hard earned money!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Pon Pon from SG

acceptable

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
just ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great base for exploring Sabah.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Le Meridian is a perfect base for all your Borneo adventures. Right in the centre of town, close to the waterfront restaurants and the market, and just a short walk to Jesselton point and shopping. A cab ride to Rasa Ria, or you can fly to Sandakan and back in a day (Air Asia flights are timed perfectly to take in the 10 am feeding at Sepilok, see the war memorial, and get back in time for sunset) Not the place for you if you just want to lie by the pool and do nothing, but a GREAT base to go out and see Borneo. Staff friendly and efficient, rooms clean and service impeccable! Can't fault it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, true 5 stars

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, comfort.
Cons: A little bigger TV, free wi-fi. Maybe at some point refreshment of the room design.
Location: Located on the sea shore. A lot of shops, restaurants nearby, as well as jetty. Whatever you come to do in Kota Kinabalu can be done from here.
While hotel is located just across the night market its not a big problem. Once inside you are greeted by polite and friendly staff, your room might look either to the ocean or for a little less money to cityscape, its clean and quiet and room and bath are spacy. Room is not what you'd call 'cozy' but its comfortable with good beds and reasonably good furniture. I'd say the charging for wi-fi is a bit of penny pinching, particularly in the class of hotel it wants to be but overall it was a nice place to stay, not too pretentious but providing you a good rest and comfort. And the food was great. Will stay there again on the next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by roseroy

Location is very convenient fr food,islandaccessec

Posted May 6, 2014
Good stay & very relaxing sea view from our room. Can even catch stunning sunset pictures.
3 out of 5
by Michelle from Hong Kong

Great hotel but staff needing training

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: The Staff
Cons: The service, the shower pipes and egg station 'chef' at the breakfast buffet
Location: There is a seafood, souvenir and cooked food market across the hotel that is worth exploring.
In general, this is a nice hotel and staff is very friendly and do try their best. After 3 consecutive stays there, I noticed however that the staff is in need of basic training on how to service a 5-star hotel. It is one thing to be friendly and another to be efficient and actually render good service. Having said that, it is minor little glitches, such as finding a shrunken bathrobe in the wardrobe in a deluxe room and not having had good sunny side eggs at every breakfast. They are minor but when there are a lot of minor glitches, it becomes a little annoying. After all, paying for a room in a 5-star hotel merits excellent 5-star service. The hotel is located centrally and in a great area from which to explore on foot. If you have a sea view room on a high floor, the view is spectacular especially at sunset. The bed is comfortable and clean. I think that the hotel is in need of a spruce up and maybe a face lift and renovation as it is aged and you can feel it. I hear very well from the room where I was, someone taking a shower on another floor (possible the upper) because the pipes told me so. And I can hear conversations from the corridor. If you don't mind any of this, this hotel is indeed far above many of the local hotels in terms of comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JPH from Calgary

Excellent, but...

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, great service especially concierge desk help, unexpected friendly reception party and a great pool. Perfect downtown location. But we had a bit of trouble at the pool with the odours drifting in from the fish market across the street. Obviously not the fault of the hotel.