Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

old facility and pricy

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The location is near south Lake Tahoe.
Cons: Change the carpet.
We brought our 21-month daughter to this trip. While I was bathing my daughter, the front desk called us saying our neighbour was complaining for the noisy coming from the bathroom. Well the sound of the showerhead was loud and my daughter was screaming also. It was 10:30 PM. What should I say? I apologized though I did not feel any sense of guilty. The bad sound insulation and the old facility disappointed us. The carpet has mouldy smell also.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Too old

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Tear it down and start over.
Location: Location good (see above)
Very old, clean interior, but decrepit walls, ceiling plumbing, electrical, etc. Very large "heart shaped" tub fills in about half of the room. Heating system just "ok".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Convenient and overall decent room.

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: I liked the location and room itself. A lot of amenities for the space.
Cons: The customer service on finding out about the hold they still have on my card. I certainly didn't damage anything in my room or steal anything!
Location: Cute shops and a couple of little restaurants and bars. Really like The Trunk Show because you can find great stuff by local artists!
Location was good. Everything was in walking distance in town. Staff was pleasant. The room was nice. I enjoyed the tub, although the Jacuzzi part didn't work. My only complaint at this point is I have tried e-mailing and calling the hotel and still haven't heard or spoken to a live person about the $50 temporary hold they have on my card. I would have thought that the hold would have been taken off over a week after my stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom esparto, ca

Prime location, very quiet

Posted Apr 21, 2015
If you're looking for an upscale hotel then this is not the place for you. If you want fun, retro and private- look no farther! The rooms were old and outdated but the jacuzzi hotub in the room was fun! There weren't many other guests so we didn't have to worry about disturbing anyone. Restaurants, bars, the lake, and bike trails were all within walking distance. If you're active like us and just need somewhere to lay your head at the end of an adventurous day- this is it! We loved our stay, and since the hotel was so cheap it made up for the outdated room. But the rooms had everything you need- bathroom, bed, coffee pot, microwave and fridge! We will definitely be back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Bed was comfortable
Cons: Paint, and remove the tissue from the ceiling.
Location: Great location....
disappointing, it was on the cheaper side but the room looks like they were in the middle of fixing the walls with missing mud and paint on them. The blinds next to the bed were cut too narrow and people from out side could see if if tried.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sungminfrom Palo Alto, CA

decent for the price, renovated!

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
I saw many bad reviews about the hotel, so maybe I just didn't put too much expectation One thing I noticed as soon entering the room was that the room was recently renovated, and everything was very clean. I cannot say it is like a five-star hotel, but it was perfect for the price at least for me. Good price, clean room, lively neighborhood.. what can I complain?
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paulfrom Windsor CA

Nice enough

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
Clean but a bit noisy - this was fine as a place to sleep, but not much of an experience. If you plan to spend all your time on the mountain and in town, this will probably work for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Howardfrom SF Bay Area

Hard to review

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
This is a hard review to give. As you can see from other reviews, whether you like this hotel or hate it will depend on how fastidious you are. The location is perfect (within close walking distance to many good restaurants [Jakes on the Lake was a favorite]and close to skiiing at Alpine or Squaw. The rooms are strange with the hot tub in the center of the room, though we did enjoy a jacuzzi. But you have to take a shower in the middle of the room too in case that bothers you. The walls are patched up inside and need some paint in places. We could live with that. We did hear a person coughing at night through the thin walls (room 20) and had a faucet that didn't work consistently for hot water, but the hotel moved us the second night to a room without a noisy neighbor and with hot water working. The breakfast is only weekends and starts at 8 am so you can't catch it if you plan to leave for the slopes early. If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive stay comparatively speaking and you can tolerate some oddness, this place is fine. But it needs some TLC.