Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most beautiful hotel in Lisbon

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Very beautiful hotel and totally worth the stay. The room was very comfortable and perfect.
Cons: Nothing. It is perfect
Location: National Coach Museum is a must visit. Russo Square is nearby as well.
The Palace is beautifully maintained and the rooms very comfortable. The staff takes care of minute details and overall I felt like I was at home with loved ones, instead of a new city. I would especially like to mention Joaquim and Luis gracious hosting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark from Dublin

Great Hotel, Great Staff, Highly recommended

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved it here, the Staff are REALLY super, The Hotel is beautiful and the whole experience was ultra relaxing!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alan G from Devon UK

A TRUE 5* HOTEL

Posted Jan 6, 2014
This hotel sets a standard that ought to be (but often isn't) followed by others that lay claim to 5* rating. Beautiful architecture, a luxuriant garden setting and helpful staff leaves me without cause for further comment, other than to thank the manager and his team for an extremely comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Natalie from Minneapolis

Wonderful accomodations

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautiful, a museum in itself. The reception service was great, the bar service was very slow, but that is our only complaint. It was New Year's day, so somewhat to be expected. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the spa looked great although we didnt get a chance to try it. It's not too far from the airport, and a great place to stay if you want to stay in when you arrive because you can explore the hotel and hotel grounds as an activity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Grand Royal Hotel.

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: A beautiful and grand building, filled with period furniture.
Location: Taxis are cheap enough to use daily.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overbooked

Posted Nov 8, 2013
We arrived late in the evening and were told that there had been a problem with their booking system a few days ago and that we had to be moved to another hotel at 11.30 pm. They moved our taxi round the corner and asked it to wait! The other hotel was modern, so nothing like this one. No compensation was offered. When I asked why I couldn't have been contacted if the problem arose a few days ago, they said that they didn't have my phone number. However, they did have my details, as they knew my name when we arrived and so could easily have contacted me via expedia so that at least we wouldn't have to have travelled out to their hotel and then back towards the airport to the new hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vegan from Reno

It truly was a palace!

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The location is away from the center of town, but taxis are inexpensive and so it is completely worth the extra minutes it takes you to get into town.
Location: In addition, Lisbon is aware and accommodating with vegetarian and vegan food. We ate at The Food Temple (great), Paladar Zen (great), and Terra (ok).
If you have the choice to stay in this hotel do so! The place is magnificent and you will feel like royalty. The restaurant for breakfast is superb and since my husband and I are vegan we often expect to be disappointed with the food choices; however, we were not. Instead, we were thrilled. Not only did they have beautiful bread and fruit and all the other usual options at breakfast, they also had tofu and seitan (wheat gluten) for us. For dinner they had terrific vegan options. They moved us from a city view room to a garden view room--you definitely want the garden view if you can get it. The staff was so accommodating and friendly--truly a joy. We also had fantastic and reasonable massages in their lovely spa. The pools are great and the fitness room is good. I cannot say enough about this palace. It is better than you expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Edison from London

My regular Home from Home

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: The restaurant and morning breakfast. The main palace hotel and gardens.
Cons: The sauna, steam and gym areas. These were either 'out of order' or some equipment was broken (not good for a 5* hotel.
Location: Close to Alcantara area. Close to Belem. You can see the 24th of April bridge from some parts of the hotel. City centre is 8-10 mins taxi ride away.
I have stayed at Pestana Palace over many years when I am in Lisbon (usually once/twice a year). The staff are the friendliest and most helpful bunch I know. The gardens are simply beautiful and the location, although not bang in the city centre is close enough to everything by taxi and is quiet as it's a residential area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Charlottesville, VA

Unique luxurious Lisbon hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: It's a palace! But has modern wings with updated rooms. Best of both worlds.
Location: The neighborhood is a ways from the center of the touristy section of Lisbon; there is a free shuttle there. Easy walk to Belem, a must-see area.
A friend and I stayed at Pestana Palace last week; in a word, it was fantastic! Way more beautiful and luxurious than we expected, very affordable, and situated within a comfortable walk from the Belem district which is a must-see in Lisbon. The gardens are stunning, the room large and comfortable with a very large bathroom, the pools and fitness center are spacious and well kept, and the common rooms in the palace are exquisite. The extensive buffet breakfast was the best we had on our entire vacation. Definitely will look forward to another visit here!