Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom va. beach

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: the staff was very friendly,polite,and helpful.
Cons: have meat with the eggs for breakfast
Location: close to manhattan.
we had a very good time. places to eat close by. close to manhattan. miss bibi was the best.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is conveniently located and has parking.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Convenient location with parking
Cons: Nothing that I can think of. It's not a luxury hotel but I don't think it was meant to be.
Location: Good eating is nearby.
Good overall experience ... was able to occupy my room right away.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Virginia

Sketchy hotel located in industrial neighborhood

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The decor, the cleanliness, the smells
Location: The neighborhood was sketchy. There is nothing nearby to do. There are a couple of restaurants next to the hotel
We planned an overnight trip to New York City to catch a show at Carnegie Hall. The hotel was about 4 miles away from the hall. Upon arrival to the hotel, we did not like the location. There were no restaurants nearby, the subway was far, and the neighborhood was very industrial. When we walked into the hotel to check in, the lobby smelled like smoke. The lady that checked us in was not particularly pleasant, but that wasn't my biggest concern at the moment. The hotel is dated and fits right in with the sketchy neighborhood that it is located in. I was nervous. Our room wasn't ready so we decided to walk to the subway, or so we thought. The lady at the front desk said that it was a short walk. The printed directions were very unclear and we were not comfortable walking in the neighborhood. They provide a shuttle to the subway, but you can only use it once a day. When we finally got into our room 2 hours later. The elevator smelled gross. Housekeeping was still cleaning, we immediately noticed excessive water damage on the walls, peeling wallpaper, and very dated furniture. The shower was dirty. In the morning, there was a hot breakfast offered, but again the breakfast room was sketchy and I did not want to eat the food, in fear that I would get sick. We would never stay at the hotel again. We will never stay at another Best Western. We would never recommend the hotel or Best Western to anyone. We were extremely disappointed, disgusted, and disturbed with our experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The hotel was little old but clean, spacious. Liked the staff and the overall condition. The only thing that I personally didn't like was the location of the hotel, but considering the price the hotel is good and affordable.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Johnsonfrom Oakland

Never again

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I surely had the worst room is the place - the attic. The walls were falling apart from water damage. The walls and lampshades and basic surfaces had all manner of physical dirt on them. And the free high speed internet didn't work, which was one of the reasons I stayed there in the first place. Very bad. I stayed at the best western in flushing a day later and it was beautiful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by WDuncanfrom NJ

Was always happy in the past

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've stayed here 4 times previously and was quite satisfied with the hotel. This time however I booked a non smoking room and yet was placed in a room that reeked of cigarette smoke. I cannot understand why one would book a non smoking room and that request be ignored. Will consider this before staying here again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by norie beltfrom Richmond, VA

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Front desk people are friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

One-night was great

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Affordable Close to the metro Clean Large rooms Free breakfast Free parking Decent area Nice view of the city from the street
Cons: Staff attitude?
Location: Decent location, but might be a little scary for some. Close to the metro. The only "thing to do" that we know of is the cemetery, but may be more
We spent one night in the area and it was fine. We walked the roughly 1.5 miles to and from the metro (A line) frequently, even at night and we were in no danger. The area immediately surrounding the place seems a little sketchy, but it's really just industrial/commercial. Once you walk the 2-3 blocks and pass residential areas they are quite nice, actually. What's nice, however, is that you don't HAVE to walk; the hotel offers a free taxi to-and-from the metro between 8am (I think?) and 10 pm. There's a beautiful cemetery immediately across the main street from the hotel. The room was spacious for the price, and very clean, which one may not expect because the exterior of the building is a little older and rough-around-the-edges. Free parking! Always a plus. And we got lucky to have a view of my car from the window. My ONLY complaint about the place is that the woman who checked me in gave me a really unpleasant look every time I asked a question (like "should I park in front or in back?", "Which direction is the metro", "What time is check out?"), but the other staff I encountered were all perfectly fine.