Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

the

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: close to everything we need
Cons: if the place is remodel and updated, new carpet/tv/ac, i will recommend it because location is great.
Location: close to shops,eating places, griffin park
the bathroom is updated and cleaned, but the carpet is hold and dirty, AC unit does not work well, TV outdated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to our destination

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The fridge and the pool.
Cons: The rooms could use a fresh update.
Location: Close to Holleywood and Sunset Blvd. Close to Consulates on Wilshire.
This hotel was way cheaper than any other in this area. That is the reason people stay there. The hotel is dated. They still use real keys and check out the tv remote when you check in. The rooms were clean but old. Small old tv's, carpet, and linens. The bathroom had been updated but nothing too nice. The pool was pretty nice and was clean. It was a quiet place to sleep. We really had no problems with the hotel other than it seemed a little dingy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by Noah, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing the review! I am happy to hear the hotel was clean and you had no issues while staying. I realize the physical appearance is not 2014, but good news is we are in the process of updating so perhaps next time when you come by, you can experience the newer version of Dunes Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

was just to sleep for one night

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: was convenient location to hollywood
Cons: everything
Location: within close driving to the Hollywood bowl and the walk of stars
was just to sleep for one night. the room was clean and the room served it's purpose.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Noah, Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting your review. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad the room was satisfactory to your standards. Cleanliness is our top priority and we look forward to seeing you again.
1 out of 5
by Mike from California

Yuck!

Posted May 23, 2014
Not Clean, No Wireless Internet, I wore flip flops rather that walk on the carpets
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen from Alberta, Canada

Close to Beverly Hills/walk to Wilshire Theatre

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: The pool was a highlight. It is clean,in room mini fridge, quiet. Good price. I very felt safe in the hotel & neighbourhood even walking around alone
Cons: Carpet in my room. It gives a bad impression that the place is dirty when it isn't really. Definitely need to get rid of that stained carpet.
Location: Historic Wilshire Theatre which is gorgeous and has frequent concerts. Easy bus to Beverly Hills. Nicely away from Hollywood craziness & busyness
The hotel is actually very safe and clean. My room had an older carpet with lots of stains on it which was off putting but I soon realized the room was extremely well kept/clean. The mattress was brand-new and high quality, and bathroom was newer & very clean. It's a standard sort of place, nothing fancy. It is also a better hotel if you have a car. In fact if you have a car it's a very good option. Or if you are going to Beverly Hills it is a quick 10 min ride on the express bus that goes up and down Wilshire frequently. It's about 15 min walk to the Wilshire theatre and metro. The pool and lounge area there is a wonderful treat and reprieve from the city. While I was there the other guests were a mix of couples, families and business people. Hotel is not dodgy at all and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The one main drawback is there is no restaurant in the hotel and nothing within a few blocks. Again, better if you have a car. There is a Tom & Tom expresso cafe about 5 blocks down the road and some restaurants, esp Chinese and Korean BBQ and I spotted a giant karaoke place near. It does have the feel of the sort of hotels/motels you see in Hollywood movies, in a good way - esp with the pool area. Might be fun for a group of friends, and budget for family. I met the owner and he was extremely kind, helpful and sincere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reza from New Zealand

Los Angeles

Posted May 13, 2014
It's a good place to stay. Very close to main LA tourist attractions in a very safe area. The hotel recieptionist was very friendly and helpful and the room also was very clean with free high speed internet. I'll definitely visit the place next time. Thumbs up
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worthy

Posted May 9, 2014
Cost is high. But the facilities are not upto the level they have been charged. Hotel even not provided any break fast. The good thing about the hotel is the "staff response". Otherwise not worty for the money we spend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from San Diego, CA

Not too far from all the business of Hollywood

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Cons: The carpet needs to be replaced.
This hotel was busy when we got there but we checked in very quickly. The staff was friendly. The room was clean & I was surprised by how quiet it was. Old carpet. No in room coffee maker :-(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gustavo from fresno

Ok cheap hotel!

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Its a cheap hotel so don't complain so much! U get what u pay for!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
I think it's very expensive and very bad hotel. No room for parking lot, room dirty and uncomfortable and the staff is uneducated