Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Walter from Germany/Bavaria

Nice hotel close to the old town of Funchal

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Location of the Hotel is great ! We had a phantastic view overlooking the pool and the garden of the Hotel and the port with the cruise ships. Found some nice Restaurants in 10 min Walking distance. Did not like the Restaurant of the Hotel because the asked for "forma Dress code".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nettie from Staffs,UK

Nice hotel in old town of Funchal

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: Smaller quiet hotel suited to adults. Not ideal for families with small children. Charming period house. Personal service available.
Cons: Bathrooms could do with modernising - walk-in shower and decent hair dryer. Bar needs relocating for more use and spa is hidden away in basement.
Location: Situated in old town of Funchal close to many restaurants. Cable car to Monte/Botanical Gardens. Numerous tours around island available.
Good sea view room overlooking hotel pool and bay of Funchal. Hotel within 10 minute walk from centre of Funchal and its attractions eg cable car, bus station, plenty of restaurants and town centre shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wayne from Benfleet

Great location special view

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Spent two nights here at the end of our holiday, the view from our room was fantastic, with the hotel gardens looking lovely and church beautifully lit up. The service was exceptional form the resturant and bar staff. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We only have two criticisms the shower head could be updated and the room remote control for the lights was set up wrong so you ended up turning on all the lights in the middle of the night. Would recomend this hotel for the service, views and its close location to the old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic charming old style hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing. I felt they did everything extremely well.
Location: There at an abundant array of restaurant choices, outstanding views especially from the hotel, a gorgeous old church behind the hotel & painted doors.
The Quinta Bela Sao Tiago is breathtakingly beautiful. It's an old building which has been very well cared for. The location is outstanding and is in the old part of Funchal. I had a sea view room. The view gorgeous; I could see all at once the sea, the garden, the pool and the outdoor patio where many guests take their meals. The food is very good at the hotel. I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. I found the staff incredibly welcoming, kind, helpful, professional and attentive. Anything I asked or they helped me get it. There are an abundant array of restaurant choices within walking distance as well as a small convenience store (about 3 blocks away). The breakfast is quite good. The one caution is that you do need to be fairly fit if you'll be walking to @ from the hotel as it sits atop a hill. I love this hotel and am very happy I chose to stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda from Stafford, United Kingdom

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Location: Nice location in old towm
Lovely hotel - would definately return and recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely character hotel in great location

Posted Aug 5, 2013
I booked the Quinta Bela Sao Tiago as I wanted to stay near the City centre, what a lovely hotel. I had not paid extra for a sea view so had a rear racing room with a long balcony, the room was huge, larger than the sea facing rooms. Breakfast was taken on the terrace, as weather good. Pool area very pleasant & pool not freezing. Hotel only 10 mins walk downhill to centre, cable car being the nearest attraction. I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the old part of Funchal in a hotel with character. Staff all very friendly & helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely friendly hotel for a relaxing break.

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: The location.
Cons: The "pub singer" in the bar on Monday night!
Location: In the old town, of Madeira. They are doing some works in the beach area so it was more noisy and the promenade wasnt very scenic!
The staff are very attentive and happy to help. There is a keyboard player on Monday nights which is very pub singer but apart from that it was a lovely quiet stay. There is a really groovy bar at the bottom of the hill on the promenade which is good for drinks. The hotel is well situated in the old town which is away from the main hotel area which makes it feel more local. We had bed and breakfast and the breakfast was excellent, we didnt try the main restaurant as the choice in the old town was so varied we always went out. The old town can be expensive so it is worth looking at the menus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gill from Essex, UK

Good hotel in good location.

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The electrical system in the rooms.
Location: Very close to old town but a very steep climb.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The position of the hotel was very good, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spacious with fantastic views and the breakfast was superb with lots of fresh fruit. my only complaint was of the complex electrical system in the room which we never really worked out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for couples who want to relax

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Great hottel,location,staff,weather ,food,service...all lovely,well it was for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from UK

Great Hotel for everyone

Posted Oct 14, 2012
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: The mosquitos
Location: Could be difficult due to the climb back
The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble, the only downside was the position of the Hotel there is quite a climb back from the town and if the weather is as hot as it was for our stay can be quite a problem.