Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional Hotel with great location

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Great location, great staff
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Lots of shops and restaurants, close to the Hop on/Hop off sightseeing bus line.
Hotel was what I expected for a traditional European hotel. Hotel has been updated and was clean with plenty of space in the room. Unfortunately our a/c was not working that well but, we made the most of it. Location was right in the middle of the Salamanca district with many shops and restaurants accessible within walking distance. It was not too was from the sightseeing tour bus stop which was nice. Staff very helpful, friendly, and very professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Helle from Aarhus

lovely old hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel with very attentive staff. Internet free and worked throughout hotel. Good restaurant. Close to Marina and coast road for walks and runs along the sea, but fairly far from actual beaches.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hotel is only well located

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: bed Staff
The location is good and except for the stair to the elevator it can be improve with a better management
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Manuel from Miami, FL

Cant beat location for the price.

Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Decent Hotel y a very good location. Rooms may need to be updated soon. Escalator to elevator is uncomfotable if you travel with alot of luggage. OK.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nomad from Cambridge

Stunning staircase, terrible room

Posted May 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Many parts are beautiful, but the rooms are woefully substandard. For a hotel in this area (business) there was slow wifi, no iron, broken telephone, broken aircon, one one power plug and not near the desk. My work had an office near and I'll be staying elsewhere until there is a refresh of the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paola from Dominican Republic

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: Bathroom was great.
Cons: Two samll beds in our room.
Location: Great location.
We had a wonderful stay, the only thing we did not like was that our room had two small beds, and we needed one bed, since it was our honeymoon. Everything else was fine, staff was great, metro close by, will definetly return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by unknown

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Internet access is expensive

Posted Mar 3, 2013
Nice, historic hotel; good service. Internet access and restaurant quite expensive; overall a good experience.
2 out of 5
by Moni from London

a definite no to coming back.

Posted Feb 18, 2013
Pros: the location is nice and the bars nearby (not the bar in the hotel - sooo overpriced!!!)
Cons: Constant noise. No attention from the staff whatsoever.
Location: Calle de Velasquez
the reception staff doesn't speak basic English, during the check in process they couldn't even explain properly why they need my credit card numbers (it was prepaid), later on when I had few questions, I felt that I am wasting their time. No customer service whatsoever. But that would be fine, if not the "wonderful" room I've got. Because the room was on the top floor, it was facing other building with huge and extremely noisy extractor fans which didn't stop working all night. on top of that - the room was fairly close to the elevator (thanks God not the one just beside the elevator) - which is old, hardly working and making terrible noise every time it opens/closes (doesn't matter in which floor - every time the noise was such intense that you can jump from your sleep). I couldn't sleep at all the first night - I've spent time in bed trying to fall asleep, and ended up sleeping with the noise blocking earphones - as I had to have a rest before the meeting with the clients at 8 am in the morning. I wouldn't ever recommend this hotel to anyone who comes to Madrid on business or even to anyone who would like to have a nice night sleep on their holiday. One more thing - in the bathrooms they have the so popular notes about saving water etc (alias "leave your towel in the bathroom and we will not wash it because this is how we will save water"), but the taps in the shower were dripping all the time... All in all - this hotel would be the one I would never come back to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Helle

fine old hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice old hotel, but very worn around the edges. Nice room, but a pity the hotel wifi didnt reach