Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Navan, Ireland

Overnight in Malaga

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The staff were helpful and spoke excellent english.
Cons: wi-fi was slow and disconnected at regular intervals
Location: Shopping, restaurants, bars and the marina/port all within a 10 minute walk
Stayed the one night prior to returning home after a 2 week holiday. Very spacious foyer and reception area. Very clean & quiet hotel, only about a 10 min walk from the main shopping and marina area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Ideal for railway station

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Convenient for the railway station
Cons: Allow air conditioners to remain on when room vacated.
Location: Away from main town, near to port and stations. Walking times: Scruffy beach - 5 minutes. Main beaches - 20 minutes. Old town - 15 minutes
The Monte Malaga was chosen by us because of its location within walking distance of the railway station as we intended to visit Cordoba. The rail link to the airport is also an advantage. There's a 'beach', 10 minute stroll away, where you can relax, get some beer, etc. and savour the grilled sardines. The hotel offers a good selection of buffet food at breakfast, the coffee machines being a bit confusing at first. The staff were very efficient and helpful. In general, the hotel seemed very popular. There were a few business conventions and coach tour parties. On the whole we had a pleasant and relaxing stay at the Monte Malaga.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Good quality business-type hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Not especially charming but a well-appointed business-type hotel with full facilities. 10 minute walk from downtown area. View of adjacent port and waterfront.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cath from Preston, UK

Excellent Staff, Close to Station

Posted May 26, 2014
This hotel is excellent if you wish to have a short stay in Malaga and with a 4 minute walk to the train station great for trips down the coast as well, it is however a 15 minute walk to the cathedral/old town, so be aware of this in your plans. The staff were excellent from the start, always friendly and helpful. The Breakfast had a good selection, although the specials did not come out in the first hour. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable and the cleaning thorough every day. There was also a conference on at the hotel and it remained very quiet despite being full. Ask for 2 keys so you can leave your air con on when you leave the room for the day otherwise it does take quite a time to cool down and we weren't there at a very hot time. The pool area is quite small and not all the beds have cushions so if it were busy this might have been a problem but we were ok. Overall a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very close to Malaga Zambrano

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good price, great location. Only wish that breakfast was thrown in at the price. We stayed for 4 nights and used it a base to commute to Cordoba & Marbella. Very conveniently situated less than 5 minutes away from the train station. Wifi is fast but signal however is not strong in the room, so had to sit at the reception-lounge for important business
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Alex from London

A good choice

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I went to Malaga for a three day break to catch some sun. This hotel was a good choice because: I had a very quiet room facing the internal courtyard (not ideal for some as no sun but perfect for me), I like walking so the 15 mins to the centre was very enjoyable, it's very near the train and bus stations for excursions out of town and access to the airport. everything worked in the hotel, 3 pcs available for better web access than using my phone, good breakfast for 12 euros. The only drawback is that is doesn't have a sunny outside sitting area but that's what you get with a city hotel. Oh, and there aren't tea making facilities in the room. I'm getting picky now though!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Easy neighborhood walking

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff is very willing to assist with any needs. They are friendly and caring. I would definitely return if in the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bluetail from London

4 day easter break with young baby

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: excellent staff, cleanliness, prompt service
Cons: baby changing facilities in the swimming pool changing rooms
Location: located at the port of Malaga on west side - very close to 1 of 3 main beach areas, 10-15 minute walk to the heart of the town centre.
Picked this hotel for the indoor swimming pool and the good reviews. we weren't disappointed - amazing hotel staff at hand for every request of which we had many- (kettle for boiling water for the baby milk and heating food, taking breakfast up to room to allow baby to eat later, extra sheet for baby cot....) all in all the service made it a very very pleasant stay. Swimming pool was nice and not too busy - a real bonus considering it was raining for 2 days out of the 4. only slight complaints would be the steam room was out of service when we went - a shame - and there are no baby changing facilities in the changing rooms so I had to dress/undress him on the floor. the staff really make this hotel a very pleasant experience - their recommendations of the best beaches to go to , and the best restaurants to go to were from a local's perspective so we really unearthed some hidden gems of Malaga. thanks to all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kant from UK

Very good centrally located close to train station

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: All the hotel facilities we were looking forward to.
Cons: They could have sorted out the steam room which was out of order when we stayed over Easter.
Location: Close to transport facilities and railway station on five minutes walk in the shopping district with mall and plenty of food court and restaurants
Very good and helpful staff. Rooms spacious and clean. Hotel facilities excellent, plenty of breakfast menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Glasgow

Great hotel for the price.

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Overall very enjoyable.
Cons: Food was overpriced and bland.
Location: Close to all amenities, however do not use the cafe behind the hotel .... Christina something or other. The guy really fleeced us good.
Stayed at hotel for around ten days for Semana Santa. Close to train and bus stations and certainly within easy walking distance of bars and shops. Small beach about 5 minutes away and Malagueta Beach a little further off with very good beach cafes. I didn't use the dining facilities as I found the food to be very plain for vegetarians and very expensive by local prices. Early morning swims were much enjoyed. Sauna is good although the steam room had been out of commission for some weeks and would have been a bonus. Staff were extremely helpful, pleasant and enthusiastic