Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Quiet area

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Location - just between Lahaina & Napili Bay
We had a much nice room than expected! Very clean, no bugs, no excess noise, and an easy view of the ocean - I booked a garden view room! We were in room 519 - about the furthest from the elevator - the walk was not far & walking is good for all of us. I like being up off the first few floors - usually a better view - and the 5th floor was great. The room had all the amenities needed plus more in cooking utensils then most places. Kahana is a bit out of Lahaina - so be aware if you plan on going out dining & drinking then thinking you are only 5 minutes away, the drive is perfectly fine, but not 5 minutes. I would definitely stay at this complex again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: location to the busline
Cons: everything, re do and update
Location: nothing near by
It was not what we expected out of a 4 star hotel. It was in need of repair, needed to be updated and the beach was very small. No amenities at the hotel at all. The gym was a tiny room in the garage .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redding, CA

Royal Kahana

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: I would say the views and the location are best about this hotel. Additionally, I believe the price is very competitive.
Cons: Update furniture. Include cleaning fee in price at time of booking. Warn about construction, ahead of time.
Location: This is a great location. Lahaina is nearby, with great beaches and restaurants. Must try Star Noodle.
Overall, this hotel was good. The room was comfortable and spacious and the views were great. The location was also very convenient, just a few minutes from Lahaina. One thing that surprised me was, upon check out, I was told that there was a cleaning fee of some $98 which was on top of the fees already paid through my booking the trip which, I thought, covered all costs associated with the room. Also, the HOA was apparently doing some construction to the exterior of the building and the construction happened to be directly outside our room door, drilling into the cement to apparently run some conduit. This lasted for a couple of days where the cement drilling could easily be heard in our room. That was not so great. Despite that, I believe our recent experience at the Royal Kahana was still a good one and the cost of the Royal Kahana is very competitive. Staying in this ocean-front one-bedroom condo was still more fun and more convenient, not to mention less costly, than staying in a room in a 4-star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Littleton, CO

Wonderful hotel, close to everything

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The location is perfect, prices are affordable, rooms are spacious and comfortable
Cons: Drop the "cleaning fee" or at least work it into the price...thought $95 was a little steep for what little really had to be cleaned after our visit..
Location: Location is perfect, walking distance to many beaches, shops, & restaurants in the Kahana/Kaanapali area.
We recently had another wonderful stay at the Royal Kahana (have been here 3 other times).... our1-bedroom suite on the 6th floor was very spacious, comfortable, and had a great view of the water. Sunsets on the lanai were spectacular! Love the full kitchen, everything was updated and suite was decorated nicely with "Ocean Motif". They have a nice pool area, clubhouse, and barbeque grills for your use. People are so friendly here--Carolyn at the front desk is full of helpful information and fun to talk to (she even remembered us from our previous visit!). The hotel is close to everything in the Kaanapali area. Parking is free at this resort (which is pretty much unheard of), and there is no daily resort fee like most other hotels charge, although there is now a cleaning fee added on at checkout, which we have not had to pay on previous visits.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Don't Think I'd Go Back

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Full kitchen
Cons: Staff wasn't very pleasant, improve the clarity of the fees involved
Location: Not a great location. Beach nearby is awful. Not many close restaurants.
Wasn't thrilled about the location. We paid extra for ocean view but it wasn't a great one. Wasn't aware that we would have no maid service throughout our stay OR that we would have to pay an extra $75 for a cleaning fee when departing. It wasn't awful for the price we paid, but I would stay elsewhere if I had to do it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from tupelo,ms

Nice hotel great staff

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Staff,view,location
Cons: Bed,furniture
Location: Great
Room a little outdated bed ok but overall great trip staff was very helpful and friendly view was amazing no complaints
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Kahana stay

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: It has a pool and bbq facilities and an exercise room. There is access to a small beach area.
Location: The condo is in an area where there is one resort/condo/hotel after another. You need to drive to go anywhere.
This location is a condominium where condo's are privately owned but are rented out. It s a relatively old building but in good shape. The only possible drawback is the you need to drive into town or to a good beach location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted May 27, 2014
We stayed at room 907, and it was amazing! Although it was a bit overkill for a 4 day weekend, it was just awesome! We definitely had a great view of the ocean, and walking in the hallway, going to and from the elevator, had nice views of the mountain side.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from Denver, CO

Review of unit number #208.

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: The pool area, the grounds, and location of the complex. The front desk person "Tim" gave us several great dining recommendations.
Cons: The kitchen in unit #208 needs updating as noted above.
Location: We enjoyed the attractive location that was near numerous dining choices without having to deal with lots of traffic.
The complex was attractive, nice location, and our unit (#208) had a "million dollar view", with spacious bed room and living area. However, the kitchen is in dire need of an update. We had NO hot water in the kitchen sink for the entire week of our stay, even after I reported the issue to the front desk on three separate occasions. At one point, I stopped a maintenance person on our floor on his way to another unit, and he worked on the kitchen sink faucet for about an hour and left without fixing it. The front desk stated a part had to be ordered to repair the faucet. The dishwasher was at least fifteen years old or older, with the top rack out of its track and broken, plus numerous vertical spokes literally broken off and missing, leaving essentially a large open area in the top rack to lay dishes flat or against the outside edge. Other small appliances in the kitchen were inferior, i.e., a toaster that would toast only two slices at a time, along with ancient coffee maker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Erica from Canada

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location. Loved having the washer and dryer. Pool is smaller, but the beach is great. The cleaning fee was a bit of a shock on checkout; I didn't read the fine print apparently.