Ratings based on 354 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: We loved that we were able to see whales from our room!!
Cons: Have a resturant on site would be nice.
Location: Beaches (Napili Beach got to swim w/ turtles), shopping, snorkeling, and much more.
The hotel had everything we were looking for. It was so convienent to have a full kitchen and washer and dryer in our room. We were able to see whales and turtles from our lani. Got to see awesome sunsets from the hotel as well. The snorkeling was some of the best we had during our stay. It was within walking distances to places to eat and a store. Was within 10 minute driving to some wonderful beaches and shopping centers. We were able to rent our snorkling gear just across the street at Boss Frog's. The staff at the hotel were so pleasant to deal with. All very helpful. Only thing I wish that it had was a resturant on site. Would have been nice to just run downstairs to grab some food before heading out on our adventures. Overall we had a wonderful experience here!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brigitte from Melbourne Australia

Expected a little more from an Outrigger Hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The location being right on the beach. A balcony that you could walk out onto.
Cons: Needs an uplift
Location: You will need a car if you stay at this hotel as there is not much within walking distance.
The location of this hotel being on the beach was pleasing. I did pick this hotel due to the excellent reputation of the Outrigger chain. The hotel is tired and in need of a good facelift. I was very disappointed by the lack of free Wifi considering most hotels provide it for free now. The kitchenette facilities were a bonus. The carpark is free but you have to get in quickly if you do not want to squeeze into undersized areas under the tennis court.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Aloha Brigitte, thank you for posting your review. I apologize that we were not able to meet your needs. The Outrigger Royal Kahana are actually individually owned condominiums and not a true hotel. I hope you will give the property another try.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from O

Close to the beach only good thing.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Paid for a 2night stay left after my first. Staff had shoes off ,authorized a deposit w/o notifying me. Rooms are not what they look like on the website.
3 out of 5
by Larry from CT

Won't Return

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Kitchen and washing facilities which we did not need to use were good for longer stays.
Cons: Have a reasonable price for short term stays.
Location: Beach is not great. We found some restaurants but the hotel staff did not give us any suggestions when we asked about places to eat.
The cleaning fee of $75 for two nights was ridiculous. The room was very nice and very well appointed and clean. The beach is not great compared to further south on Maui.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marius from Poland

Ok if you’re not overly fussy.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Staff, Quietness, Free parking.
Cons: Room Cleanliness, Pool Bar, Free internet access.
Location: Most activities are located in Lahaina which is few minutes away. There isn't much to do within a walking distance.
We stayed at the Royal Kahana for a week. The condo complex in general looks nice and the staff is courteous. Our room wasn't very clean though, the shower curtain had mold on it and there was a lot of dust hanging from the ceiling, what's even more frustrating is that upon check they have the audacity to charge $75 cleaning fee. The front door had rusted hinges and wouldn't open all the way. Their pool bar is somewhat lousy, the variety of food and drinks is very limited. Wifi connection will cost you, but at least the parking is free. Overall this condo offers a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older but very nice hotel on the beach!

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: It's prime location on the beach and spectacular views from our condo was amazing!
Cons: The bathrooms were a bit lacking and need of a little help. The living room ceilings had some stains but, it is an older hotel..
We had the 2 bedroom condominium very large suite that provided us with all the amenities needed for a comfortable pleasing stay. The veranda was huge and provided us with a spectacular view from all angles. The bedrooms and 2 1/2 bathrooms were great and allowed everyone to have their own privacy. Although the hotel is a bit older, the room amenities, up to date appliances and flat screen tv's as well as the cleanliness really made us feel comfortable and happy. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel and its prime location on the beach. Will we stay there again? You bet!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Royal Kahana Stay

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Location, Ocean View, Huge room.
Cons: Add a jacuzzi to the property. Pretty awesome just the way it is. ;)
Loved staying at the Outrigger Royal Kayana! Room was huge, comfy bed and furnishings. The best part was morning coffee on the lanai watching whales surface, breach and play... Will definitely want to stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by cc from Seattle

Very comfortable facility within a relaxing area.

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the low key atmosphere of the location as opposed to touristy resorts nearby.
Cons: Our room lacked a dust pan, the inexpensive knives did not cut well. Counterspace around sink was limited.Wifi should have been free & not overpriced.
Location: Tended to be a cloudier location, beach nice, driveable to Lahina and restaurants and northern beaches nearby Not a snorkeling beach. Locals friendly
We spent one week at this facility and based our travels around Maui from there. The front desk personnel were not very welcoming. The concierge while apparently knowledgeable was less than genuine. We enjoyed the uncrowded beach at this facility. We could observe the whales from our lenai. Activities were abundant, weather was gorgeous, and we had a wonderful time. One could go low key or do all the "touristy" things easily. Supplies were handy. The maintenance and housekeeping staff were personable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carla from Louisiana

Relaxing stay right on the beach.

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Was in Maui for my son's wedding on the beach. He stayed at the Ritz Carlton, but was very disappointed with his choice of hotels after visiting me at the Outrigger Royal Kahana since I had a view of the beach and garden and full kitchen facilities and a lot of room in my room I rented for five enjoyable days. The only problem was not being to purchase alcoholic beverages at the Cabana at the pool.
2 out of 5
by cp

Beautiful view

Posted Jan 26, 2014
While clean, the hotel hasn't been updated in a while.