Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Town, South Africa

Nice Hotel, But Could Be A Great One

Posted Jan 31, 2015
This Hotel tickets all the boxes. One of the best beaches in Mauritius and really Friendly staff, who do everything they can to make your stay wonderful. So why not 5 stars for everything? There is a few things that let this nice resort down. the food was average at best and sometimes poor, the quality of the drinks on the All Inclusive were extremely poor very difficult to find a drink that taste just ok. But the worst thing for me and the biggest thing that let's it down is the toilets in the public areas, there is only one serving both restaurant and the main bar, nowhere enough. But even worse for me was that they really weren't nice, although they seemed to be cleaned often, they really didn't look it. The 2 by beach were the worst, especially the one at the boathouse it was disgusting. I really believe if they gave the bathrooms a makeover and improved the food and drink on the All Inclusive, this would be the number 1 value for money resort in Mauritius and would be a very solid 4.5 star resort. The staff are definitely a 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Staffordshire, England

The jewel in the south.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Staff, grounds and the wonderful beach.
Cons: As a new arrival to the hotel there is a lot to take in, so the little maps which are included with the room key should be made larger or as a framed.
Location: Black River Gorges National Park is a must, Rochester Falls, Gris Gris Beach, Le Morne & Downtown Port Louis. And there are many more places to see.
The best experience you can get without staying in a five star hotel. At the top of the list must be the staff, what ever level they maybe you will always be treated with a warm & friendly manner. Nothing is too much trouble. Second is location, the beach is absolutely stunning, the grounds are manaqued to high level and there are three pools to choice from, not to mention the surrounding area. Third would be the facilities, for those of you who need Wi-fi you've got it, gym, tennis and so much more. In a word fabulous. A word of warning though, if you go all-inclusive expect to gain some extra weight, but fully recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london uk

Nice and quiet location

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Best holiday after a long time very nice staff and nice selection of food
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Gallarate

Una costosa fregatura

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: sicuramente la pulizia e il confort delle camere. Il giardino è molto curato e la vista del mare è molto suggestiva
Cons: Il cibo, la parte ricreativa, l'organizzazione, il costo degli extra
Location: In mezzo al nulla. Se venite qua dovete per forza stare qua. Le strade all'esterno sono pericolose, tortuose, lente e in generale non c'è nulla fuori
Il posto appare a prima vista molto bello. Nulla da dire sulle camere e la pulizia, ma come struttura in sé non offre nulla di eccezionale, rasentando la presa in giro. Ci sono solo 2 ristoranti, di cui uno (il più suggestivo, à la carte, sul mare) è praticamente inaccessibile: ha solo un turno e bisogna prenotare, ma è perennemente occupato, quindi è come se non ci fosse. A pranzo è libero, ma il servizio è lentissimo (1 ora minimo di attesa per 2 panini). L'alternativa è il buffet, che in teoria ogni sera cambia, ma alla fine propone le stese cose, con qualità decisamente scadente. Le piscine sono senza bagnini e molto lasciate andare. La sera diventano il regno di centinaia di rospi, che gracidano incessantemente tutta la notte, con un ritorno sulla quiete pubblica che potete immaginare. Se non fate l'all inclusive (che peraltro è tutto che "all", visto che la scelta di ciò che è incluso è limitatissima i prezzi di qualsiasi cosa sono da Portofino. La spiaggia è pericolosa, con correnti fortissime e coralli taglienti sin dai primi passi in mare. Mantenere l'equilibrio (specie per i più piccini) è impossibile. Il servizio bar è pressoché inesistente. se volete bere qualcosa fate prima ad andarvelo a prendere. Peccato che i bar siano lontanissimi. dalle 15 alle 19 poi è impossibile avere da mangiare: le cucine sono chiuse (alla faccia dell'all inclusive) e qualsiasi cosa consumiate dopo mezzanotte è sempre a pagamento. L'animazione è inesistente.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Magnifique, plage superbe nettoyee: on peut y marcher et s y baigner! ( coraux enleves ), merite largement ses etoiles
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Near Stansted Airport

Perfection- like a postcard!

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Everything about our stay was perfect! I spent a long time before we booked looking at all the different areas/hotels/reviews and everything and even made a spreadsheet to compare the best prices for our favourites- I have to say we couldn't have gone for anything better! We did see a few of the other hotels and nothing compared. Tamassa is just stunning and had a really nice relaxed feel. The staff were so lovely and helpful and made us feel very at home- even remembering our drinks orders! The food was delicious with a huge range every single night- honestly no one would be dissatisfied! The burger van at lunchtime did some of the best burgers I've ever had-especially the fish and the chicken burgers. Drinks were amazing too and very varied: we were all inclusive (highly recommended!) and honestly everything was included- a huge drinks and cocktails menu, ALL the food, we were so impressed. The only thing we paid for in our 13day stay was a very small charge for room service once. I was surprised that the water skiing was included too and we took full advantage of that along with other water sports. The room was beautiful and had a huge bathroom with separate bath and large shower and his and hers sinks. We ended up hiring a car at the airport which worked out cheap and well worth it if you do a few trips. We did a day at the racing in Port Louis, some shopping, a quad bike safari (best experience ever- we stroked Zebras!). Just couldn't fault a thing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom belgique

enchanteresse et enchantés

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: TOUT TOUT TOUT
Cons: je ne vois pas
Location: Ce coté de l'ile reste préservé et sauvage , plus typique que le Nord. Belle balade , nature magnifique , jungle , plein les yeux
Hôtel plus que parfait valant bien plus que 4 étoiles , ce dernier offre les services d'un 5* avec en plus un amour du métier et des clients plus que naturel. Nous n'avons rien à critiquer mais une liste énorme à encenser! Du matin au soir le bonheur à l'état pur. Merci a TOUT le personnel et à la direction pour avoir fait de notre voyage , un souvenir inoubliable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Highly recommended. Staff particularly helpful. Wonderful food in Playa Restaurant. Good sized rooms with very comfortable beds. Delightful quiet location. Travelled during Mauritius off season - August (cooler, wetter and windier).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JC LMfrom France

Emplacement exceptionnel

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Remarquable