Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Miami marathon

Posted Jan 29, 2015
My wife and I stayed here for a race. It has its quirks, but motel was clean and staff was attentive. There are quite a few cool bars and restaurants around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Nice clean motel for the price.

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Although I was warned that the motel was in "Little Haiti" (apparently an infamously bad neighborhood) I took my chances after reading some other reviews. The neighborhood was fine. It was a bit noisy, and my female friend and I were only "harassed" one night. I wouldn't even call it harassment. The guys were just looking for people to hang out with. The motel consierge that night saw that we didn't want to be bothered and immediately stepped in. He was extremely kind and welcoming. The housekeeping staff were kind and personable as well. We enjoyed our stay. The room was decent with a fridge and everything was clean. The bed was pretty comfortable as well although the sheets has a couple of tiny stains on them. This didn't bother us too much. There was a great restaurant with a great happy hour near by (Balan's) as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Ok for one night

Posted Jan 28, 2015
For the price ok. Just needed a place somewhat near Port of Miami. Exceptionally clean room.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Spartan but clean.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Location not so nice. Noisy road. So called "Continental breakfast" is lousy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

No fuss motel lovingly cared for.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Particularly happy with accessibility and friendly staff who were happy to oblige.
Cons: Would like pure fruit juice rather than juice drink.
Location: Located north there is nothing in immediate vicinity, but hotels and restaurants not far. Downtown bus at front door.
Surprised by initial older style from the 1950's. Only problem was that motel is on a busy road so would suggest rooms at the back. Everything else was very pleasing. Good, spacious & uncluttered room. Room serviced everyday. Fabulous, large bed and fridge very welcome. Simple continental breakfast a bonus for this reasonably priced motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

pros and cons

Posted Jan 12, 2015
very reasonably priced close to airport and cruise port not best area of town great helpful staff extremely clean rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Best I can say is that I would stay there again!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
The hotel is very good value. It is clean and friendly, with a very helpful staff. The simple included breakfast was good, made of a fresh bagel with jam, peanut butter and/or cream cheese. You brewed your own single serving coffee. An orange or apple was also included. The unlimited orange juice was from powder, I think. A Florida hotel should always offer good quality Florida orange juice. The staff was very helpful. The hotel is well situated close to all major arteries. I pointed out to the Office Person when checking out that the shower should have some form of simple soap dish, which he took diligent note of. Overall our stay was a very good experience. Elsie & Bruce Appleton
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Hotel was adequate for our short stay of one night

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Our room was clean, and appeared to be bug free. A little noisy on the street side of hotel, but quieted down around midnight.
Cons: For the price, I have no complaints, if you improve anything, it will only cost me more.
Location: Not there long enough to say.
Hotel room was clean and TV worked good, checked out after the free continental breakfast, simple, but ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Not your typical Motel

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Location, size and cleanliness of rooms. Hotel staff very welcoming.
Cons: Nada
Location: Very close to Bayside, Downtown - Miami Beach. - a ride on the free Peoplemover alone is a sight-seeing activity.
So, I found out this weekend that "Motel" means a hotel where you can park your car in front of your room. Motel to be always meant blah, blah, blah rooms but not the case at the Shalimar! Up and coming area that is being revitalized this is the perfect local to be if you are going on a cruise, heading to downtown or over to the beach. The rooms were super duper clean! The bed extremely comfy with great pillows. Nice furniture with a desk. Closet, iron board and nice shower/bath. The complimentary breakfast is great and there is a fantastic farmers market on Saturday down the street. I asked if they would stow my bags until my Super Shuttle came and they were more than accommodating. Would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Hotel staff works very hard.

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Staff and cleanliness of hotel.
Cons: A boiled egg with the breakfast would be great.
Location: In the hotel district so nothing nearby to do. We had to call for pizza because there are no restaurants nearby.
Hotel staff very attentive. They work very hard to make your stay pleasant. Room very clean. Sadly no pool.